We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break at the headland”
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at the Headland at the end of April when the South experienced the big storm. The views from the hotel,being on the cliff top were amazing. the hotel is right by the coastal path. Torqay marina to the right, Meadfoot beach to the left. Everything at the hotel is first class, rooms food and two very profeshional acts each night. All of the staff could not have been better. One very small critisism. The bulbs in the bedside lights were very low wattage, If you want to read in bed take your own bulbs.
JOHN REX M.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John Rex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback, and we are delighted you enjoyed everything about your stay so much, despite the freak weather we unfortunately experienced. Your comments on the bedside light wattage have been taken on board, and remedied where necessary. We hope to welcome you back later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

We arrived at the hotel just in time for the evening meal and was greeted at the reception by the manager. We found our way to our room and headed for the dining room where the fantastic 6 course evening meal awaited us. We have stayed here before and knew what a treat we were about to have. The service was once again excellent.
Our room was not as nicely located as the last time as we had left it late to book this year. Last Easter we had executive rooms overlooking the beautiful garden and with a sea view. Having said that the room was spotlessly clean as is the rest of the hotel. The room had also recently had a new bathroom fitted and was very comfotable and well equipped.
We had a lovely stay and the only problem we had was having some fuel stolen from the car which we had to park some way away from the hotel on a very quiet road. Luckily there was very minimal damage and the Manager was extremely concerned as they had not had this happen in the past. The car park can be very congested at times and it's worth getting there a bit earlier to get a decent spot.
All in all a really good relaxing weekend break and we certainly intend returning when we are next visiting Torquay.

Room Tip: It costs a bit more but the executive rooms overlooking the garden and with sea view are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julieanddaveWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for your excellent feedback and we are thrilled you so liked your stay. Although your room was not an Executive one this time, I am glad you found an alternative one comfortable and well-equipped. I was very concerned to hear about your fuel, and we will be closely looking out for anything like this, along with our neighbours. Our parking improvement plans with the Council will relieve congestion once passed, hopefully before your return visit to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I would certainly recommend this very friendly hotel.The weekend break was a lovely surprise from my other half. I couldn't believe how reasonably priced he said the stay was. We were upgraded to an executive room and had a pot of coffee and biscuits on arrival. The six course evening meals were beautifully presented and served efficiently by Peter. Breakfast was excellent. Had the weather been a bit warmer I would have gone in the heated swimming pool!!! A taxi into Torquay is provided at 10am daily which picks up again later in the afternoon. The walk back along the coastal path was lovely but very steep in parts. We will go back again because we couldn't fault it. The manager even gave us his parking space!

Room Tip: If you want an early night avoid a room above the ballroom. I felt that the entertainment finished a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CJS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Delighted you enjoyed your stay, and that you found it such good value. Our six-course dinners are getting very favourable feedback, and I have passed on your thanks to Peter. We will continue to strive to exceed expectations, and we look forward to your next visit, hopefully before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I was unfortunate enough to fall ill during my recent holiday at this hotel with a stomach bug. The manager and staff went out of their way to ensure that I, and my wife were comfortable and well catered for whilst confined to our room.
This is a fantastic hotel situated just outside the main town area but easily accessed by the hotel's own free taxi service or by walking 10 minutes or so down and 20 minutes back up.
The food menus were out of this world and the service first-class.
Will definitely stay there again. HIGHLY recommended.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the sea or gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenDGedig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

We thank you for your appreciation of our services whilst you were unfortunately indisposed during your recent stay, and hope you recovered fully soon after. It is great you found the hotel fantastic, and thank you for your tremendous comments about our food and staff. We look forward to your return and are very grateful for your recommendation .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

What an amazing 4 day break had by myself, husband and mother and father,
Was my 40th birthday treat and I could not have been happier.
The hotel is in a stunning location and very clean, was welcomed by the manager as soon as we parked up, were made to feel very special by all staff during our whole stay, the hotel is truly amazing, with lots of interesting history, our room was a little small but we were told this when we booked but as we were staying only for a few days we thought it would be fine, room very clean cosy and up to date with a lovely sea view.
Cleaner very friendly and couldn’t do enough for you.

Food was without a doubt the high light, it was truly amazing , great service from our friendly waiter Peter, tables laid beautifully, 6 course menu every night, with nothing repeated, only difficultly was choosing which one to eat!!
Breakfast was equally of a great standard with lots to chose from, food always hot,
Entertainment was very good, especially the magician/ comedian… what did he do with those doves???
Free taxi at 10 am into the town or if you want to walk down and catch a free taxi back at 4:30pm this is a great help for the old knees!!
This break was exceptionally good value for money and would certainly recommend, would love to come again and bring my Nan she would love it!!
Thank you to the Headland hotel for a memorable birthday
Cheryl

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheryl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you Cheryl for your lovely review, and it is great to hear that you all had such a wonderful stay for your special celebration. We look forward to you returning with your Nan, so that our team can pamper you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just come back from a weekend Easter break with my Husband, Daughter and Son in Law. This is a fantastic hotel in a lovely peaceful spot overlooking the sea, OK it is up hill but the hotel supply a free taxi to take you into town and pick you up aroung 4.30. The hotel has a lovely feel to it and the communal areas are great with nice seating areas. Nice patio area outside also. The restaurant is lovely and the food I thought was outstanding, best I've had in a hotel. Well done to the chef. All the staff were really helpful and friendly. There were some nice touches, like free tea or coffee and hot cross buns on arrival, a Cadburys Easter Egg in your room and free tea and coffee and simnel; cake on Easter Sunday also some mini eggs with your evening meal. Entertainment was OK, Magician was our favourite, he was great. Our room was small (142) but had a lovely sea view and to be fair I was told it was small on booking (This was a standard room), but this didn,t spoil our stay one bit. Would probably go for a bigger room next time and there will "definately" be a next time. Thankyou Headland.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ollie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

It was terrific to get such positive feedback on all elements of your stay over Easter. I have passed your super comments on to our staff, including our Chef, and also to Peter Baffles our brilliant magician. Thank you so much, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Just had a 4 day break at this fabulous hotel. Absolutely faultless in every way, staff were so courteous and friendly,food was superb, room amazing and wonderful entertainment. We are looking forward to returning soon and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzannewarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

May I thank you for your equally "fantastic" review! What a lovely, concise affirmation that we are on the right track. We are grateful for your recommendation to others, and eagerly await your next visit to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.6 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,189 reviews
1.8 km away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
4 km away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,550 reviews
0.3 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
604 reviews
0.5 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#15 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $92 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing