We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor standard of food”
Review of Royal Carvery

Royal Carvery
Ranked #85 of 372 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed May 29, 2018

We have eaten here a number of times as the relatives we visit like it. This visit was on a busy Sunday and to be fair, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Pity the standard of food was not the same level!

The carvery meat was not bad but the veg was very poor. Cooked to a mush and left to fester under much to hot display. Puddings were dreadful. Bread & Butter Pud was disaster and clearly pre prepared and microwaved to about 300 degrees. Needed a carving knife for the Custard - I have never had custard so thick! Again microwaved to 300 degrees. Others in our party had custard too (with Apple Pie) and theirs was the same.

I appreciate that for £10.95 for a carvery meal you are not going to get Michelin Star quality, but the night before we ate at an Italian in Torquay and for £14.95 for a main course had an amazing meal. This just smacks of lazy uninspired cookery.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babbacombe R, Owner at Royal Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Dear Rob.
I am very sorry to hear that you felt your recent visit to us was not to your expectations, i would be interested to know if you raised any of your points whilst you were here as we served over 300 carvery meals this Sunday and to my knowledge did not receive any negative feedback only a great deal of praise. Maybe the relatives you mention who like it here could give some more feedback on their next visit? Our Sunday carvery is produced using predominantly local fresh ingredients and with the large selection of meats, vegetables and potatoes that we offer, we and many regular customers think it represents excellent value for money. We do our best to please the majority of people by keeping the vegetables as hot as possible without causing spoilage and always regularly replenish where needed. We cook intentionally traditional food using traditional methods and are offended at your comment of being lazy and uninspired as this is far from the truth . We concede that our homemade desserts are made in advance and microwaved for service to a food hygiene minimum temperature of 75C not to 300C as quoted as this of course is quite impossible. The custard is not microwaved but made to order and also served at approximately 90C as most people like hot custard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 267 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

Went today for the carvery. Excellent choice of meat and brilliant sized cuts and portions. Didn't have any peas on the carvery but was more then happy enough to create a portion for my 4 year old son. Very nice food and decent price.

1  Thank Dav3yAvFc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

We went here with family (older) for a mid week lunch. Plenty of room - we had not booked. Good range to choose from on the menu, plus some specials and as the name suggests, a carvery. Service was friendly and speedy enough. Quality as expected for a seaside pub / restaurant. Great views. All very pleasant, and good value.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank DrBob625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

Great food & service here. Although carvery not available the evening visited, thankfully a roast dinner was offered on the menu which was very nice indeed....& Husband’s steak cooked to perfection accompanied by an excellent pepper sauce.
Staff very professional & attentive, compliments to you all aswell as the Chef

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank ritestuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018

We didn't stay at the hotel but made use of the carvery for sunday lunch.
Good choice of meats, and plenty of vegetables to choose from.
Food was cooked to perfection, and vegetables were filled up frequently.
Very busy at sunday lunch time maybe worth booking in advance.
Beautiful outlook as it is right on the front of Babbacombe downs overlooking Lyme Bay. Would definitely return.
Good choice of beers as well.

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank devonladshieldslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Carvery also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Royal Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing