We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
510
66
9
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
510
66
9
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub grand piano homemade granola meadfoot beach restaurant recommendations cup of tea on arrival local area guest house cooked fresh fabulous breakfast warm welcome perfect hosts quiet area full english local knowledge lovely guesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 589 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Went earlier this month with friends to celebrate their golden wedding as we all went to Torquay for our honeymoons. The hotel was good. Bedroom was a good size with a very comfy bed. Tea/coffee making facilities and toiletries provided. Good choice at breakfast, fruit, cereals, and cooked. Parking on site was limited but there was street parking. Steep walk down into Torquay was not too bad but it was hard coming back. Taxi back from the harbour was about £6. Ian and Craig had sold the hotel and moved out on Tuesday. Good luck to Nick and family.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank intrepids_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marstan_Hotel, Owner at The Marstan, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Thank you for you kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are settled in now and enjoying meeting our guests

Regards

Nick, Jackie and Pippa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018

We stayed three nights and had a lovely time in Torquay. Both Ian & Craig were very friendly and helpful. Our room was quite small but had everything we needed and was comfortable. Breakfast was really nice and set us up for the day. Craig told us about the boat & steam train trips which we took advantage of and had an amazing day in Dartmouth. We also visited the races at Newton Abbot which were great!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Viv H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a short break in August and we were very impressed with this small hotel. The owners Ian & Craig are very friendly and hospitable. The hotel is furnished to a high standard, and our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was delicious and with a great choice. Torquay is a lovely seaside town with lots of great places to eat & drink. We used the Marstan as a base for exploring Devon and Cornwall. It was perfect for us and we really enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Stayed for two nights Friday and Saturday. Hotel is excellent very clean and offers a pool and hot tub.
The breakfast is the best served anywhere I have stayed the last few years with an excellent choice that will please everyone.
Location is a ten minute walk from the harbour so you have the peace and quiet you need of a night time

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank sdavies641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2018

This has to be one of the nicest places to stay in Devon. From the warm welcome to the cleanliness of the rooms to the out of this world breakfast it deserves the top rated awards bestowed on it. Every room is sumptuously decorated but the atmosphere is so relaxed you can enjoy it without feeling you have to be ultra careful sitting on the chairs etc. The town of Torquay is a 10 minute walk away and Craig and Ian make recommendations on what to visit and where to eat and they were spot on.

Room tip: All the rooms are lovely
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cincinattigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews