We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley love this place”
Review of TLH Leisure Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
TLH Leisure Resort
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Absolutley love this place”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

First came here in 1983 as a child and been coming back time and time again with my own children. Ive seen the facilities grow and grow over the years and my kids love the place and cant wait to come back. The staff are great and very friendly and i cant fault the food at all. The facilities are being improved and updated all the time. (remember the hotels are open all year, give them a chance to improve and update as i guess its pretty hard to do the work whilst still remaining open and not causing sum inconveniance).I cant believe sum of the reviews that people put on this site. What do u people want? End of the day its very family orientated here and if its something more upmarket that u want then my message to you is stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulch015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for posting your review. We value all feedback. We are currently redeveloping our central outside areas to include a new children’s play area with landscaped gardens for relaxing and improved access between our hotels. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    97
    63
    15
    17
See reviews for
143
84
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Enjoyed a 3 night short break, lovely big family room. Very clean. Great facilities including pool and spa.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

just got back from weekend and stayed at the toorak this time which is more expensive than the carlton....really feel this hotel is no better and dont understand how they can charge more the food at the carlton was out of this world we felt the food at the toorak was rushed and not the same quality....our beds were made but there was no coffee or milk left we never had any toiletries in our room i know thats not what you pay for but its basic finishing touches especially when you are paying so much all that said the facilities are great everything under one roof. But wont be staying again

Room Tip: as long as you have roberta cleaning your room you should be fine my daughter had her and she did a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that some complimentary items seem to have been missed from your room during your stay. The Toorak food offering is usually regarded as very high quality. We will use your feedback to improve on our dining experience. We have obviously got the service wrong on this occasion as efficiency has come across as rushed and this is not our intention. Again thank you for your review. We do hope you decide to visit our complex again. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We wanted a cheap few nights away over half term with our four year old and picked TLH. We were nicely surprised at how pleasant our stay was! The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The facilities were very good and very convenient. The pools were fun, although by the end of the day the floors could definitely do with a clean! The inclusive dinner was acceptable, definitely plentiful, and our four year old loved getting his own dinner from the children's buffet. The stars of the show have to be the staff - enthusiastic, pleasant, polite, helpful and cheerful without exception. Will definitely consider going back if I am looking for a few days in or around Torquay.

Room Tip: Away from reception or stairwells
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your review. It is always nice to read positive review relating to our customer service. We work very hard to get this right. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We have been to this hotel several times now. We have two children aged between 3 and 5 and I love the fact that this hotel allows them to attend their childrens entertainment without us being present during the evenings to give us well needed ADULT TIME. The pools are excellent and food good. Good value all round.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyHarryHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We spent a weekend at the Toorak. We had a disabled room on the ground floor near the reception. When we saw our room we thought we woulod have no sleep from the guests going back to their rooms but we were woken up more by the staff as their door was almost opposite and they did not seem to realise that talking outside might wake their guests so i would check this if you need a ground floor room. The food for the xmas party was better than last year but the breakfast was a bit hit and miss, poor quality and not always cooked well but there is plenty of cereal and toast etc so you have plenty to eat.All in all this is a large complex of hotels and you have access to all the facilities, the xmas weekends are one of the cheapest so with a good group of people a great weekend.

Room Tip: Watch the disabled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saffery33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our first New Years Eve stay at the Derwent Hotel was incredible. Whilst the room was quite basic it lacked for nothing and was very clean & comfortable. All the staff gave 100% to ensure we enjoyed our visit and nothing seemed too much trouble. The entertainment team gave a remarkable show on the Friday evening which prepared us for the following day & nights activities. The food during our 2 night stay was excellent, especially at this time of year with so many people to cater for. Our compliments to the chef. The reception & 'Starlight Lounge' were beautifully decorated. An amazing atmosphere from start to finish which was enhanced by Zoë and her entertainment team who worked tirelessly throughout the evening keeping all the guests entertained. Also our compliments to the ever energetic Kevin of KB Sounds, a 'D.J.' with a difference. A big thank you to you all, congratulations and well done, cant wait until our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the hotel car park and outside pool area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike and Mish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 km away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,087 reviews
0.1 km away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
0.2 km away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
585 reviews
1.6 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,813 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Leisure Resort

Property: TLH Leisure Resort
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TLH Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lively resort encompasses the Derwent, Victoria, Carlton & Toorak Hotels with on-site access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tlh Leisure Hotel Torquay
Tlh Leisure Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing