We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very classy B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed & Breakfast by the Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Ranked #1 of 145 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very classy B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights during our trip from New Zealand and were delighted with the very warm reception from John and Chris - our room (Room 2) was perfect with very comfortable bed, excellent heating and a very modern bathroom - all spotlessly clean.
Breakfasts were exceptional with many options all included in tariff. Very good parking, very quiet and outstanding value for money. Easy stroll to beach and supermarket and quick drive to the delightful town of Christchurch. Would be very happy to stay again and would highly recommend it. John recommends the nearby L'Assiette restaurant which we tried - we had an outstanding meal there!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
242
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Just returned from an all too brief return trip to B&BBTB. So wonderful to take a friend and feel confident that we will get a super greeting, comfy clean well kitted out room and divine breakfast, now in their new breakfast conservatory which is just plain lovely!
John and Chris are superb at their job, and never make you feel like it is just a job. You know they genuinely love people staying with them and enjoying their superior product.
Forget the big hotels, forget the other B&B's, I'm back there again in 2 weeks to show it off to another friend. Bed and Breakfast by the Beach is the ONLY place i would stay when visiting Bournemouth and surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allvox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fashionflyer1
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I visited this B&B for romantic break with my boyfriend in February. We wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of London and this idillic little place is a gem. The rooms, service and food is so much more personal than any big hotel could be.

I almost don't want to tell people about it and keep it my little secret!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fashionflyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The fact I've stayed here 10 or 11 times in the past year is testament to how wonderful this B&B really is. It's a 5 min walk from a superb sandy beach, has shops and restaurants nearby and you are hosted by the fun and glamorous Chris and John. Chris is short for Christine, just in case you were wondering ;) Oh, and I forgot to say, the food is divine too!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleybell9, Owner at Bed & Breakfast by the Beach, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank you Claire we have really enjoyed your visits here while on Business in Bournemouth. Good luck with the Job in Australia and look forward to one day meeting your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed at this beautiful B&B after working in the area and needed somewhere to stay overnight, the room was extremely well decorated, the bed was soft, the bathroom was clean and all your teas and coffees were catered for in the room. slept like a baby!! in the Morning breakfast was exceptional and i was greeted by the owner Chris, she was cheerful and informative about the area, her breakfast was very very very good with lots of choice. i was made to feel welcome and would not hesitate to book there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank borderbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

A fantastic weekend in the best accommodation we have ever found. Lovely rooms, great breakfast and brilliant hosts Chris and John. Can't be bettered.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

This B & B is fantastic. It is easily the standard of a five star hotel, with the rooms having quality fittings and extra touches galore. The position is great being five minutes walk from Southbourne beach which is at the quieter end of Bournemouth. The couple who run it are charming, very attentive without being overpowering and the breakfast choice was amazing, all from local produce. We will definitely be going baack.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms - some have a full bathroom with separate shower, some just a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RomeoJuliet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
5.1 km away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
4.3 km away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
6.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
4.8 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.4 km away
Beach Lodge Guest House
Beach Lodge Guest House
#2 of 145 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast by the Beach

Property: Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Address: 7 Burtley Road | Burtley Manor, Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Channel 4 'Four in a bed,' We are superbly situated 200 meters from the beach on a very quiet road. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast By The Beach Hotel Bournemouth
Bed And Breakfast By The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing