We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A welcoming home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kings Lodge
Ranked #5 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A welcoming home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We found the Kings lodge to be a lovely, welcoming, friendly guest house where the owners Paul & Sharon (and the rest of their lovely family) were extremely helpful, and couldn't do enough for their guests. The room we were allocated was large and bright, very clean and comfortable. Small touches like a chocolate left on the bedside cabinet each night made it that little bit more special. The location was fine for us a young fit couple, however located on a hill about a 10-15 minute walk from the marina/town centre may not be ideal for other less able persons. Although this makes it much more quiet at night, combined with the sea air, gave us both the best nights sleep we've had in a long time. Once awake in the morning they serve a fantastic cooked breakfast (My husband loved the local sausages) or if you prefer there are a good selection of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, fruit juice and croissants (on request). All in all a really great place to stay ( and we have certainly had plenty of experience in b&bs/hotels etc).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabnlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
112
165
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Ives Cornwall uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stay here on a regular basis on business, and would not stay anywhere else.
The owners are friendly people with a warm welcome whenever i arrive. Situated just 15 mins stroll from the town center, in a quiet part of town, you are guaranteed a good nights sleep in a warm comfortabe room.
My rooms have always been very clean, well decorated and very well equiped with tea/coffee making facilities and flat screen freeview tv's.
En-suite shower rooms are spotless and well equiped.
Breakfast served in the light and airey dining room. A good choice of fayre, freshly cooked to oder sets you up for the day.
So if you want a great B&B... look no further than the King's Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coasthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

As a lone traveller i found it to be the perfect place to stay.Sharon and Paul are fantastic hosts,nothing too much trouble, room was great, lovely food,i am already looking forward to another stay,ken Cambridge,

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

to paul and sharon thank you for the weeks holiday in your friendly and ,relaxed hotel. A good time was had by all, owed to yourselfs on hosting guests like us so well. For us the location was ideal, easy parking at hotel, 10 min walk to beach. Rooms were a plesure to sleep in, cleaned daily ,tea/coffee and freeview tv. Breakfast every day was faultless, poached,boiled or scrambled, bring it on !!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honestkevLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

Just come back from the Kings Lodge and had a fantastic time. Stayed with 3 children and was impressed by the location just a short walk from the town and beach. Paul and Sharon were very friendly and made us feel very welcome like a home from home, they recommended lots of places to visit and where to eat. Room was excellent, lots of space and great facilities. Breakfasts were very tasty with plenty of choice for the whole family. The bar area was well stocked and had local beers and ciders which was great after a day at the beach. We will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerriStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

We had a great time, was suprised by the number of things to do even though we visited Torquay in November. Paul and Sharon very helpful with ideas of where to go during the day. Highlight of the day for my OH was Pauls poached eggs, (perfecy every time!) OH said he would have a go, still waiting! Kings Lodge is definety a lovely place to stay, very relaxed and a home from home atmosphere. Will be going back, if they will have us!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

Kings Lodge is a small, friendly hotel with far more advantages than disadvantages. From the moment Paul met us at the train station we were well cared for in all respects. Next, we met Paul and Sharon (and their family) while served tea. Throughout, they cheerfully provided information about what's available in the area (supplemented by well-stocked literature racks) and answered every question we mustered. Although our room was very small, it had all the necessary comforts. Paul and Sharon never missed an opportunity to cheerfully attend to our every desire. Breakfasts are well prepared in typical English style offered in a cheerful dining room. We regret not arranging an evening meal at the Lodge also. We didn't have a car and would have preferred restaurants and the town center to be less of a hike. This was a minor issue considering all the positives we enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minneapolis_MNHasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.7 km away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.9 km away
The Albaston
The Albaston
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.1 km away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 km away
Briarfields
Briarfields
#13 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.3 km away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Lodge

Property: Kings Lodge
Address: 44 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England (Formerly Kings Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Lodge Guest House is a situated in a tree lined avenue and is perfectly placed for enjoying the facilities within Torquay or for sightseeing around Devon. Our Sunny terraced garden and our relaxing conservatory are perfect for enjoying an evening drink from our well stocked bar. We have onsite parking spaces for guests, along with plenty of on road parking. We are a family and pet dog friendly guest house. We are located within easy access to the beach, marina, town centre, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Conference Centre and Torquay Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing