We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
357
25
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
25
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paul mike on arrival mick birmingham offered tea or coffee bus routes four poster great hosts riviera centre torre abbey nothing too much trouble rooms are lovely many thanks fabulous breakfast local attractions torquay area cooked to perfection porridge
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 387 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2017

This is a well maintained, extremely well run accommodation. Charming and very caring and helpful proprietors. Very enjoyable staff. The breakfast was to a good standard. The rooms tastefully decored and clean. Highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank compo151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Hi Compo - We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the great quality of our breakfast with hand-made Torquay sausages for the butcher in the next street. We so hope to see you again and thank you for your recommendation. Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

Extended a three day stay to four, which says a lot in itself. The Westgate rooms are immaculately clean and comfortable. The rooms have a fresh feel. The breakfast was possibly the best I have been offered, being made to order, and is as extensive as you wish. No selection from trays under halogen lights here. If you want good, clean, welcoming accommodation, then you would be fortunate to find better than the Westgate. Thanks, Paul and Michael, for your hospitality and also your invaluable tourist information.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear Peter. thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your time with us and for extending your stay with us, it was a real pleasure having you stay and we do hope to see you again - there is so much more we can suggest for you to see and do on the English Riviera- South Devon's beautiful bay! Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017

We recently stayed at the Westgate for a long weekend, we had a very warm welcome from the hosts Paul and Mike . The hotel was very clean and extremely comfortable. The breakfast was very good with plenty of variety and something for everyone's taste. I would personally like to thank both Paul and Mike for a very enjoyable stay , nothing was too much trouble . we would be happy to recommend anybody stay at the Westgate if they are making a trip to Torquay. We hope to return ourselves one day.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paulcove360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Hi Paul. It was lovely to see you and your group here at The Westgate. It was a real pleasure having you all stay and we do hope to see you all again - there is just so much to see and do here and Torquay has some fabulous restaurants - not to mention the four theatres! Thank you for your great review. With all best wishes, Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

Paul, Michael and the staff are very welcoming, the rooms are lovely and comfortable, the lounge, bar and dining room are very tastefully presented and pristine. The cooked breakfast is wonderful and the porridge was gorgeous. I honestly can't think of any negatives. After a couple of days Paul and Michael seemed like old friends and they have a nice sense of humour. The service is superb and thoughtful and the other guests were so nice too - So we had a truly relaxing break and will book again if returning to Torquay.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Mr-Reliable-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear Mr Reliable. Thank you fro taking a few moments to write us such a wonderful review of your time with us. Our porridge is cooked the traditional way - n a pan on the stove and stirred with the right hand clockwise to bring you luck for the day - oh a just a dash of cream to make it just a bit naughty! Do think of us if you are planning another visit to Torquay. Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017

We went to Torquay for three nights but only found "The Westgate" on the last night and wished we had found it earlier!
A truly relaxed and friendly welcome. Paul and Mike couldn't be more helpful. The room was spotless and everything you need is there. Close to everywhere and has good parking spaces. Paul give us a map and marked everything on there so we knew where we were going. . very helpful. Breakfast comes highly recommended! Robert the waiter has a fantastic personality and makes a great atmosphere in the breakfast room, which is lovely as in some places it can be a bit of a strange atmosphere with so many different people in one room. Robert has so much energy and a big friendly smile, making sure everyone has everything they want to enjoy a delicious and we'll cooked breakfast cooked by Paul. "The Westgate" really made our last day in Torquay easy and enjoyable...
so much so that we wished we had of been staying a few more days. Definitely the place to go and somewhere that we will definitely return to. Thank you to all at. . ." The Westgate"
Tim and Sandy from Warwick.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sandy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Hi Sanday, it's lovely to know that we made such a great impression after just one night with us - thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff really are fabulous and we are so lucky to have them. We do hope to see you again. Paul & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews