We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Limited stony beach but great views

The beach is limited in width but has great views to thatchers rock. On stormy easterly winds the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
OnAir24283905219
Lovely views

This is a pebble covered beach with lovely views out to sea. The beach is fairly narrow (though I... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
DrGrahamG
,
Banbury, United Kingdom
Read all 433 reviews
  
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
219
146
52
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
146
52
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely beach rock pools high tide an ice cream van small bay beach cafe clean beach clear water car park nice cafe lovely view overlooking the sea nice walk torquay harbour little gem shingle rocks
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

the beach is a peble beach, while we were there in November, the tide is high in the morning and windy so we did not get the benefit of it. please check in summer time or check with hotel before you book to go there

Thank anitali2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The beach is limited in width but has great views to thatchers rock. On stormy easterly winds the waves crash up the sea wall making dramatic photos

2  Thank OnAir24283905219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a pebble covered beach with lovely views out to sea. The beach is fairly narrow (though I was there at high tide). Parking was quite tricky on the day I visited (a sunny day)

1  Thank DrGrahamG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have been coming here whilst on holiday for years. Never fails to impress. Rocky stone beach very little sand but lovely all the same. Great cafe take away too with wonderful views.

Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

quiet dog friendly beach . parking just by the steps but you do have to pay. stoney beach not sand. nice walk round the bay. clean as well.

Thank Curious314893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018

Shingle beach,peaceful and perfect for relaxing.There is a lovely cafe and toilets nearby.Quite sheltered.Nearby parking on main road.

Thank susanholford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

You can walk down from the Osborne Apartments to this beach. The tide was in and it was windy when we did this, so we didn't spend long here, but this is a nice, quieter beach, stony, not sandy.

Thank c0rnishHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018

This was our nearest beach to the Osborne Apartments where we stayed. We were there in windy weather, but this beach was well sheltered by the rocks on the Torquay side. It is a stony beach, so may not be suitable for children. The beach café is worth a visit.

Thank Percy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018

This peaceful little haven is a little gem with its great seafront cafe and is obvisouly well looked after.

Thank BROADSMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2018

Great for dog walking. My daughter dives from here. It’s possible to get free parking here if you’re lucky. Agatha Christie used to swim to Shag Rock here as a child apparently....... very popular with all ages and there is a very nice cafe here. Toilets available.

Thank Deltadawn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews