We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Haytor Hotel(Torquay)
Book now, pay at stay
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$142
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
337
24
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
24
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaul mikeon arrivalmick birminghamoffered tea or coffeefour posterbus routesgreat hostsriviera centrecooked to perfectionnothing too much troubletorre abbeyrooms are lovelytorquay arealocal informationfantastic breakfastmany thanksporridge
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 366 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2017

Our 4th visit to the westgate and once again another perfect stay. Excellent 4 star guest house with service throughout to match, the staff at breakfast are very professional thou Robert set's a extremely high example,nothing was to much trouble very friendly and efficient. The hosts paul & mike were also excellent exceeding the service normally associated with guest houses, spotlessly clean throughout,perfect location for all amenities. Looking forward to our 5th visit.
Many thanks for a great stay

Anita &a mick Birmingham

Stayed: August 2017
Thank seagull42660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Seagull, We must first of all thank you for the lovely cards you left for us all... they really brightened our day, and then to do us such a fabulous review on top is truly wonderful. We are so proud to think we have exceeded your expectations for the fourth year and that you are planning to see us again next year. Robert is so much part of The Westgate experience and he goes above an beyond of what we expect to make sure guests are comfortable. For the best price do phone us when you know your dates. With every best wish for the future. Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2017

This was our first trip to Torquay and we were pleasantly surprised with the comfort and hospitality of our hosts at the Westgate. The staff were pleasant, the breakfasts delicious and prepared fresh, with much attention giving to our needs while dining.
Near the train station, easy walking distance, on the bus route for easy access to the wharf area.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Hi Carol, We are so pleased you enjoyed your first time on The English Riviera and that we helped to make it special for you. We are very lucky to have such a great location as you can get just about anywhere withing a short walk of our front door. We hope you had a good trip home and thank you for your wonderful review. Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2017

Absolutely lovely place recommend a visit made us welcome on arrival lovely room four poster bed and goood service at breakfast clean and comfortable staff very approachable throughout our stay during our anniversary break

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank julieeccleston38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Hi Julie..It really does make a difference to us to know that you enjoyed your anniversary holiday with us in our romantic four poster king bed room and that you felt right at home. We do hope you will come to see us again and see some more of the fabulous English Riviera. Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017

My daughter and I had a very comfortable stay. Paul, the owner, is a perfect host, at all times thinking what was best for his guests. Breakfasts were served by Robert who was also delightful. Beds very comfy, rooms very clean and the breakfast was very tasty. My daughter especially loved Paul's scrambled egg!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RoWroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Hi Ro, its fantastic to know you found staying with us so comfortable and that the scrambled eggs went down a treat - they are not mashed microwaved eggs (yuk) but the real thing, done in a pan with butter and cream... delish! Why not come again and explore the wonders of the English Riviera? Thank you for taking a few minutes to rate us and share your experience with the world. Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017

Booked my room at very short notice and the guys running the hotel were very welcoming on arrival and helpful when looking to find a restaurant for dinner. Room very clean and fresh. Breakfast was excellent and service ace. If travelling around Torquay again I would recommend, will definitely try to visit again with my wife.

Room Tip: Double for single occupancy
Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Hi Tim. Thank you for being our 300th reviewer and for such a wonderful review. Torquay is the queen of the English Riviera and apart form the breathtaking beauty of the bay there are fabulous restaurants and lots of things to do too. We are sure your wife would just love it. Why not think about one of our big super-king bed rooms or the romantic four poster king bed room? Just phone us if you wish to stay. Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews