We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming home from home”
Review of Kings Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kings Lodge
Ranked #7 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We found the Kings lodge to be a lovely, welcoming, friendly guest house where the owners Paul & Sharon (and the rest of their lovely family) were extremely helpful, and couldn't do enough for their guests. The room we were allocated was large and bright, very clean and comfortable. Small touches like a chocolate left on the bedside cabinet each night made it that little bit more special. The location was fine for us a young fit couple, however located on a hill about a 10-15 minute walk from the marina/town centre may not be ideal for other less able persons. Although this makes it much more quiet at night, combined with the sea air, gave us both the best nights sleep we've had in a long time. Once awake in the morning they serve a fantastic cooked breakfast (My husband loved the local sausages) or if you prefer there are a good selection of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, fruit juice and croissants (on request). All in all a really great place to stay ( and we have certainly had plenty of experience in b&bs/hotels etc).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rabnlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stay here on a regular basis on business, and would not stay anywhere else.
The owners are friendly people with a warm welcome whenever i arrive. Situated just 15 mins stroll from the town center, in a quiet part of town, you are guaranteed a good nights sleep in a warm comfortabe room.
My rooms have always been very clean, well decorated and very well equiped with tea/coffee making facilities and flat screen freeview tv's.
En-suite shower rooms are spotless and well equiped.
Breakfast served in the light and airey dining room. A good choice of fayre, freshly cooked to oder sets you up for the day.
So if you want a great B&B... look no further than the King's Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coasthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

As a lone traveller i found it to be the perfect place to stay.Sharon and Paul are fantastic hosts,nothing too much trouble, room was great, lovely food,i am already looking forward to another stay,ken Cambridge,

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgeKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

to paul and sharon thank you for the weeks holiday in your friendly and ,relaxed hotel. A good time was had by all, owed to yourselfs on hosting guests like us so well. For us the location was ideal, easy parking at hotel, 10 min walk to beach. Rooms were a plesure to sleep in, cleaned daily ,tea/coffee and freeview tv. Breakfast every day was faultless, poached,boiled or scrambled, bring it on !!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestkevLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Just come back from the Kings Lodge and had a fantastic time. Stayed with 3 children and was impressed by the location just a short walk from the town and beach. Paul and Sharon were very friendly and made us feel very welcome like a home from home, they recommended lots of places to visit and where to eat. Room was excellent, lots of space and great facilities. Breakfasts were very tasty with plenty of choice for the whole family. The bar area was well stocked and had local beers and ciders which was great after a day at the beach. We will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerriStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We had a great time, was suprised by the number of things to do even though we visited Torquay in November. Paul and Sharon very helpful with ideas of where to go during the day. Highlight of the day for my OH was Pauls poached eggs, (perfecy every time!) OH said he would have a go, still waiting! Kings Lodge is definety a lovely place to stay, very relaxed and a home from home atmosphere. Will be going back, if they will have us!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melvich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Kings Lodge is a small, friendly hotel with far more advantages than disadvantages. From the moment Paul met us at the train station we were well cared for in all respects. Next, we met Paul and Sharon (and their family) while served tea. Throughout, they cheerfully provided information about what's available in the area (supplemented by well-stocked literature racks) and answered every question we mustered. Although our room was very small, it had all the necessary comforts. Paul and Sharon never missed an opportunity to cheerfully attend to our every desire. Breakfasts are well prepared in typical English style offered in a cheerful dining room. We regret not arranging an evening meal at the Lodge also. We didn't have a car and would have preferred restaurants and the town center to be less of a hike. This was a minor issue considering all the positives we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minneapolis_MNHasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 km away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
303 reviews
1.8 km away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,116 reviews
1.7 km away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
812 reviews
0.3 km away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
1.7 km away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Lodge

Address: 44 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England (Formerly Kings Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $100 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Lodge Guest House is a situated in a tree lined avenue and is perfectly placed for enjoying the facilities within Torquay or for sightseeing around Devon. Our Sunny terraced garden and our relaxing conservatory are perfect for enjoying an evening drink from our well stocked bar. We have onsite parking spaces for guests, along with plenty of on road parking. We are a family and pet dog friendly guest house. We are located within easy access to the beach, marina, town centre, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Conference Centre and Torquay Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing