We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned comfort”
Review of Hinton Firs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hinton Firs Hotel
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned comfort”
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We have stayed here before and although I believe there has been a change in management, the hotel still seems much as it always has been - slightly old-fashioned but clean and comfortable. We find the location good, as we like to walk and don't mind the steep slopes - we can go either to Boscombe or Bournemouth centre, or down to the sea front.
The room was comfortable, if in need of a small repairs; the food was excellent but the service was rather slow and the serving staff, who were all charming, seemed to find it hard to cope with a large party. The indoor pool was beautifully warm to bathe in, but the surrounding needed a few repairs.
This is how it is - it could be a lovely hotel, but there are 'buts' in every category. It needs a number of 'tweaks' to raise it's profile , so overall at the moment it can only be 'average'.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elanora1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    111
    94
    45
    42
See reviews for
89
156
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Helpful staff and good food made the stay we had quite good.The room I was in was in need of a general makeover particularly the shower facilities but you get what you pay for.One particular aspect you notice very soon after ariving is how warm it is in the hotel,you need the windows of your room open to make it pleasant. We did not spend a fortune.As golfers we tend to have breakfast early and spend the day on the golf course.On returning it is great to have a good meal waiting.The quaility of the food all week was good.All in all the party I was with were treated well and we had a pleasant stay.
I have no doubt that we would revisit if we get to play in Bournemouth again.

Room Tip: If a shower is important to you check before you book that the room you are allocated has a good wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Hotel is well located as its a 10 minute walk to the beach via a steep path. No sea views though as it is two blocks back. Hotel is perfect if you are not demanding and are over 70. Restaurant is run by teenage girls and breakfast organisation and quality is appalling. Rooms are large and comfortable and I am sure that many have nice vies. Ours had views directly onto a car park. I suppose if you are paying £45 a night this would be a good option. Any more and I suggest you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adricons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed in three single rooms which were quite pokey but clean. The bathrooms in particular need refurbishment - the showers were dreadful. The service at breakfast was very chaotic and slow. There's also a crazy charging policy which means that, even though I chose egg on toast with mushrooms instead of a full English breakfast, i was charged extra for a teaspoonful of over-cooked mushrooms (i complained and the charge was waived). Other things seem a bit stingy - e.g. no replenishment of biscuits on the room tea-trays. On a positive note, it really was very friendly - mostly as many of the guests had been there on numerous occasions. The pools, table tennis and pool table were welcome although the outside pool looked like it needed a lick of paint.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkeyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We returned to the Hinton Firs for another Air Show weekend Break, three nights bed, breakfast and Dinner. The Staff were as helpful as ever and we even had the same room as last year which was very clean and comfortable.
The food was excellent and the service very good indeed.
The Hinton Firs is a very friendly,calm and peaceful Hotel with many guests returning year after year. We have stayed there for family reunions as well as weekend breaks and everyone wants to return. The situation is perfect for the Airshow or just walking along the beach or clifftop where the are beautiful views of the Bay . It is excellent value and we shall
be booking again for next year very soon.




be booking again very soon







The Hinton Firs is a very friendly

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I have stayed in this hotel for many years and some things at this hotel have not changed; the food remains excellent, the staff friendly, the atmosphere quaint and the rooms and communal areas clean and tidy. The decor has significantly been modernised, especially in the Reception area and the bar. However, there are areas that have been sadly neglected and give a negative impression to what is otherwise an exceptional hotel. The outdoor pool used to look so clean and inviting. This year I noticed that the steps and the floor of the pool were covered in brown coating. I also noted that the ceiling in the bar area and indoor pool was badly damaged in places. It was also extremely noticable that the hotel is completely short staffed! On one occasion, there was only ONE barperson serving drinks and lunches for all the residents! Our order came without chips and when we did remind her, she produced what were obviously recooked chips. Such a short cut taken with food preparation showed how corners were being cut and standards slipping.

The bedrooms are slightly old fashioned but I think this is due to the average age of the resident! My only complaint was the heat in the bedroom. It was stifling, and there was no fan available in the room.

The hotel manager seemed very keen and motivated to deliver great customer service. I have faith that he will be able to bring the hotel up to the standards expected by its (perhaps younger) discerning guests. I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campervanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Don't be fooled by the smart entrance and public rooms this hotel needs some serious work on it's exterior. We had 2 rooms on the top floor at the rear of the hotel,the rooms were rather small and extremely hot even though the weather at the time was cool.The windows were filthy and the window frames were old and tired,the guttering above our room had fallen off.
On our last night I was woken by tapping sounds from the ceiling and soon realised that the roof was leaking in several places my mother who was in an adjacent room had rainwater coming through the ceiling of the bathroom.
I reported this to the receptionist in the morning,she expressed surprise but judging by the crack in the bathroom ceiling I don't think this was a new occurance.
On a positive note the food was good and the staff courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 km away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,996 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,522 reviews
0.9 km away
Chine Hotel
Chine Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
593 reviews
0.2 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
2.2 km away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hinton Firs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hinton Firs Hotel

Property: Hinton Firs Hotel
Address: 9 Manor Road, Bournemouth BH1 3ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hinton Firs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to offer you a warm welcome to Hinton Firs Hotel, set in tranquil gardens on Bournemouth's prestigious East Cliff, just a few minutes' walk from the sea. Our traditional three star hotel is family owned, which means that we create an ideal atmosphere to ensure that your stay is a real home from home. We take pride in offering a truly personal service, and firmly believe that our hospitality is unrivaled. With beautiful beaches a stone's throw away, two theatres on the doorstep, as well as excellent shopping and many leisure activities, Hinton Firs Hotel is the perfect place to explore, be entertained or just unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hinton Firs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinton Firs Bournemouth
Hinton Firs Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Hinton Firs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing