We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #4 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Enjoyed a stay of 4 nights this visit. Stayed in a lovely room which had a new en suite shower room. The breakfasts are excellent, including beautiful home made breads on offer. The Charterhouse is a very comfortable, immaculate,safe place to stay with excellent hosts and is great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyshawDurham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    34
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
217
445
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We have just spent a few wonderful days at The Charterhouse Hotel.A very warm welcome,lovely room and excellent breakfasts.Little extra touches made all the difference too.Home from home!
Beautiful walks all around and within easy reach.
We were blessed to find this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

A lovely location and good value hotel with excellent breakfasts. Located at the "better end" of Torquay just 2 minutes walk from the sea front the hotel is in a quiet spot and is 10 minutes walk from the lovely thatched village of Cockington via the water meadows. The whole area is dog friendly with many of the cafes, pubs and inns accepting dogs. Lots of good walking in the vicinity - be prepared for a few hills! Marion and Les are particularly friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Dog friendly rooms (2) are on the ground floor and have exits directly into the garden area. Our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJandGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarporley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed for two nights on the weekend of February 11th/12th in the Riviera Room. Received a really warm welcome from Marion and Les, as well as advice about worthwhile coastal walks.
The room was spacious, comfortable and tastefully furnished; the ensuite bathroom, with bath and shower - likewise. We had good views of Torquay and the sea from the dual aspect windows. Choices for breakfast were plentiful, and included freshly baked home made bread and home made marmalade and chutney. The cooked breakfast was delicious. Certainly somewhere we wil return to.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ned R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

our last visit was the fourth we have done and it never dissapoints.Well run, lovely and clean,pleasant service,,, a pleasure, we have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlington, Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed for a week at the Charterhouse for the 4th consecutive year in 2011 on this occasion in the new Superior room. Each year it actually becomes more and more difficult about what to write because everything is just fantastic in every respect, the hotel is spotlessly clean throughout, the bedrooms are so well appointed, the cooked breakfast is to die for, but above everything the hospitality is just amazing, we have said this before but it just does not feel like a hotel at all. Les and Marion work really make you feel so welcome from the minute you walk in until the minute you leave, you feel like you are staying with friends or relatives (the ones you like that is !) We have just read that they have been awarded the No 1 Travellers Choice Best Hotel for 2012, this is an award that they so richly deserve. We are already looking forward to staying at this wonderful hotel once again in 2012.

Jenny & Phil Eccles

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecclescakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This was our 4th visit to Marion & Les's and as always Marion greeted us with a pot of tea and home made mince pies(it was the week before Christmas) look out Delia Smith you have competion.The garden room was ours as we have 2 four legged friends,laminated floor in case of muddy feet and a outside door which opens directly onto the patio also one directly into the hotel.Breakfast was as always fantastic and the choice of menu was never ending.Marion now makes her own bread "which complements" Les's homemake three fruit marmalade( sorry Les) all the rest of the produce is locally sourced.We had a great four days and were made to feel so very welcome as always, cannot wait for later in the year 2012 for our fifth and hopefully six visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.8 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
0.5 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.1 km away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#5 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.2 km away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing