We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langtry Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel with lots of character. The beds were super soft and cosy, bathroom was immaculate and an amazing shower with jacuzzi bath. Lots of choices at breakfast time too.
Only criticism would be that we were room 1 the very first room in the hotel with the reception just outside the door. Could hear conversations and people coming and going durning the night. But overall it was a lovely stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank lauratho1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
There are newer reviews for Langtry Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017

This hotel has been recently refurbished. The updating has not upset the character of the place. The rooms are very traditional and cosy yet modern too. Everything about it suits me as I like somewhere with atmosphere when I go for a relaxing break alone from time to time . The restaurant and service was excellent. The managers and staff were very polite and accommodating, It has plenty of parking and is within walking distance of the beach and town centre.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Ellamaria00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Very quaint boutique hotel, and full of history of Lily Langtry. Room was large and very nicely decorated, bed was very comfortable. Small bathroom with toiletries provided. Small bar available, but not really a bar area. Breakfast was extremely good, with a wide choice of breakfast dishes available, for example, I had eggs benedict and it was delicious. You can easily walk into Boscombe from the hotel, but is a fair way from Bournemouth town centre on foot, but only a few minutes drive into the town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

We chose this hotel for a recent weekend away as we were attending a local wedding. Having poured over Trip Advisor room tips, decided to go for Lily's Room as the Kings Room was unavailable. When we arrived it appeared that the Kings Room was empty but I think they get a few cancellations so worth checking when you arrive if you want the upgrade. Lily's room has a lovely view of the garden from the main window and a small balcony with table and chairs. The bath is in the bedroom which is fine, however there's nowhere to put your shampoos etc so they ended up in the bath or on the floor which is a bit inconvenient. The ensuite WC and wash basin are inside what can only be described as a cupboard it was so small! The bedroom is furnished with a lovely four poster bed which was very comfortable. The breakfast is excellent, the best hotel breakfast I've ever had. It was served quickly and they got our order right first time. We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening and needed to eat very early. We were served quickly. The food was OK but I wouldn't rush back. I had the chicken breast which had a Provençal sauce over it, but it hadn't been cooked in it as it had no real flavour. My husband had breast of duck. However, this was just a sliver of duck and not a whole breast which was disappointing, but the prices of the dishes probably reflected the quality. Couldn't fault any of the staff, restaurant waiting staff were very friendly and courteous. Reception staff helpful both before arrival in arranging transport for our evenings out and while we were there. The night porter was a lovely Scottish gentleman who was friendly and welcoming.
In general the hotel is comfortable but it is very tired and needs a considerable amount of money spent on the general decoration and cleanliness. Whilst the rooms on the surface were clean, if you looked closely there were dusty corners and surfaces in areas hidden by furniture or curtains that really needed attention. When sitting out on the balcony it was evident that the outside paintwork needed some serious maintenance. Spend some of the money that clients pay to stay there and bring the whole place up to a more acceptable standard. The rooms aren't cheap but you're trading off your reputation and history rather than the standard of the hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank June A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night with wife. Rooms are very comfortable. Although rooms 14,15 very hot as at the top. Weather also hot. Staff friendly. Good quality breakfast. Hotel steeped in history. With links to royalty. Convenient bar. A little way from seafront. Enjoyed our stay. Would return.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank kkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Booked last minute via hotels.com and arrived 2 hours after booking.
We only needed a basic room, but the room was nice and clean and hotel in a good location. Just a short walk to where we wanted to go. We needed to be out by 07:45 in the morning so helped ourself to cereal and were served coffee and toast very quickly. Hot/cooked breakfast was available but we didn't have time on this occasion.

The only thing I wasn't happy about was the height of the bathroom mirror. I'm only 5'2" and so I couldn't see the mirror as it was too high.

Smaller hotels like this get overlooked by large chains but I'll be going back to Langtry Manor.

We paid £85 for their cheapest room, which was just what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Comfytibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

have just returned from having afternoon edwardian tea for two. absolutely lovely, there were a couple of tables being served. it was truly delightful and one of the nicest i have had. a really good selection of sandwiches which included egg mayonnaise, chicken with mayonnaise, salmon cucumber, ham, cheddar and pickle and cheese with cranberries, warmed scones, clotted cream and jam, as well as some lovely cakes, including chocolate brownie, a sponge and a sort of almond bakewell, as well as a portion of creamy lemon mousse with raspberry. as much tea and coffee as you wanted. well well worth a visit. lovely surroundings and a nice little exhibition upstairs of lillie langtry memorabilia. a lovely couple of hours spent in gorgeous surroundings. ohh plenty of parking too.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank CathS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.2 km away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.6 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
162 reviews
0.1 km away
Derby Manor
Derby Manor
#1 of 67 in Bournemouth
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 67 in Bournemouth
902 reviews
0.7 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,522 reviews
1.7 km away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langtry Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtry Manor Hotel

Address: 26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $118 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langtry Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langtry Manor was built in 1877 by Edward VII for his mistress Lillie Langtry. It was an extremely elegant and luxurious home and served as their hideaway and love nest. Following substantial re-development the Hotel is now one of Bournemouth’s finest and most welcoming hotels. Our staff pride themselves on their service and attention to detail and look forward to welcoming you to the peace, comfort and heritage of Langtry Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Langtry Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langtry Manor
Langtry Manor Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing