We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,901)
Filter reviews
3,902 results
Traveller rating
2,018
1,242
401
146
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,018
1,242
401
146
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decomirabelle restaurantbrian robbinssea viewsister hotel next dooroutdoor poolpublic areaschristmas partytravelzoo dealsunday lunchthree starthe cliffcar parkcourse dinnernight breakair showshort break
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 3,902 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

It's true that home is not a place, it's a feeling! The Cumberland hotel makes everybody feel at home! Wonderful service, attention to small details, amazing afternoon tea, big and fully renovated rooms, rich and tasteful breakfast, delicious menu at a restaurant! Look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Natalia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P P, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Natalia K,

A wonderful review for a wonderful stay. Your comments and feedback are making every single member of staff smiling here at The Cumberland Hotel. It's so nice to read our guests had such an amazing experience during their stay. I am sure this was only one of the many to come. We are looking forward on welcoming you very soon again in our property for another memorable stay.

Kind regards
Paris Panagopoulos
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

We stayed for 2 nights on a Travelzoo special deal. The hotel has been refurbished in a deco style with a very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and professional. The food was excellent with a good choice for the set menu (which was included in the first night's stay and offered at a reasoanable price for the 2nd night). Happy hour for gin and cocktails was a real bonus.

Breakfast was an excellent buffet and items were regularly replenished. Tea and coffee was poured at your table which unfortunately meant sometimes it was getting cold whilst you were collecting food and we did have to wait a while for top ups as there was a large wedding party staying at the same time.

However, the wedding did not detract from our stay although there was music playing until late evening. It was very well run and managed.

Our only negative comment would be that the room was 'cosy' but adequate as was the bathroom and we were located above the laundry so there was some noise during the night. The bed was not the most comfortable I have slept in. However, there was the option to upgrade at an additional cost so you get what you pay for. I would recommend a seaview room for the summer months as it would be nice to wake up to the ocean rather than a car park. Again, that was our choice.

Parking was very limited and difficult to manoeuvre a large car. We were lucky enough to find a space in the sister hotel next door. The alternative would be to pay park in the road which would be expensive for 2 days.

The weather was dreadful for most of the time but the shops and town centre are only a 10 minute walk away.

All in all a very pleasant stay and definitely excellent value for the money. Would recommend to others and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Sea view would be best. The basic twin/doubles are small and the bed was not particularly comfortable. I would recommend upgrading.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank glenkemp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P P, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear glenkemp10,

Thank you very much for your review for The Cumberland Hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and helpful for improving both our facilities and services. I am very happy to read you had a very nice overall stay at The Cumberland. We are looking forward on welcoming you again in our property.

Kind regards
Paris Panagopoulos
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We’ve been to Bournemouth but this was definitely the best hotel there! Our room was good, it was facing the sea (upgrade supplement has to be paid).
I liked the bar area downstairs; had its own character. The pool outside looked very nice and clean but it was cold so couldn’t try it.
Parking seems to be a problem, as there are not too many spaces, but you can use the sister property’s car park, too.
Breakfast was also good.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lexy_baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P P, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Lexy_baker,

Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent visit at The Cumberland.

All your comments are well noted and appreciated. Customer service is of paramount importance at The Cumberland as such we thank you for acknowledging the services you received while being our guest.

Meanwhile, we look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Kind regards
Paris Panagopoulos
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Arrived a little early but our room was ready and the reception staff were friendly.
On arrival we noticed that there was a wedding at 2pm and that the hotel was obviously very busy as was the car park.
We managed to park at their sister hotel next door which was great, we were given a ticket for the car which gave free parking for the duration of our visit.
We visited the City centre which was a lovely 15 minute or so walk along to from the hotel.
On arrival back to the hotel, the wedding reception was in full swing and we retired to our room for a shower and then down for dinner.
The room, although quite small had everything we needed and the wifi was fine.
Our dinner was booked for 7.45pm and we were welcomed by the staff and chose a wine and then ordered our meal. The menu wasn't very exciting and we struggled to find something that we wanted, we both ended up with mushroom soup for starters, my wife had a trout dish for main and I had the braised steak.
The soup was just about okay but my braised beef was really tough, braised beef should fall apart after cooking whereas mine was really hard and not very enjoyable.
We both had ice cream complete with ice crystals which was dissapointing.
The service seemed very hurried and after sitting down at 7.45, our 3 course meal was over in just about 30 minutes.
The wedding reception disco was now in full swing, we relaxed in the bar for a drink before going back to the room. Even though we were on the second floor the bass line from the disco was quite loud, I did phone reception just after 11pm, not to complain but to ask what time the music would finish, we were told midnight which was fine and it did but I just wish we had booked on another day.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P P, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear David R,

Thank you very much for your review and your valuable feedback. I am so sorry to hear you had these issues during your recent stay with us in The Cumberland. Guest experience is very important and we take guest's feedback very seriously. We will discuss everything you mentioned in our weekly management meeting so we can rectify any issues and be able to improve our facilities and services. We really hope to welcome you again in The Cumberland and offer you an even more enjoyable experience.

Kind regards
Paris Panagopoulos
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Lovely staff , nice views and central spot ! Very clean down stairs lovely atmosphere in bar lounge , room was one that needed a revamp but clean only thing was mattress may need an upgrade to a bit better quality one and if being really picky a wipe round balcony as we chose room for that feature . Would stay again !

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jwjc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P P, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear jwjc74,

Thank you very much for your review and your helpful feedback.
I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Cumberland. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Our team is on top of the issues you indicated in order to rectify them and avoid similar issues in the future. We really hope to welcome you soon again in our property and provide you with the best possible service. Always check our website for the best offers and deals.

Kind regards
Paris Panagopoulos
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews