We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drink with friends”
Review of The Clocktower

The Clocktower
Ranked #101 of 372 Restaurants in Torquay
Description: We are a lovely town centre locals sports pub. We offer a wide range of draughts and bottles. From lagers and ciders to ales. Our prices are outstanding and known to be one of the cheapest in town. We try to show every sport you can think of on our 7 large screen Tv's. If we haven't got what you're looking for on our Tv just ask at the bar and we'll try and put it on for you. Come in and say "hi" to our lovely and friendly bar staff and enjoy a pint or two.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a lovely town centre locals sports pub. We offer a wide range of draughts and bottles. From lagers and ciders to ales. Our prices are outstanding and known to be one of the cheapest in town. We try to show every sport you can think of on our 7 large screen Tv's. If we haven't got what you're looking for on our Tv just ask at the bar and we'll try and put it on for you. Come in and say "hi" to our lovely and friendly bar staff and enjoy a pint or two.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

Very noisy a little scary in the pub seems to be very sporty bar no owners on my visit, staff just wanted you out the way

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Willmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daz and Danii T, Manager at The Clocktower, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,
I'm sorry you felt that our pub was noisy and scary. It is mainly a sports pub so it does get noisy when football or rugby or any other sport is shown, as it does in other sports pubs. Unfortunately we can't be present 24/7, we so have other duties we have to attend to. I'd appreciate however if you could tell me about your experience with our staff so I can get to the bottom of this. Please contact me to discuss any issues. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 86 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2018

There is a good selection of drinks at very reasonable prices, comparable to those of the larger chains. The inside seating is comfortable and there is a large outdoor open seating area which gets the sun all afternoon (assuming it's not cloudy). Staff efficient and helpful. Plenty of sport shown if that is your thing. It does not serve food but in my opinion this is not what a real pub is about. Stayed in Torquay for 2 weeks and was in almost every day.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Recommended by some friends as a traditional pub not rowdy just good atmosphete.not a good pub just crisps and doesn't take debit cards.cash only.ladies toilets up steep stairs ,mens only a couple of stairs not disabled friendly premises. Staff were nice .

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Enjoyed this pub good selection of ales all reasonably priced. Good service and a friendly smile. Nice seating area outside.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

we found this pub while on a hunt for a drink & ended up coming back 3 nights in a row for one or two beers :) Lovely staff, loads of indoor & outdoor space & the best loo's i've seen in ages! Oh, & the prices are amazing as well........

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank stella p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clocktower also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Clocktower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing