We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,963)
Filter reviews
3,963 results
Traveller rating
2,051
1,257
409
149
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,051
1,257
409
149
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art deco mirabelle restaurant brian robbins sea view sister hotel next door outdoor pool christmas party public areas travelzoo deal sunday lunch the cliff car park course dinner night break air show sea front short break
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 3,963 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2018

A very comfortable, clean and spacious room at the Cumberland Hotel.
The breakfast was very hot, and plentiful. The hotel is art deco decorated.
The lift is a little small, and it may be difficult to get a wheelchair in, and I was not aware that an alternative lift was available, but I did not ask or require one.
The parking is limited, and parking in the road is expensive.

Room tip: there are balcony sea view rooms available
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dogrot1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris P, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear dogrot1959,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. It's so nice to read details regarding your stay in terms what you enjoyed the most and what we can do to improve our guest experience. We always take our guest feedback very seriously and always strive to deliver excellence. We really hope to welcome you back very soon and have the chance to offer you an even better experience.

Best regards
Paris Panagopoulos
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018

We got a great deal through Secret Escapes at this hotel and we were chuffed to bits. We went for a girlie weekend, had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the sea. Nice modern room, good size, nice shower. Loved the Art Deco type bar and restaurant and food was really good! Staff friendly and will definitely be going back. It was to celebrate my Birthday .

Room tip: Go fir a sea view with little balcony at the front of hotel
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris P, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Natalie L,

thank you very for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. I am so happy to read you had such a wonderful time during your stay with us. Guest experience always comes first and we very often go the extra mile in order to meet everyone's needs. We are looking forward on welcoming you back very soon!

Best regards
Paris Panagopoulos
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Booked a last minute Half Board weekend couldn't fault the hotel in anyway. Lovely room with balcony and seaview. Excellent service in the restaurant, bar and cafe. All food served was high quality and served promptly by friendly staff. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. So definitely will return.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nic_dyer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris P, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear nic_dyer123,

thank you very much for your review.
It's so nice to read you had such a nice time during your stay with us at The Cumberland.
We look forward to welcome you again in our property for another memorable stay!

Kind regards
Paris Panagopoulos
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

We booked directly with the hotel... It is worth noting that they offer free car parking if you book direct. The hotel is decorated in an art deco style, which we liked very much, but unfortunately they appeared to hv received a job lot of tacky Christmas trees. They were synthetic, gaudy and lots of them, completely ruining the lovely clean lines of the art deco decoration... Very tacky and in November?!
Our room wasn't ready but the reception staff were happy to look after our bags and when we arrived later they had been put in our room. The room was nice, but not fantastic... More 3 star than 4 star really. Tea and coffee, kettle and one biscuit, no fridge, but neat and tidy.
Ate in the restaurant overlooking the pool, excellent waiting staff and good food. Very attentive and helpful young waiter. Again just felt wrong having Christmas trees and decorations everywhere, but I guess that is just my opinion.
The lift fits three people and is extremely small.
Breakfast was very good. Self service, but good quality. Large selection of juices, good, fresh filter coffee. The cooked breakfast was fresh, hot and delicious. Fresh fruits were available too and pastries, toast etc.
All in all we had a good weekend, but the hotel doesn't offer the extras that other 4 star hotels do. But it is reasonably priced and I'm sure it looks very stylish without the Christmas trees!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wightflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris P, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Wightflyer,

Thank you very much for your review. I am really sorry to read that during your recent stay you didn't receive the proper service. Our guest’s feedback is very important for us and our guests experience our top priority. We always strive to deliver the best possible service. We have taken your feedback on board and we will discuss everything with our management team and also investigate your case in order to avoid similar issues in the future. We do hope to welcome you back so we will have the chance to make it up for you.

Kind regards
Paris Panagopoulos
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2018

This hotel does not make welcome coach parties for Turkey & Tinsel holidays.
Hotel is very clean and well decorated, only not a mince pie to be eaten, a Christmas carol to be sung and not a sign of Santa Claus visiting.
We are aware it is early only a tinsel & turkey hol is what was advertised and what was expected.
No entertainment in the hotel.
Food poor.

Room tip: Sea view rooms are always good to look out from.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sheila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris P, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Dear Sheila A,

Thank you very much for your review for The Cumberland Hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and helpful for improving both our facilities and services. We are looking forward on welcoming you again in our property.

Kind regards
Paris Panagopoulos
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews