We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hannibal Escape Room”
Review of The Lockey

The Lockey
Ranked #4 of 44 Fun & Games in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: ESCAPE ROOMS are a unique type of entertainment, immersing you in a whole new experience. Instead of being an observer of the game, you are actually part of the story. It challenges you to make fast decisions, and pay attention to small details. You need to solve a set of puzzles to unravel the mysteries. It will hold you captive unless you work as a team to earn your freedom. About us: The owners' motivation behind creating 'The Lockey' was due to a passion for live entertainment and providing unforgettable experiences. The first room to be created was Case 47, which is a detective story, where you play as an MI6 agent. A few months later our second escape room, Hannibal Lecter, was in the making providing a different genre of game to choose from. This is a horror game based on the famous psychopath of the same name. ​ Following the success of these escape room in August 2017, we opened our third room, Ace Ventura followed by VR Universe in December.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We did the Hannibal escape room as a group of 6, it was actually a lot fun. There are 3 rooms as part of this escape and we started off all being locked up in different cages. The puzzles are quite well thought out, they aren't easy but they aren't really hard either so with a bit of communication and the odd tip you should be able to do it.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank petegelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelockey, Manager at The Lockey, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Hi Pete, thank you for your lovely review! We're stoked you all enjoyed it! As we prefer to keep the insides of our escape rooms a mystery, I very kindly ask if you could please edit out your mentioning of the multiple rooms? The rooms always come as a great surprise for our players so we like to keep that part hidden ;) That'd be greatly appreciated, thanks Pete!

And thanks again for taking the time to leave a review! :)

Best Wishes,
The Lockey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ace ventura"
in 15 reviews
"escape room"
in 37 reviews
"great fun"
in 12 reviews
"set the scene"
in 3 reviews
"small team"
in 2 reviews
"other companies"
in 2 reviews
"guy who runs"
in 2 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 2 reviews
"great game"
in 2 reviews
"special effects"
in 2 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 4 reviews
"groupon voucher"
in 2 reviews
"well thought out"
in 2 reviews
"birthday treat"
in 2 reviews
"visited bournemouth"
in 2 reviews
"rainy day"
in 2 reviews
"hannibal"
in 39 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 138 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2018

Felt very welcome there and great puzzles in the escape room really worth the money and a lot of effort has gone into it

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelockey, Manager at The Lockey, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Thank you so much Richard! We really appreciate that. We have indeed worked hard on these rooms to make sure that the delivery and lead up to each clue keeps the players on their feet, challenged whilst following along to the story.

We hope to see you back!

Many thanks,
The Lockey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

Yesterday we went to The Lockey for the VR Universe escape room.

We arrived at the premises on Commercial road to be told that we were at the wrong place, and that the place we needed to be was a 10 minute walk away. I at first thought I must have be daft in mistaking where the room was but we were informed 4 other groups that day had made the same mistake. If its a common error, this should be addressed and made clearer at the time of booking.

On arrival we were treated by a very friendly host, however he was obviously hosting other rooms that were in play and had to keep running off to give clues to teams. We have been to 7 other escape rooms previously and we have always been given a team brief, and back story on the room we would be entering.

VR Universe is not an escape room... it is an opportunity to experience playing on a VR game. Something I would not if I'd known paid £20 for. When we started to play the game, the host informed us that if we get bored he has some shooting games we could play on. Whilst this is kind, we didn't book to do an escape room, to play on shooting games.

The whole experience was very disappointing, and I think that is needs to be made clearer on the room description that this is not an escape room.

I feel mislead and out of pocket, very disappointing.

Thank MrsLefty1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelockey, Owner at The Lockey, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Keep Talking & Nobody Explodes

You are trapped in a virtual room with a ticking time bomb full of different lights and switches. You will explode unless the team of exerts give you the instructions to defuse the bomb by deciphering the information found in the bomb defusal manual. But there’s a catch: the experts can’t see the bomb, so everyone will need to talk it out – fast!

This is the Game for which you booked for.

Just to clear your firs point when you received a Booking conformation you should read it properly because on it you have our two locations which tells you where to go.
Second there is nowhere written that VR Universe is a ESCAPE ROOM I think you mist this because of not reading properly

I explained you how to play the game and after you supposed to play by your self. That I came in to check if you are alright and read the instructions properly and understand the puzzles of the Game and after run off again, it is normal because it is NOT a ESCAPE ROOM
If you would book one of our Escape rooms you would also have a team brief and no one would come in to check you like in other 7 escape rooms to which you have been before.

Just a advise for the future for you read carefully the Booking conformation.
If you are disappointed don't run away and tell to people that everything is OK. Talk about straightaway, I'm as the Owner would always find a compromise if you would tell me that you have Booked the wrong Experience

"I feel mislead and out of pocket, very disappointing." I'm feel more disappointed then you, about this sentence because you haven't done nothing to change something on this situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

Booked for my son's 12th birthday treat. All boys had a great time. They found it a little tricky, but the guy that runs it gave them a few clues to help them out. Overall, they enjoyed it and have asked to do another one!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Sharen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelockey, Manager at The Lockey, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Hi Sharen, thank you very much for your review! We do always advise that an adult accompany kids aged 12 and under as the puzzles can be quite challenging, but they still always manage to have a great time with a little extra help from our Game Master! Let us know what we can do to reach 5 stars! We appreciate all feedback :D

We look forward to having them back!

Take Care,
The Lockey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2018

Myself and my partner had a day off together and decided to give escape rooms a go. We booked case 47 and then Hannibal later on the same day. So much fun, even with just 2 of us. Nothing is what it seems and try not to think too much into things is the only advise I will give. Big thumbs up for a great afternoons fun

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelockey, Manager at The Lockey, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Thank you for your review Jane! We're one of the few Escape Rooms that can accommodate only 2 people and you're a great example of how well the rooms can still run with just the two! They're obviously a little more challenging with less brains in the room but still always a great time. We're so glad to hear you both enjoyed yourselves!

We hope to see you back for Ace Ventura or a Virtual Reality Experience!

Many thanks,
The Lockey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lockey also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Lockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing