We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Resturant on our wedding anniversary”

Old Vienna Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 372 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Restaurant with an Austrian Touch - Austrian Chef/Proprietor-Werner Rott and his team are here to look after customers with a smile and mostly locally sourced ingredient in casual surroundings - a small intimate Restaurant with just 22 Covers where the guest is treated like a friend 2015 Taste of the West South Devon Fine Dining Silver Award 2016 Taste of the West South West England Gold Award, and so on, achieving new awards every year recently have been awarded certificate of excellence 5 years running - hall of fame. We do not cater for children under 6 years of age as we are a small restaurant and there is no room for high chairs or pushchairs etc.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

My wife and I celebrated our 23rd wedding Anniversary with a meal on Sunday 7th Oct, we were greeted by a friendly young lady who was professional but not over the top,
The starters of red pepper soup and the cheese triangles were really good and set high expectation for the main course which didn’t disappoint my wife had the chicken with olives and I was lucky enough to have chosen the fillet steak which was the best I honestly have ever tasted,both served with vegetables cooked perfectly, we did not take desert as we were feeling satisfied with what we had eaten,before we left the chef/owner introduced himself and gave us some complimentary schnapps which was a lovely gesture,next time we are in Torbay this will be our first choice restaurant

1  Thank Jaceandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner R, Owner at Old Vienna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

thanks for taking the time for your kind words - just in the process of changing some bits on the menu - new season local pheasants come in and i had found 2 kg of chanterelle mushrooms and a few cep - which will find the way into my menu- looking forward to seeing you again
kind regards
Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 848 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

Visited Old Vienna for a family birthday celebration meal and we were not disappointed. This restaurant is up there with the best we’ve eaten at and certainly somewhere special. If you are lucky enough to secure a reservation you are in for a real treat with attention to detail, fantastic food and a cosy, intimate setting. Owner / chef is very front facing and takes it upon themselves to check in with guests and waitress was highly attentive, cheerful and added to the positive experience. We will be returning and certainly be recommending this venue to others. Many thanks for giving us a most pleasurable meal.

1  Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner R, Owner at Old Vienna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Praise indeed - many thanks - fortunate enough to still get pleasure of doing my job and with the aid of my coworkers creating a pleasing experience - thanks again will pass on comments to my colleges
kind regards
Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Amazing food and great hosts, Werner, Julie and Karen were absolutely lovely! We didn’t want to leave at the end of the night. Definitely recommend and will definitely go back next time we are in Torquay.

1  Thank nanna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner R, Owner at Old Vienna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

thanks for your kind words - it is like an old people home - us three in our 60th - still;l got it - come on you youngsters
kind regards
Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

I have known this Restaurant for manny years and after my return this month from Oxford, I was so impressed by the owner warmth welcoming, excellent service and excellent food of good choice to choose from.

After my return and having moved back in this great part of England, I will use this Restaurant as my favourite and enjoyable dinning place.

I am very fuzzy when it comes to food and that is why I recommend this Restaurant with highest distinction after Raymond Blanc, OBE, in Oxfordshire who is a great french chef.

“10” out of “10” stars

1  Thank fmblaw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner R, Owner at Old Vienna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Hi
thanks for your comments - had the pleasure of experiencing Raymond |Blancs Restaurant on account my kids wanted to go with them for my ex wife 6oth - did not go to keep her happy but to get some of the Restaurants aura - must say it was inspiring
many thanks
Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2018

We were recommended to go here and we were not disappointed. A friendly atmosphere and the food was excellent.

1  Thank stobi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner R, Owner at Old Vienna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

thanks for coming and hope this of one of many visits-appreciate your comments
kind regards
Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Vienna Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Old Vienna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing