We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #10 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

This is a fantastic B & B, we stayed in a deluxe suite and could not fault a thing, the suite was beautiful, with everything we needed, and more. The staff were very nice and friendly and the breakfasts were to die for. It is a 5 minute walk to the marina with plently to do. We will certainly go again. Would highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineW45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
722
32
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

The Hotel is fantastic, great location, very chic and extremely comfortable. The icing on the cake are the two hosts who treat you, as I imagine, they would like to be treated if they were to go away. The breakfast is great with plenty of variety and service is with a smile. Highly recommend this place and will certainly go again when given the opportunity. Garden room is amazing!

Room Tip: The garden suite is fantastic with sole use of the garden ( apart from Oscar and Hector the two dach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had Deluxe Double room- it was spotlessly clean, bed was really comfortable ( duck-down) great attention to detail: fresh coffee in the rooms, sweets, dressing gowns, fresh milk etc. 5 min walk from the sea and shops. Staff were very polite. Decor was fresh and cute, if verging on a bit cluttered. Breakfasts were fantastic. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emm1545889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here later in April for two nights. Excellent B&B with comfortable room and more importantly comfortable bed. Great breakfast with hosts both friendly and extremely helpful. Suggestions as to where to go and do were brilliant. Would we visit again? Absolutely, it offers everything the traveller needs to an excellent standard. Might be a while as NZ is a long trip. Thanks guys, we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barney320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerville515, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for posting such a lovely review and we're pleased that you enjoyed our part of your visit to Britain so much. We sincerely hope you enjoy the rest of your stay and have a safe journey home.

Even with the wet weather we've had recently there is still lots to do for vistors in our part of the world and we're always delighted to give recommendations; apart from the attractions in our bay we are well placed to be a base from which to explore Dartmoor and The South Hams...... oh and you never know this might still turn out to be the BBQ summer after all so you could also enjoy some of our many award winning beaches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

This was our second visit and hopefully not our last! Rooms are spotlessly clean, comfortable and quiet. Adam & Grant made us welcome from the minute we walked through the door and their attention to detail is exceptional. We will definitely be returning and we will recommend it to all friends!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 31Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We geuninely couldnt fault a single thing about our stay at the Somerville - nor did we want to.
Adam & Grant are delightful and extremely helpful and informative regarding places to eat etc (had a fantastic meal at a bistro they recommended) Location of hotel was great - a few minutes walk from both the town and the sea, facilities, standards of hygiene & presentation were of the highest standard and breakfast was top notch - for once a teapot that didnt drip !!
Cant wait to come back for another visit soon :-)

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room closest to the front door and even though hotel was full didnt hear any n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Had another lovely stay (our 6th) at the Somerville and it never fails to delight. We stayed in the Garden Suite and the only shame is that we didn’t stay long enough to enjoy the spring flowers in the garden and the TV in the bath!

As ever, Grant and Adam made us very welcome and tempted us with the cookies and fresh milk for tea/coffee and we were spoilt for choice at breakfast. Torquay’s not everyone’s taste but there’s plenty to do away from the town centre: we had supper and a couple of drinks at The Kent’s about a 10 minute walk up the hill towards Wellswood – simple pub grub, tasty and not too expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEMGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,349 reviews
0.7 km away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.4 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Albaston
The Albaston
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.0 km away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 km away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing