We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Staff friendly polite and welcoming.
Room clean warm and nice.
Plenty of tea, coffee etc to allow more than 1 drink and biscuits were a nice extra.
Food well presented fresh and tasty.
Quiet area.
Easy to find via sat nav.
Unfortunately no time to use all the lovely facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Thanks very much Lesley P for your very kind review - hopefully on your next visit you will manage to set aside some time to take full advantage of some of the great facilities we have on offer.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,885)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,364 - 2,370 of 2,885 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

An excellent hotel with good location,comfortable room and lovely pool facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear Scantle

Short, sweet and to the point - thank you very much for the full marks all round.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for one night after going to a concert at the B.I.C, which was a convenient 10 minute walk away.
Very comfortable superior room, clean, spacious.
We used the pool which was also very nice. Staff all very chatty and friendly.
Breakfast was lovely, the local sourced sausages were really tasty, all nice and hot buffet, served to you.
Would defineltey reccomend stay.

Room Tip: Parts of the hotel are quite old, so some of the stairs are a little uneven for older people with an...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mum1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear Mum1234

I was delighted to read just how much you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and I hope the concert was equally as good!! The hotel's origins date back to 1850 but anyone with a mobility problem is well catered for by a modern lift to all floors and there is a separate, dedicated lift that takes Guests from reception directly to the spa and leisure club.

Best wishes and thank you for your very generous review.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed for valentines weekend in the lodge and the rooms were basic but very clean and tidy with plenty of space for storage and clothes. The bathroom was newly fitted and the hallways were being decorated during our stay, improvements are ongoing. The hotel spa facilities were great and the spa staff were very friendly and helpful, the spa was very clean and fresh towels were provided to us all. The jacuzzi was lovely and warm!! We stayed for dinner in Blakes and the staff were FANTASTIC, we have a little boy who has Autism and had to ask for our table of 5 to be moved away from the band to a quiet spot, we asked reception and this was seen to straight away with no fuss at all, he also has a very limited diet and his food choices were not on the childrens menu. When I asked if he could have what he wanted it was seen to straight away again with no fuss, everyone in the restaurant was brilliant with our boys. We felt very comfortable and welcome in Blakes and the food was AMAZING, it really was 5 star!! The breakfast was lovely and piping hot the coffee was fab. We were so pleased with the staff first and foremost and the food in the restaurant, that we have booked 4 rooms for christmas and we are bringing all the family.We cannot wait, we are so excited to be sharing our chirstmas with everyone at the Connaught this year, they really are a family friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Book a hotel room, I hear they are nicer.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Samhawks

Thank you very much for your very comprehensive review and also for taking the trouble to write a review for Blakes Restaurant which is very much appreciated. I was truly delighted to read how well the team looked after you and your family and it is great news that you have decided to join us for Christmas - a very popular time at the Connaught!!

Best wishes and thank you again

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We only stayed a night but wished it had been longer. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially so in the restaurant. Rooms were good with all facilities. The evening meal was absolutely superb; we couldn't fault it! Breakfast was a real treat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear John28

Thank you for your first class review and we hope the next time you stay with us it will be for at least a couple of days - it will give you an excellent opportunity to take full advantage of all the facilities on offer, especially our very popular Spa and Leisure Club.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We have just spent three days staying in this gorgeous hotel and we absolutely loved it. My wife and i stayed over valentines day and it has really made our honeymoon. The staff are extremely friendly and the restaurant staff are able to cope with a huge influx of people at a certain time of day. The restaurant manager Nicky runs a tight ship and it shows however he is friendly and unflappable. The Chef David did us proud...Evening meal lived up to it's AA rosette award.Definitely worth the gratuity!! We liked the little "extras" in the bathroom with the standard of decor finish in the bathroom being high...in other places for the same money th grouting has been discoloured etc ,etc...We have yet to check out the pool and gym facilities but i am sure they will be of a high standard. A street view from our window nothing to right home about but not really bothered to be honest.A great place for our anniversary...Thanks to everyone at Connaught

Room Tip: Expect some noise from next room light going on, muffled voices...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Simon H

"What a Review!!" It really is nice to know that we added that little bit of icing to make your honeymoon really special, memories of which I am sure will stay with you forever!! Hopefully you will spend you anniversary with us next year.

Good luck to you both and thank you for taking the trouble to write this beautiful review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Just back from a weekend break at the Connaught and what a treat. Lovely welcome and full explanation regarding the Spa, restaurant, etc by the receptionist on duty. Went for a walk, came back for a swim and the sauna. Down for dinner early with our 4 year old daughter in the main restaurant, delicious food, interesting wine list and very attentive, friendly service. Could not do enough to make us enjoy our stay. Bedroom with balcony, hot powerful shower and comfy beds. Will definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Marcmelo

Reception were very pleased, as was I, to read your super review. It's nice to see that you enjoyed everything that we had to offer - thank you very much indeed and we hope to see you all again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.7 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,524 reviews
1.8 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
162 reviews
0.6 km away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.4 km away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,079 reviews
1.8 km away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $128 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing