We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Lovely Location”
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night break here with my partner and parents. We went on a break with GB Tours, and, on the whole, cannot fault it.
When we arrived on Friday afternoon we were taken to the lounge for hot drinks and biscuits. By the time we had finished this, we were quickly checked into our rooms, and our cases were waiting outside the door (apart from my mothers who went to find her own). We were in room 183 which had a couple of flights of stairs to go up which wouldnt be suitable for some but was absolutely fine for us. My mothers room was accessible by a lift as she had said she cannot manage stairs, however she had an older type room that had a fairly high bath to step into for a shower (we had a shower cubicle). The only disappointment about our room was the view - we had the rubbish bins out of 1 window, and a sort of generator out the other.
The room itself was very clean with plenty of storage space, TV, hairdryer, toiletries and alarm clock.
The food was very good - the only flaw being very over cooked venison one evening and an odd starter of curried prawns with chefs homemade bread as a starter which turned out to be prawns in "chip shop" curry sauce and a slice of sunblest! We never went hungry though! The waiting staff, in in particular our waiter, Kris, were incredibly helpful and polite.
The evening entertainment was very dated, but seemed to be aimed at the pensioners who were there (we were probably the youngest by over 20 years.) There was not much else to do in the evening though. Drinks were reasonably priced - not as cheap as in Town, but certainly not too extortionate.
In terms of location - my partner and I found it lovely. Some of the scenery is breath taking - even at this time of year. My Mother however wasn't able to take advantage of it as any walk from the hotel involves very steep inclines. The hotel did operate a free taxi service to Torbay though each day if you wished to go in.
In summary, it is a lovely hotel, but I think aimed more at the older generation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DirtyDiana67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay here via GB Tours, and I am pleased that you felt it was great value with the hotel and our location both lovely. You also say that you found the room to be very clean, and the food to be very good - we would have readily exchanged any dish not entirely to your liking, if you had only said, although we do not use chip-shop curry sauce or sunblest as you have mistakenly claimed. I am somewhat puzzled and dissapointed that you find it necessary to focus on and post pictures of our cardboard and bins awaiting collection, and from your other window, rather than the nice view across our gardens and the valley, you have zeroed-in on a barely visible, silent, Electricity Board transformer within a walled area on neighbouring property. From your comments, I don't believe this reflects your generally positive impression of the hotel, but nevertheless I hope you will all return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

We have just had a brilliant weekend at this wonderfull hotel. The service was really good and the staff very friendly. The food was excellent, I must say our room was lovely(126) I have never had such lovely views. Thank you to every one, and we hope to come again.

Room Tip: 126 is a lovely room, good views plenty of room to move around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you so much for your concise review. It is pleasing to hear that you were impressed by the food, your room and the service from our great team of staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Visited this Hotel for a long weekend in January, 2013, having visited previously 3 years earlier when the Hotel was then very good. Absolutely excellent, I was in room 160 on the first floor which has recently been upgraded to a high standard and from the window has a good view across Torbay. The staff from the Manager down to the cheerful cleaning staff made the stay excellent and comfortable. The food was very good, a varied menu with a good choice at breakfast and dinner, the food is well prepared and service by the friendly waiting staff is prompt, no cold food here. The drinks in the bar were reasonably priced for a Hotel and there was some entertainment if you needed it. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Torquay.

Room Tip: Try to get room 160 on the first floor or one of its neighbours for the view across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnEF33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

It was good to get your very positive feedback, following your recent return to us after three years. We are thrilled that you found us even better than before. Thank you for your fulsome recommendation to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Returned yesterday from the Headland. We were on a trip from GB Tours. The hotel was very welcoming. We were part of tour and there were at least 50 people arriving at the same time together with another group of around the same amount of people. Firstly it was all very well organised we were greeted with tea/coffee and biscuits. The manager then gave us a welcome speech to tell us all about the hotel. We were checked in speedily and the manager was at the lift to direct us to our room. We had a room in the basement which was a lot better than it sounded as it was on the ground floor with patio doors out onto the hotel's gardens which were immaculately kept and with a sea view, The room was small but cosy and had a large modern flat screen tv. The bathroom was a good size with bath and plenty of room to leave toiletries. All looked very new. Levels of cleaning very high.

Meals at the hotel were a delight. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts and 6 course evening meals. Service superb.

The hotel is located on a hill and the hotel provide free of charge a taxi to the town and will pick you up in the afternoon. The manager was always available to speak to if you had any queries. I recommend this hotel highly and would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your garden level room and it's own little patio, with a lovely view across our gardens towards Thatcher Rock. Thank you for all your comments and your appreciation of our chef's food. We try to be available at all times to ensure that everything is as is should be, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have just returned from having Christmas at The Headland Hotel, Torquay. As usual this is a brilliant hotel and the staff are wonderful. All the staff made us very welcome as usual. The food was excellent. The hotel was decorated wonderfully with Christmas decorations. The room we had was large with a sea view. I would like to thank especially the girls on Reception and Thomas the Restaurant Manager and our waiter Patrick who were very helpful and could not do enough for you. The rooms were cleaned every day including Christmas Day. Toby The General Manager did everything he could to make this a very special time. We have already booked two weeks for the Summer and cannot wait for it to come round. If anyone wants a really good hotel in Torquay I would recommend this hotel very highly.

The Nields

Room Tip: The front rooms with a sea view are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas stay with us so much, and I have passed on your compliments to the personnel you mentioned. We look forward to your stay with us at the end of June. Many thanks for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This was our third stay at The Headland, my wife and I were there for Twixmas. We had a club room, 136 right at the front with a glorious sea view, althougth the weather was not great for seeing.The room was more than big enough, clean, tidy and everything worked as it should as did the bathroom with both bath and shower over. We arrived and were served with a coffee and a slice of Christmas cake, complimentary I may add and went to our room. We used the Sauna which was clean, tidy and acceptably hot. Invited to free drink before dinner and then in to dinner which was well served and presented as well as being well cooked, plenty of choice and six courses if you wanted them. Then a comedy magician and Bingo for entertainment. Up for breakfast after a good nights sleep, I asked for and was served with a portion of Fried bread along with the full english, again well served with attentive service.A day out and then again used the Sauna, and Dinner this time each and every guest was presented with a gift and a box of Party favours. Good quality of food well cooked and promptly served, good choice on the menu, then to the evenings entertainment. The drink prices were competetive and a large choice was on offer. This Hotel tries very hard and I must say in our case succeeded in ensuring that we had a very welcome break which left us wondering how they did it for the money. I would not hesitate in recommending this Hotel to friends and family for a good value, comfortable break.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloucestercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Thank you for your fabulous review, and it is terrific that you enjoyed another stay with us so much. You seem to have crammed a lot into your short stay, and it is nice to know all our little extras are appreciated, as well as the efforts of our team of staff. It is great that you consider us such excellent value, and thank you again for your endorsement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on 27 & 28 December in Room 163. The food and service was very good - particularly on the first night when we unable to make dinner & arrived back at the hotel around midnight. The duty guy provided us with 2 salads, sweets & fruits to take up to our room.

The room, however, was a different matter. The bedroom had a stained carpet, one of the curtain rods was detached and the room was cold because the radiator was turned off. The tiny bathroom was very dated with a chip in the bath, part of a tile was missing and a piece of the bath tap was broken. The shower head could only be used by hand - this was reported but not fixed.

We had hoped to raise these matters with the manager prior to departure but it was too busy.

Room Tip: Don't choose Room 163.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phillips99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback, and I am pleased that you found the services of our staff, and the food, to be very good. Whilst our rooms are being continually checked, I regret you had some issues. The bathroom, although of little comfort to you, is admittedly scheduled for imminent refurbishment, as part of our on-going programme of improvements, but was perfectly clean and serviceable. I am unsure what the exact problem you experienced with the shower head was, as it is working fine, but am sorry you did not find this to be the case. We could have readily re-attached the curtain rod to the curtain when we switched the radiator on, but I could not detect any stain on the carpet. However busy we may have been, we would always prefer to make time to resolve matters and have you departing as contented guests. Despite the above, I trust you found us to represent good value, and hope you will return to us for a happier stay. Best wishes for this new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.6 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
1.8 km away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
2.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
628 reviews
0.5 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
670 reviews
0.3 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#15 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $92 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing