We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Julie Kirk

Thank you for a lovely visit today, clean and tidy attraction. Loved the baby penguin and the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Julietamblyn
,
Looe, United Kingdom
via mobile
Rainy Day but was good

It was hammering down with rain when we went but once inside it was great. The penguins came right... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
trevort483
,
Plymouth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 2,367 reviews
  
Reviews (2,367)
Filter reviews
2,367 results
Traveller rating
1,148
690
351
109
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,148
690
351
109
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paignton zoo feeding times octopus sea birds zooper ticket fur seals penguin feeding penguin beach baby seal macaroni joint ticket couple of hours few hours gift shop value for money walk around well worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,367 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2018

This is located next to Beacon Quay and is a partner to Newquay and Paignton Zoos. The attraction is part of several conservation and education programs and their ethos is accessibility for all which certainly made taking a wheel chair user round very easy. The staff are knowledgeable about the animals under their care and the whole attraction is well presented with plenty of information boards and staff and volunteers all willing to stop and talk to you

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank davee693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

I'm giving this attraction five stars. Our children, 12, 13 and 14 came out and had had a great time. Typically on phones and devices they really engaged with the whole experience.

Highlights for them were the penguin and otter feeds. The commentary about the animals was interesting and as an adult I learnt new things too.

It wasn't cheap to get us in but this is a good cause and I felt great supporting it.

My only niggle was that the ice cream kiosks were closed. We visited on a very warm day. They could have sold loads, so it was an opportunity missed.

Surprising for a gift shop, theirs was decent. Nice choice of items, reasonably priced in the main.

We were there over three hours and walked away with smiles on our faces.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018

We were told we could visit living coast once during the winter months and then not pay again no matter how many times we visited up till April 2019, great, took the 3 grandkids, had our photos taken , bought a much reduced ticket which gave us a single admission to Paignton Zoo, on a roll.... till we reached the interior. My husband and I were so disappointed with the look of the place. Living Coast, makes you think of everything alive and kicking, well 90% of the flower beds were dead or dying plants, all the paint work was a dark grey or black, there wasn't anything colourful or bright to greet you. The murals had a bit of colour, inside the walk ways.
The Penguins were of course beautiful, but in quite a small enclosure which made me feel a little sad. The Seals were fun to watch, playing in the water but with just one bouy to play they must be bored out of their minds. Some of the marine life was interesting in the tanks, and the play area for kids was a hit with our grand kids. The gift shop was not a rip off as in most places and the safe where very pleasant and smiled a lot.
But come on Living coasts, give the Seals something to make their day worth asking up to, 1 floating piece of plastic, what about a ball or 2 for a kick off!!
The most interesting thing for me was how the walls were decorated with all the debris we humans dump in our waters and then go home to a tidy house forgetting the marine life we endanger.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank lindanicholls2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

Visited late afternoon in October so got good views of the birds, seals, otters and penguins. As quite small can imagine would be crowded peak season, but does mean you get really close to the wildlife ( note birds are free flying as whole place is a giant aviary - just in case anyone has Hitchcock The Birds issues!) Managed to catch seal and otter feeding talks - really interesting, particularly loved the hide and seek otter enrichment feeding - they even found the fish buried and covered by a log! Underwater area a bit more hit and miss as tanks quite small and low - so again might be tricky on a busy day - but good for tiny tots to view I guess. Stingrays and seahorses were beautiful and graceful to watch but disappointed underwater seal viewing area not clear when we visited. There was a notice to explain due to a current health issue meaning seals could not be moved for cleaning - understand their health and happiness has to come first. Fantastic innovative interactive sand boxes just before exit - pile or dig the sand and land masses, beaches or inlets with sea creatures appear. Big hit with all the grown ups (tho think are aimed at children!) Also fab was the colour your own sea creature section - kids there loved colouring in a creature, scanning it then seeing it swim on the big screen! Finally the exhibition about plastic in our oceans finished our visit with an important take home message - as this is a cleverly landscaped conservation project first and foremost. Ps gift shop very good (more affordable and wider variety of items than most) and views from cafe terrace of Torquay harbour were fantastic! All in all well worth a couple of hours as easily accessible from Torquay harbourfront.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Charmaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2018

Really enjoyed looking at the various animals and birds, lots of information and enjoyed watching the animals being fed.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank trajon2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews