We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I had a two night stay at the Menzies Carlton in January.The hotel itself could do with some refurbing (Curtains are tired and need replacing,and taps and pipes in the bathroom need de scaling),but other than that what a lovely hotel to stay in.We had not booked a sea view room,but on arrival that is what we got,and it was a great view and unexpected.The check in was instant and the reception staff where very helpful and polite.
The service was excellent the food fantastic, and the overall feel of the Hotel was great ( a proper English Hotel). I would deffinately reccomend this Hotel to anyone, and very much look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

A long weekend in Feb 2012 and a group away for a ''Ladies weekend'', it had to be good, and it was in every possible way!!!! Unbelievable rooms, all spacious, well laid out and well furnished everywhere in the Hotel. Excellent food all day everyday, breakfast, snacks or a banquet, nothing left to chance. Best of all was the staff, regardless of their role, they were fantastic, attentive and aware, polite yet friendly with time to chat, very efficient especially our 2 favourites who were always there for us. You want that birthday cake for that special person, just ask and it can be there. Do yourselves a favour - book in for a special experience. Thanks to all who looked after us so well - we will be back.

Room Tip: If you have any issues with short flights of steps, discuss this when booking your rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank york56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I genuinely have to say what a fantastic hotel this is. We came down with our 11month old daughter and stayed in a family room, which we were upgraded too. I honestly cannot fault this hotel in anyway. The staff were just so nice, polite and extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was just perfect. The selection from the self serve continental breakfast was excellent and if there was not something there then they would go and get it for you (thank you to Serge for this!) The full english was also great quality. The ethos and feel of the hotel is warm, relaxing and comfortable and a nice touch with the open gas fire. Rather relaxing sitting in the arm chairs and reading the paper. The family room is a great size and perfect for a family. It was clean and tidy with large radiators to keep the chill off. Nice touch with two tv's; one in each room! We also ate in the restaurant in the evening and the ceasar salad was the best one I’ve ever had! Compliments to the chef. We used the gym and pool facilities and our daughter loved splashing about. Nice to have dry towels on tap! Would have stayed in the pool longer if it were just a couple of degrees warmer. I made use of the sauna, which was just what I needed to unwind. Prior to our stay we did read some previous negative comments about the hotel which to be fair is not justified and proves that you need to try it for yourself rather than rely on such petty comments. Thank you to all at Menzies Carlton Hotel...you we see us again for sure!

Room Tip: Try and get a table by the windows for breakfast so you look out at the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

16 of us (6 rooms) stayed for one night on Saturday 4th Feb - it couldn't have been better for us. The lounges were perfect for so many of us and the staff were great. The fire alarm went off in the night (no fire) but the manager couldn't have done more to rectify the situation and letters were put through all our doors in the morning to apologise and offer late departure and extended breakfast.
Breakfast was superb, rooms all great - where do the negative comments come from - don't listen to them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We had an excellent weekend break. The staff were very helpful. We had dinner both nights we stayed and the food standard was very high. The breakfasts were excellent too, and we would recommend the hotel and restaurant to everybody. It is the first time we have stayed in a Menzies hotel and were impressed with everything and everyone at the Carlton. Looking forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatandAllan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed for a long weekend and the moment we walked in the customer service shone through the receptionist ensured we had a quiet room as there was a wedding taking place and the room was lovely (209) could not fault anything and I have stayed in many hotels over the years, the dinner menu was very varied and the food was brilliant staff alway's checking if all was okay.
The leisure facilities were clean and the jacuzzi was warm and so was the indoor pool *****
I really cannot understand where the negative comment's come from.
I would like to thank Emma for her excellent costomer service ensuring we had a perfect weekend,
C Harrison.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are to die for and sometimes it is possible to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I did enjoy this hotel ,with its sea views and comfortable lounge. However, the taps in the bathroom had not been cleaned for years. The bathrooms and plumbing need upgrading

Room Tip: check the bathrooms and make sure it is clean. Some of the bathrooms not up to standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.3 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,065 reviews
1.3 km away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.4 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3DN, England (Formerly Menzies Carlton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $108 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to epic locations and dramatic seafront views, nothing gets much better than the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton. We’re right in the heart of town, so when you can tear your eyes away from the beautiful view or tear yourself away from the stretch of golden beach, then we’re also walking distance to the town centre, to popular attractions such as Bournemouth Oceanarium, BH2 Leisure Complex and Bournemouth International Centre – a hotspot for major conferences and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Carlton Bournemouth
Hotel Menzies Carlton
Carlton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing