We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!”
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waters Edge Hotel
Ranked #140 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Booked last minute. On arrival the lady was pleasant but we had to go looking for someone as nobody about and no bell and no obvious reception. Turned out the reception was in the bar. No information given regarding the restaurant or breakfast although these are on their website!!! Room was compact but adequate. Was at the front but no noise was obvious. Bit of a rabbit warren to get to it (Room 9). There was a light bulb missing from the light over the bed (bed nearest the window). In the morning my husband went for a shower and found that the shower was stuck - no way could we turn it on!! We paid on arrival. Nobody available when we left so we could not tell reception regarding the problems. We had hoped to have breakfast there but with no information, no signs and nobody to speak to we gave up on that (had it elsewhere). All in all, not a good experience.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Waters Edge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2017

Arrived early no problem given key shown way to room 43 room very clean with view of sea flat screen television plenty channels .bus stops outside in main road .it's easy walk to town along seafront will visit again

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eric c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

First impression of the hotel clean and tidy. Check in straight forward, told where our room was, but not given any information of the hotel facilitys. This was the only time we saw a member of staff. Room was a reasonable size, ensuite with shower.
Chest of drawers and bedside cabinets had seen better days, don't open drawers, they will fall apart. Small coffee table two chairs, no where to use a laptop.Wrought iron bedstead was loose.
Light over sink not working, tap loose,Mat in shower black with mold. Not a lot of pressure in shower and only just warm.
Room not cleaned the whole time we where there, I spilt face powder in the sink, first day, still there when we left.
Bed covers just pulled up, and not neatly,








Stayed: April 2017
2  Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on 2 occasions and had a nice stay , staff are friendly and welcoming , parking is tight if you come back late in your car , but is possible to park in side road 100 yards away, rooms basic but ok , located in between Torquay and Paignton would stay here again

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mickyl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Room we were given was really good, no.33,with a full fantastic view over Torquay and the bay, would have definitely given this hotel a 5 if they had provided food, or even a breakfast , hotel is perfectly situated for Torquay, Paignton and Brixham, no need to use your car when you get here as the bus service is very good at only £4.50 per person for a day ticket which will take you around the area upto 23.30 hrs

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed here twice now and the first time we stayed here we had a fantastic stay a lovely room it was so big and the views were absolutly stunning a 360 view to the whole beach it was gorgeous,Would deffo stay here again x

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laura jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

My daughter and I were attending a family wedding in Torquay and booked the Waters Edge Hotel - room only. We arrived at 4.30 in the afternoon. There was one parking space left, and the reception area looked relatively modern, clean and efficient. Checking in was no problem. I asked for an extra key, only to be told that we had to leave our keys at reception when we went out. I explained that I was unwell and wanted to sleep while my daughter went out but still, no second key was made available. We had a twin room, with a lovely view of the sea. The beds were comfortable and it was warm enough. This hotel was perfectly situated to get everywhere we needed to be easily. Unfortunately, the modern look of the reception area was not reflected in the stair ways or the room. The paint work had very obviously been touched up in some areas, and the walk way was creaky and felt a bit rickety. The walls in our room were paper thin - I could hear the guests in the room above and beside ours - every time they walked across the room the floorboards creaked, we could hear the music they were playing and the conversations they had.. Although there was a WiFi code, there was no WiFi signal in our room. The shower was cold - despite me spending 10 minutes trying to adjust and regulate and there were no hand towels. When we returned from the wedding celebrations at gone midnight, there were no parking spaces available, and the front door of the hotel was wide open (the latter did not encourage us to feel this is a safe place). There was a member of staff around, who directed us to park on a street a block away. When we checked out the following morning, the reception area was closed & there was no one around so, we popped our keys in the letter box provided and left. I can't help but feel, for the price we paid we could have had stayed in a backpackers hostel.

Room Tip: choose a room in a different hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 km away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 87 in Torquay
107 reviews
1.6 km away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 87 in Torquay
589 reviews
0.2 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.7 km away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
365 reviews
2.7 km away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#74 of 87 in Torquay
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Address: Seafront Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 6QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $55 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing