We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”

The Babbacombe Bay Cafe
Ranked #64 of 360 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Award winning coffee shop/bistro serving breakfast, lunch, high teas and evening menu. Cakes and scones made daily by the chefs. Lunchtime and evening specials freshly cooked.
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

Had a groupon voucher for afternoon tea, didn’t know what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. There was a nice selection of sandwiches, scones with cream and jam of course and a selection of cakes/desserts. We managed to sit outside in the sunshine doing a bit of people watching. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend a visit even without the groupon voucher.

1  Thank fishing1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan F, General Manager at The Babbacombe Bay Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your high tea.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
We have a lovely new evening a la carte menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 370 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2018

We called in for breakfast as we knew this cafe permitted dogs inside. We both had the ocean breakfast and although they was a small mistake made on the order it was quickly rectified

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan F, General Manager at The Babbacombe Bay Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast.
We love our four legged visitors too. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2018

Its our 2nd visit for Afternoon Tea with Prosecco, A groupon voucher as a gift, Lovely staff and a lovely sunny Day...able to take home what we didn't eat, but disappointed to find the clotted cream and conserve was missing...Glad we enjoyed what we ate..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Myra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan F, General Manager at The Babbacombe Bay Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Thank you for your review.
We are sorry you jam and cream were missing.
We hope you will come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

This smart boutique restaurant delivers an excellent experience: a warm welcome, prompt service, excellent sandwiches/scones/cream/tarts and brownies and a lemon posset to end the classic cream tea.
We’ll be back to check out the dinner menu.

Thank roberty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan F, General Manager at The Babbacombe Bay Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review.
We have a delicious new a la carte menu.
We do hope we will be able to look after you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2018

My friend & I have been going to this cafe for a couple of years now to enjoy a lovely afternoon tea. It is in a great location & the staff are always nice but when we returned recently we were not impressed with the standard of food. Previously the afternoon tea included a variety of sandwich flavours which added a lot of colour to the plate. The jam was Tiptree in individual jars & the top layer of the cake stand contained a mousse in a glass & 2 other petit fours.

On this occasion, the sandwiches were very bland in colour & primarily contained cream cheese which wasn’t very apertising. The cherry scones we usually order will made with cherries chopped into very small pieces rather than the halves/whole cherries we are used to. The worst part was the jam. It was obviously some kind of “value” jam. It was pale red, only contained a few fruit pips rather than actual fruit & had a horrible jelly like texture which was difficult to spread. The taste was wispy-washy at best.

Obviously someone has been trying to make cuts to save money here, but what they have done instead is made customers unhappy. We complained but didn’t feel our complaint was taken seriously. The couple on the next table told us they were also disappointed & didn’t like the jam. This had become a fairly regular place for us to treat ourselves, but we won’t be returning. Surely it’s better to raise the prices slightly & maintain a good standard rather than make cuts to quality?

Thank EmmaG987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan F, General Manager at The Babbacombe Bay Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

I was really sorry to read your review and disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit.
We do listen to our customers as we endeavour to give everyone a fantastic experience.
We have reviewed our jam and we are using tip tree again and the chefs were made aware of your comments about the cherry scones.
We do ask for feedback from our customers whilst they are here so we can address any problems immediately but I was not made aware at the time of your visit that you were dissatisfied.
We are renowned for offering value for money and would not want to cut back on quality.
We have had such a fantastic response from customers on our high tea that we hope you will try us again and let us show you that this was an isolated incident.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Babbacombe Bay Cafe also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Babbacombe Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing