We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (721)
Filter reviews
721 results
Traveller rating
595
99
23
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
99
23
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub garden suite roll top bath four poster bed sea view coastal path cream tea boutique hotel large bathroom no lift first floor stayed for nights breakfast and dinner this lovely hotel superior room short break new owners
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 721 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The staff were friendly and helpful.
The building is old being the grand country home of Brunel’s brother-in-Law, who painted a picture of Brunel which hangs in a famous London museum.
The area is a conservation one, with no development, so quite interesting. It is very hilly, with along steep road down to the small cove by the sea. You can really imagine smugglers of old being pretty secure here! The walk down is interesting, but tiring on the leg muscles – going down probably more so than coming up – it is steep. Allow 10-15 minutes going down and half an hour coming back up.
The hotel itself shows it s age and its facilities end to follow suit. Definitely not clean modern style or maintenance.
The restaurant serves a classic Devon cream afternoon tea – substantial and calorie packed….
Dinner was reasonable, however as it is too remote to drink and drive, the alternative is a very attractive timber beamed Hall & Woodhouse pub just a short walk down the road towards the cove.
Wi-Fi was good and free with no limits on devices etc.

Room tip: Go for room 2 the orinal owners room - spacious, great views and abit quaint - but nor luxurious
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orestone, Manager at The Orestone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review- we certainly are in a beautiful location, with lovely walks around, even though it is a bit undulating in places! We have many guests who come here just to relax & enjoy the scenery. The hotel was built in 1830 so does not have a clean modern style, and annual maintenance & decorating is done in keeping with the original style of the building. We close every January in order to do this, and over the past few years, bedrooms & bathrooms have been upgraded to a modern standard. We have regular guests who return year after year as they appreciate the traditional services we offer, and hope that one day you too will return to enjoy the delights of our little hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife and I have just had a delightful weekend at the Orestone Manor. From the warm and friendly greeting to the last farewell, everything was wonderful.

Every member of the team at this very special family run hotel, was friendly, kind and professional. The bedroom was tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished.

The food was wonderful. My wife seldom eats real meals and yet managed to eat everything that was put in front of her. Not only is the quality great but the choice although not massive (does it really need to be?) was interesting and inspiring. Make sure that you leave room for desert!

...and so to the wine list...WOW! I think that says enough.... well OK, there is a range of prices to meet most needs and the selection is really wonderful, supported by very knowledgeable input from the team.

We both feel relaxed and refreshed and regretted that we only had 3 nights there.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CaptainofFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orestone, Manager at The Orestone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a detailed review of all the services we offer, we are very glad that you enjoyed them all! We are very proud of our family run establishment in this little corner of Devon, and it is nice to know that we are achieving what we set out to do. Looking forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2018

We were a group of four & visited Orestone Manor for dinner. The service was excellent & there was a good variety of options on the menu. Two of us had starters, scallops & a beetroot & goats cheese dish, both of them excellent. We followed with venison for two, Torbay plaice for another & the seafood pie for the fourth, all much enjoyed.

The Rioja we chose was very good.

The ambiance was good and we would definitely return when in the area.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank SPPHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orestone, Manager at The Orestone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of our restaurant, we strive to provide the best possible service with fresh local ingredients on our menu, complemented by excellent wines that are hand picked by our Restaurant Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2018

The staff where warm and friendly and nothing was to much trouble. the room was very good. we where there fr the weekend which included a firework night on the Friday with A La Carte meal and wine, perfect for the evening. food and overall service was excellent. we would so definitely book again.

Room tip: book early all rooms are good
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr-markymarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orestone, Manager at The Orestone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated our fantastic fireworks display after dinner on what was a mild evening. We look forward to welcoming you back again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

Was welcomed by friendly staff on arrival shown to our window seat for afternoon tea . Was given a choice of sandwiches which was great as in some afternoon teas we have had it is as it comes. The tea was delicious then the sandwiches were amazing then the cakes well what can I say they were delicious. The scones were still warm which was delicious. Will definitely be back if in the area

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orestone, Manager at The Orestone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review - we are proud of our Afternoon Tea, which is very popular! Everything is baked fresh on the premises, and the sandwiches are made to order, so the term home made truly does apply here. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews