We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
sherborne
1 review
“our stay”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

spent one night at the connaught hotel in Bournemouth staff made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.Hope to go too more shows in Bournemouth and would not stay any where else

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Anthony O

Delighted to read that your entire stay, including the show, was a great success and thank you for your very kind review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,822
    698
    178
    49
    26
See reviews for
390
1,522
126
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here for valentines weekend the staff made our stay great they were very freindly. And the food was wonderful and lots of it. I would like to thank even more the head waiter can not think of is name so sorry but he was very good to me has I am in a wheelchair. Thanks again for a wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindakinguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Lindakinguk

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and Nicki Rutigliano, our Maitre d', send his thanks for your very kind comments.

Best wishes and we hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed at the Connaught for one night and was most impressed. Staff were all friendly and polite. Nice to see a uniform. Food in the hotel restaurant was superb, and again the staff most attentive especially the Maitre d. Room lovely the only thing that spoilt it was the noise as people walked down the corridor and the wall to next door must be very thin. Good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Nigel304

Nick Rutigliano, our Maitre d', was especially delighted to read your very kind review, thank you. My apologies for the noise in the corridor which I hope didn't spoil your overall enjoyment.

Best wishes and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Spa day was excellent.
Staff could not have been more welcoming/ helpful/friendly.
Pool and steam facilities very good.
Lovely restaurant meal with brilliant service.
Massage was lovely.
Did not want to leave the hotel!

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelbug240831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Travelbug,

Thank you for your very kind review and in particular for your comments regarding your experiences in our Blue Water Spa and Leisure Club. There is no doubt that these pampering stays are hugely popular with a day of total relaxation followed by a superb dinner in Blakes - glad you both enjoyed it.

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley by Gatwick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We had three nights at The Connaught whilst in Bournemouth visiting family. The staff & the food (especially the evening meal) are excellent. Good to have leisure facilities in house whilst a convenient location for sightseeing.
Many thanks

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jembass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Short, sweet, to the point and just right, Jembass - thank you very much!!

Best wishes for 2012 to you all.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Beautiful hotel, excellent rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean hotel, facilites were wonderful and the food was delicious, a little bit pricey, but definitely worth it. Not far from the town, and the sea front which is an added bonus. Would most certainly recommend the hotel to anybody looking to stay in Bournemouth. Been here twice, firstly we stayed in the Lodge which is attached to the main hotel but we stayed in the main hotel this time round, and much preferred the main hotel, worth paying that little bit extra for the luxury. Very happy with our stay and we're hoping to come back in July 2012. Thoroughly enjoyed

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welshy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear ToriaJayne

Outstanding review, thank you!! We are very proud of our restaurant, Blakes, and, most importantly, of the great team of people we have in both the kicthen and the restaurant. We were honoured the other day to host a dinner party for Katherine Jenkins and her entourage, who were performing at the BIC, and they even gave the Chef a standing ovation at the end of the evening - simply wonderful!!

We look forward to seeing you in July.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed at The Connaught for 2 nights in December 2011 in order to attend a family funeral in the area. Due to work commitments, my husband was unable to join me so I booked a single room. A lovely hotel, the kind and friendly staff did as much as they could to make my stay a pleasant experience, especially as I was on my own. My room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast in the Blakes restaurant was plentiful and varied with a range of cereals, fruit etc. and a full English breakfast that was well cooked and 'piping hot.' On the first night of my stay, my cousin and his wife joined me for an evening meal in Blakes and the food was superb. I would recommend this restaurant for an evening out.
I have again booked to stay at The Connaught in March 2012 - this time with my husband too - and I am very much looking forward to it. I would highly recommend Best Western The Connaught Hotel for either a hotel break or an evening meal out with friends or family. Just one further point - I thought the room rate was very reasonable, especially as a full breakfast each morning was included in the price.

Room Tip: Single room above Reception is an 'L' shaped room and is spacious and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Karen R

Given the circumstancesof your visit it was most kind of you to write such a wonderful and comprehensive review of your stay with us, thank you. I look forward to meeting up with you both when you return in March.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.7 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,388 reviews
1.2 km away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
2.3 km away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.3 km away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing