We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Julie Kirk

Thank you for a lovely visit today, clean and tidy attraction. Loved the baby penguin and the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Julietamblyn
,
Looe, United Kingdom
via mobile
Rainy Day but was good

It was hammering down with rain when we went but once inside it was great. The penguins came right... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
trevort483
,
Plymouth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 2,367 reviews
  
Reviews (2,367)
Filter reviews
2,367 results
Traveller rating
1,148
690
351
109
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,148
690
351
109
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paignton zoo feeding times octopus sea birds zooper ticket fur seals penguin feeding penguin beach baby seal macaroni joint ticket couple of hours few hours gift shop value for money walk around well worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,367 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2018 via mobile

My son's 9th birthday and his choice of what to do for his birthday was to visit living coasts again! But with a broken leg it could have been a bad choice however with a phone call in advance they let us use their courtesy Wheelchair which meant we could complete 4 laps to take in all the sights and get to various feeding talks without getting over tired.
The tanks were all easily viewable by wheelchair too.
A very good venue, lovely friendly staff, nicely layed out and clever use of space. Tasty lunch in the café too though the egg mayo did have lots of cress which wasn't great for the birthday boy!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Lunar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2018

For the time of year, and in the weather conditions that we visited under, things were a bit lackluster here. We were under the impression that things were awe-inspiring, and if you're a conservationist at heart, then yes they are. But the seals only were perching on a rock, so it would be nice to see some more enrichment provided for them. I think that would be a nice thing for all the exhibits; more enrichment and more staff around to provide extra knowledge that the placards cannot provide. It was lovely witnessing the penguin feed and talk, and we'd love to see that again.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Hollieeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2018

They provided a wheelchair (which we had pre-booked) which enabled a full visit and repeat circuits to catch scheduled events missed first time round. Huge thanks to Tom, the aquarist, for letting the g'kids feed the archer fish, and explaining why they no longer squirt water at the crickets in the branches above their tank to knock them into the water (a highlight from a previous visit). Must return next year when they've got some younger archer fish.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018

This is located next to Beacon Quay and is a partner to Newquay and Paignton Zoos. The attraction is part of several conservation and education programs and their ethos is accessibility for all which certainly made taking a wheel chair user round very easy. The staff are knowledgeable about the animals under their care and the whole attraction is well presented with plenty of information boards and staff and volunteers all willing to stop and talk to you

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank davee693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

I'm giving this attraction five stars. Our children, 12, 13 and 14 came out and had had a great time. Typically on phones and devices they really engaged with the whole experience.

Highlights for them were the penguin and otter feeds. The commentary about the animals was interesting and as an adult I learnt new things too.

It wasn't cheap to get us in but this is a good cause and I felt great supporting it.

My only niggle was that the ice cream kiosks were closed. We visited on a very warm day. They could have sold loads, so it was an opportunity missed.

Surprising for a gift shop, theirs was decent. Nice choice of items, reasonably priced in the main.

We were there over three hours and walked away with smiles on our faces.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews