We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly”
Review of The Westgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westgate
Ranked #11 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We had a wonderful week at Westgate. The staff were friendly, and nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfasts were really tasty (well done Paul!), and set us up for the day. A special mention to Robert who looked after us at breakfast time. He never failed to make us smile - the consummate waiter: although his weather forecasts were a little? suspect!
Excellent bus service on the doorstep.
All being well, we will be back for another visit.
Thanks again
Reg and Janet

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 126reg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hi Reg. Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us , even if the weather was a bit unpredictable at times and did not do as it was told by our in house weather expert. We do hope to see you again and we will try to order dry sunshine for you - either way the English Riviera is still fabulous. Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Our 4th visit to the westgate and once again another perfect stay. Excellent 4 star guest house with service throughout to match, the staff at breakfast are very professional thou Robert set's a extremely high example,nothing was to much trouble very friendly and efficient. The hosts paul & mike were also excellent exceeding the service normally associated with guest houses, spotlessly clean throughout,perfect location for all amenities. Looking forward to our 5th visit.
Many thanks for a great stay

Anita &a mick Birmingham

Stayed: August 2017
Thank seagull42660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Seagull, We must first of all thank you for the lovely cards you left for us all... they really brightened our day, and then to do us such a fabulous review on top is truly wonderful. We are so proud to think we have exceeded your expectations for the fourth year and that you are planning to see us again next year. Robert is so much part of The Westgate experience and he goes above an beyond of what we expect to make sure guests are comfortable. For the best price do phone us when you know your dates. With every best wish for the future. Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

This was our first trip to Torquay and we were pleasantly surprised with the comfort and hospitality of our hosts at the Westgate. The staff were pleasant, the breakfasts delicious and prepared fresh, with much attention giving to our needs while dining.
Near the train station, easy walking distance, on the bus route for easy access to the wharf area.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hi Carol, We are so pleased you enjoyed your first time on The English Riviera and that we helped to make it special for you. We are very lucky to have such a great location as you can get just about anywhere withing a short walk of our front door. We hope you had a good trip home and thank you for your wonderful review. Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Absolutely lovely place recommend a visit made us welcome on arrival lovely room four poster bed and goood service at breakfast clean and comfortable staff very approachable throughout our stay during our anniversary break

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank julieeccleston38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hi Julie..It really does make a difference to us to know that you enjoyed your anniversary holiday with us in our romantic four poster king bed room and that you felt right at home. We do hope you will come to see us again and see some more of the fabulous English Riviera. Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

My daughter and I had a very comfortable stay. Paul, the owner, is a perfect host, at all times thinking what was best for his guests. Breakfasts were served by Robert who was also delightful. Beds very comfy, rooms very clean and the breakfast was very tasty. My daughter especially loved Paul's scrambled egg!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RoWroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Hi Ro, its fantastic to know you found staying with us so comfortable and that the scrambled eggs went down a treat - they are not mashed microwaved eggs (yuk) but the real thing, done in a pan with butter and cream... delish! Why not come again and explore the wonders of the English Riviera? Thank you for taking a few minutes to rate us and share your experience with the world. Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Booked my room at very short notice and the guys running the hotel were very welcoming on arrival and helpful when looking to find a restaurant for dinner. Room very clean and fresh. Breakfast was excellent and service ace. If travelling around Torquay again I would recommend, will definitely try to visit again with my wife.

Room Tip: Double for single occupancy
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Hi Tim. Thank you for being our 300th reviewer and for such a wonderful review. Torquay is the queen of the English Riviera and apart form the breathtaking beauty of the bay there are fabulous restaurants and lots of things to do too. We are sure your wife would just love it. Why not think about one of our big super-king bed rooms or the romantic four poster king bed room? Just phone us if you wish to stay. Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

A well run business the staff are very professional and welcoming.The room was lovely well kept and great valve . The breakfast was superb lots of choices and served with a smile.We will recommend the Westgate to all our family and friends.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Hi hark. Thank you for writing us such a lovely review and for giving us an excellent rating. It is good to know you found your stay good value for money and the service welcoming and professional - part of the Silver award we have from Visit England recognises that our levels of service are above the official four star rating. You are very welcome any time at The Westgate. Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 km away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 149 in Torquay
316 reviews
0.1 km away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
0.9 km away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
0.1 km away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#7 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
1.7 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $105 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate is an elegant Victorian villa that retains many original features. Ample free parking on site. With a Visit England assessed 4 Star with silver award guest accommodation, it's superbly located in a leafy conservation area by Torre Abbey in walking distance to the beach, harbour, town centre shopping, railway station and one of the closest to the Riviera Conference & Leisure Centre. There is a bus stop outside. There's a selection of tastefully decorated all en-suite family, double, super king, twin and single rooms together with an elegant guests' lounge, licensed bar and home cooked breakfast with hand - made Torquay sausages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Westgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing