We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lawnswood Guest House
Ranked #85 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2016

had a lovely three night stay at the lawnswood , karen the landlady made us very welcome and gave us some ideas on what to do in torquay and neighbouring areas . the breakfast was one of the best we have had and me and sven have stayed in a lot of establishments over the years so thank you to albi the chef who is such a cheerfull chap , and karen who makes the effort with the little extras in your room with the bottled water and chocolate on the the pillow , so i can say we will certainly be staying again in the future

Room Tip: couldnt hear any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliuk1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Owner at The Lawnswood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

hopefully you will come again was a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed for five nights. Met by a lovely hostess, who made sure we had everything we needed. Neat rooms, great breakfast and super location. Walking distances to the seafront and city center. Definately staying there again if we are in Torquay.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Owner at The Lawnswood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments hopefully I will see you again. It's always a pleasure when I get such good feedback from my guest's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

We arrived just after 4pm and had our van parked in front opposite of guest house. We had room 1 (double bed) on first floor facing the rear and room 4(twin beds) on first floor facing front. The twin bedroom is spacious and deco is very soothing. We stayed for only one night and David prepared our vegetarian breakfast which consist of poached eggs, baked beans & hash brown with tomatoes and button mushrooms at 8:30am. There's fruit juices, hit tea/coffee, yogurt and cereals to choose from besides the main dish. It's really good serving coming from just a guest house.
Only setback was we had to climb up stairs with our luggage.the twin room does not have Aircon but with the windows slide up open a bit welcomes the cool breeze. The bathroom was the tiniest I've ever seen.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank NymLoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawnswoodtorquay, Owner at The Lawnswood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2016

I'm glad you enjoyed your short stay with us.

just to clarify a couple of your points;

you were helped with your luggage up the 12 steps to the first floor. You make it sound like mount Everest. not what it actually was.
Air-con ? i'm not aware of any guest houses or hotels (only the most modern and expensive in the uk) that have air-con.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Dave the owner was extremely friendly, welcoming and very informative. The bedrooms were spotless, nice temperature, and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfasts were outstanding, freshly cooked to order every morning, also with fruit, cereal and yogurt available also. Very good value. Bus stop close by. Taxi service available by private hire was 3rd cheaper than taxis of the rank, and much more professional.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank MACKY1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

I have stayed here for five weeks while I Have been in the pantomime in the Princess Theatre, My host David Brown and his Family and staff, have made me feel right at home. My room was very comfortable with everything I needed, a good range of fruit fruit juices ect, plus an excellent cooked breakfast,

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Another comfortable stay at Lawnswood and the usual warm, friendly welcome from David. My wife was suffering from a back problem so we were swiftly moved to a room with a firmer mattress - excellent service.
After cereals,the excellent full English breakfast is served piping hot with tea/coffee & toast.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Good communication. Even though owner was out on arrival. Everything had been taken care of. Good breakfast. Friendly owner, easy to talk to. Comfort in that other guests, that used to live local and repeat vistors, still came back. For me the matress was a bit worn/soft, but i stress that is nit-picking and not worthy of the other box.
Would we use it again? Most definatley. We stayed in the small double.

Room Tip: We stayed in a small double (room 1) which is at the rear and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmscroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.6 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,235 reviews
0.9 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,575 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
371 reviews
0.3 km away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#42 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
4 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawnswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawnswood Guest House

Address: 6 Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $76 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawnswood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home from home bed and breakfast guest house. Welcoming friendly staff. Close to many restaurants and bars. Less than 10 minutes walk to beach and harbour. Princess theatre within 10 minutes walk. Torquay town centre within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lawnswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing