We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Durley Grange Hotel
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Emma and the staff, as always, made us feel very welcome even though there were 30 of us in the family group and our age range was 13 weeks to 86 years. The hotel is comfortable and clean, and the food in the restaurant was very good. Again, catering for 30 of us, and the age range could not have been easy, but there was something on the menu for everyone and we all enjoyed it. We all enjoyed time in the pool.

Room Tip: The hotel has rooms to cater from singles to family of 6 for our group, everyone was comfortable and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christine3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is amazing, basically my 2nd home. We always same rooms, as they are great, we are back there is October and then Xmas. I often call in to say hi. I keep meaning to start going there to use swimming pool. I went there on my birthday with friends, I got a lovely surprise, bottle of bubbly on table and banners, then I got tray of cupcakes, plus pressies. Great day. I know we have been going hotel 14yrs as yesterday was my anniversary we even had our honeymoon there. The staff cannot do enough for us.
I cannot abide people that complain for no apparent reason. Food is smashing, you get so much choice, at times too many choices. We just love going to Durley Grange, will never stop.!!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Some times I find it quite difficult to write an objective TripAdvisor review if I feel the business in question has been particularly terrible. Mostly in this instance I don't
bother. However I feel I must in this instance.
Firstly Emma, Ivan, Sue and the staff at the Durley Grange are polite, friendly and kind hearted and strive to offer a good service. This is however where my praise for the hotel ceases. If any one reads my reviews you will see I travel quite a lot and in a range of hotels, so this is by no means someone writing a review having only stayed in 5* hotels and not understanding the limitations of 3*

Nothing in this hotel could be considered anything but appalling. The quality of the food is without doubt the worst I have ever experienced anywhere ever. The mattress was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on. The pool area is dirty and frankly unhygienic with dirty tiles, hair on the floor, filthy windows, rusty lights and dirt at the bottom of the jacuzzi. The quality of the room clean dreadful. In all, this is a hotel stuck in the early 1980s in every aspect and for what you get it is disgracefully colossally expensive.

It is as if no one in the business has looked at the decor, design or ambiance of a modern hotel of whatever star grading or has any expectation of what a modern traveller expects. I do realise that this hotel receives 5 star ratings and very positive reviews. I can only imagine it is from repeat customers who have not noticed the deterioration over time or ( and of course here is the problem with TA) from people who have in some way not experienced better.

If I was the person handing out star ratings I would struggle to give it 1*. It could with thought, care and money still be a nice hotel. But not currently!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank guyartall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Went for a weeks holiday in August, hotel is clean with very friendly staff, our family room could have done with a re paint, but overall very nice , the food is great with a good selection , and staff very accommodating for the kids tastes etc, hotel is pretty central in Bournemouth, probably 10-15 minute walk to town, and close enough to walk to the beach which is good , would stay there again, make use of over spill car park, as it is quieter than the hotel one which can get full !

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gareth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Booked here at last minute last weekend (air show) room was on top floor, clean, tidy, every thing we needed, comfortable but noisy bed, breakfast was awesome, all the staff are amazing nothing is to much trouble. Nice location everything you need, Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Through TripAdvisor we booked a 3 night break at the Durley Grange Hotel
We arrived soon after 3-00 pm and were welcomed at reception to be told our room was available
Although the room was small it was clean and tidy with an ensuite bathroom
The car park is small and very crowded
The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent
The swimming pool is quite small but the jacuzzi was neither warm nor functioning correctly,however the Sauna was very good
Overall the Hotel staff tried hard but we felt that the Hotel itself needs updating

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank O1145DTrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel with friendly staff. Breakfast was very good and catered for my gluten intolerance issues. Easy walk to the beach to watch the airshow took us about 10 mins. Would recommend this hotel and will hopefully be coming back nect year.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Clareyp75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 km away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
517 reviews
0.2 km away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#36 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,070 reviews
1 km away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
2.1 km away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
624 reviews
0.2 km away
Montague Hotel
Montague Hotel
#44 of 66 in Bournemouth
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durley Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durley Grange Hotel

Address: 6 Durley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $69 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Durley Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Durley Grange is a privately owned, family run hotel, conveniently situated in a quiet corner in the heart of Bournemouth’s prestigious West Cliff and within easy walking distance to the town centre, theatres, conference centre and award winning beaches. On arrival you are greeted by friendly reception staff who will assist and advise you with all of your enquires. In order that we provide the perfect holiday break for you we can also suggest places to visit and book tee off times for golfers and for special occasions discreetly arrange flowers and chocolates in the room. The hotel is personally overseen by our Proprietor, Hamid who prides himself on creating a relaxed and informal atmosphere for all his guests, many who visit us time and time again. All of the staff offer a warm welcome and hospitality with an eye for detail to ensure that the hotel becomes your home during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Durley Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing