We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous 90th birthday celebration.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
holidayma...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous 90th birthday celebration.”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

This is now the third time we have used this beautiful house for a family celebration. All absolutely perfect. The house & grounds are gorgeous, so much space! The pool & hot tub were really well used & the whole family from an 11 month old to a 90 year old (& 2 dogs) had the most amazing long weekend. Lynne, the owner, made us feel so welcome but gave us so much freedom to enjoy this beautiful property, Thankyou, We'll be back!!!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anythingb...
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Break. ”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

We’ve just returned from a long weekend at Singleton Manor. We’re all really frustrated at the prospect of real life after such a great and relaxing weekend. The Manor itself is awe inspiring. Set in beautiful gardens it’s hard not to be impressed. We were greeted by the owner who made us feel very welcome and as if nothing was too much trouble. We all have babies and found the house spacious and big enough for everyone to have their own space and quiet when needed. The pool and the hot tub are very well kept and really topped the weekend off.
Just a few minutes from town and beaches it really is an all rounder. We are already talking about re booking for next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Singleton Manor”
Reviewed 30 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed mid March 2018 and the house and grounds were beautiful. We stayed for four nights. It snowed (several inches) the whole weekend but this just made the pool and in particular the hot tub even better. The owner who lives in the attached buildings was on hand if there were any issues and was very accessible if needed. The house was kept warm, clean and tidy. The house itself was huge and doors everywhere. The pool and hot tub were clean and lovely and warm and made this property stand out from other we considered. We were a group of nine and found there was plenty of room. The kitchen was huge and well stocked with everything needed although we ate in the town most nights. Only thing we thought could be improved is to have showers in all bathrooms. But we found the downstairs shower near the pool was fine and most of us used that. Around ten minute walk into town or to the beach area made the house an ideal location to not use the car. However Torquay is on a hill so bear this in mind.
Would we recommend and stay again. A definite yes!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxcherie1...
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 6 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Just spent the weekend here for my 40th birthday....and all I can say is wow what a amazing house....pool and hot tub where incredible ....we did not really leave house....as it literally had everything we needed and some....owner was fantastic....will definitely be booking again and already recommended to other friends

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bettyboo7...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment”
Reviewed 13 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
3
people found this review helpful

This is an imposing looking property gated and secure . We stayed over Christmas week it was lovely and warm and the pool was a great temperature and our four small grandchildren were never out of it. The kitchen had plenty of cutlery and dishes,plates etc. We booked this as the photos looked fantastic and it is classed as a platinum property. That is where it ends I’m sorry to say. This property is in need of some TLC, paintwork needs attention, the light switches in two bedrooms did not work the wardrobe door in my daughters room came off in her hand .her shower was hand held . Our master room the window would not open and the bathroom is in dire need of a refit. The shower had to be propped upright with a foil tablet pack, the whole area was black soiled grout and black damp above your head, if we had checked into some cheap 2star b&b it would be expected. We were very shocked that the owner might think that for £3000 per week this was acceptable . The conservatory leaked in several places when it rained the varnish from the wood was running onto the floor. The changing room area the light was hanging from the ceiling. The double shower in that area reaked of dirty dogs, we would not let the children use it, so the only usable shower was our bedroom. In the hallway was an old curtain rail with the cord tied up and no curtain?. The sofas in the lounge are in need of a good clean the were quite grubby. The cooker in the kitchen is very old and an engineer had to be called out xmas eve as it was not working properly. The two cafetière were broken, no coffee machine.the utility floor looked like it had a firework go off on it. All in all we felt the owner had certainly taken her eye off the ball and was really charging way to much money for a property that did not deliver what was expected, there were also quite a few cobwebs inside and out I would be changing my cleaning team I think. For what we paid we expected top dollar this was not delivered. All we can hope is that everything is changed before the next guests. I do have photos and will provide them on a private email if needed. Please check before you book this house had the relevant work carried out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2018
Many thanks for providing us with your feedback following your stay, and we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of the property.

Following your communication with our Customer Care Team upon your arrival home, we investigated your concerns and discussed these at length with the owner of the property.

The case in question has now come to a close following your discussions with our Team, however please be assured that our friendly Team here at Blue Chip Holidays are more than happy to assist with any areas of disappointment during your holiday to ensure your 100% holiday satisfaction.

Again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. Please be assured that all feedback is gratefully received and invaluable in allowing us to continually strive to improve both our services and offerings.

Best regards,
Blue Chip Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal family and pet friendly holiday”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had the most fantastic family holiday at Singleton manor enjoyed every single moment not a thing that was missing even down to milk tea sugar coffee on arrival
Torque within walking distance plenty of lovely shops PERFECT will be visiting again, owner a very lovely lady.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Family Holiday”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed a family holiday at The Singleton Manor, Torquay, made up of a party of 4 couples and 2 children. The owners lived at the Coach House situated next to the main house. They were friendly and helpful. Upon arrival, we were informed that the jacuzzi in bedroom one and outside lights in the garden were not working. Whilst this was disappointing, it didn't spoil our holiday. The house is stunning and we all enjoyed using the pool and hot tub. The main harbour and town was about a 10 minute walk, where there are plenty of restaurants, bars and shops. You can also catch a ferry to nearby Brixham and Paignton. Well worth a day out. The walk back is up a steep hill, but there are plenty of cabs around if you didn't fancy walking. We were lucky with the weather, and had use of sun bed chairs provided for sitting out in the beautiful gardens. I think the shower facility could do with upgrading in bathroom 3, which is the ensuite to bedroom 3 with the four poster bed. Overall, though, everyone had a fantastic time and we loved our stay at Singleton Manor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing