We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
58
11
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
11
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here family room main road number bus relaxing stay full english good size nothing is too much trouble warm welcome town centre room was spotless mini break long weekend minute walk home from home breakfast was excellent recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 73 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel with Stuart & Clare and once again we weren't disappointed. We 1st stayed in Aug 17 and couldn't quite believe the attention to detail in looking after their guests. We're they trying to impress us? No they weren't as it's just how they are. Situated on a busy road wasn't a problem for us. The rooms are clean, tidy and extremely comfortable. If you require clean towels everyday then there is a small charge for that option which they inform you of. The bedding isn't changed everyday but who changes there bedding everyday anyway apart from snobby guests maybe. The breakfast area is lovely. They inform you on arrival of the time the breakfast room is open. There is cereal, fruit, yogurt, croissant, pancakes and juices at the help yourself area and then Clare really comes into her own. The English Cooked Breakfast is outstanding, unlimited tea and coffee plus toast as well. Clare makes sure you are fed and watered before you start your day. Any information you require they are both very knowledgeable of the surrounding area. The Ashwood Grange Hotel is a home from home for us and we are no longer guests on arrival but great friends. You only have to look at the amount of great reviews they receive. I know some guests have slated this hotel and I'm shocked to have read what I read and yes everyone is entitled to their own opinion and to be honest I'll stop there as I don't need a lawsuit dropping through my door. Stuart and Clare are great at what they do. I'll be back there in August with my family and for the foreseeable future the Ashwood Grange Hotel will be our holiday destination.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Darren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

This was a great stay. Owners are soooo nice and really do go out of their way to help you. Was going to come back but ended up staying in North Devon to surf. Clean rooms, great location and breakfast , I was concerned because it was on a busy road however around 1130 the road goes quiet and I'm a light sleeper but slept through no problems so don't be put off by this. Parking at the hotel and also on the main road and side roads - lovely view from the hotel too.
Will be going back in September

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2018 via mobile

Firstly the room was acceptable but on a very noisy road. Perfectly situated for buses and exploring, this is definitely a B & B not a hotel. No top sheet on bed just a heavy old duvet which is not acceptable. We were told towels would not be changed unless you paid extra so our dirty towels were picked up off the floor, folded and put back on the beds; lucky us!! Not good when your stay is for 1 week. YES all the reviews state hosts are helpful but none mention that you never know when breakfast is; as they decide on the day....very unfair and making guests hang around hungry until 9am or after..very unprofessional. Renovations needed to bring it in line with modern demands of the guests. Carpets are well worn. Lack of storage in room, little ventilation, stingy breakfast and no clean towels make this ideal only for just a couple of nights on a budget

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank AAhotelinsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful holiday thanks to Claire and Stuart for making us so welcome. Fabulous breakfasts,nothing was too much trouble.Always asking if we needed any more.Thank you once again Claire and Stuart you made our holiday.
Ian and June

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2018

Booked two nights in May and was so impressed, booked a third! Even being situated on a busy road, had a fairly good nights sleep. Cleanliness, location and service could not be faulted in any way. In a word - Superb!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Prince F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews