We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
150
14
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
14
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar hen party fresh fruit salad cooked english slept like a log spent three nights boutique hotel memorable stay family room choice at breakfast street parking recommend staying here each morning breakfast was delicious a lovely place to stay excellent stay tea and coffee facilities
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 171 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this boutique B&B. We were at the top of the building and our room was on the small side but lovely. It had everything we needed for the weekend, including a jar of sweets! It was nice to have full sized soap and shower gel. The owner was really pleasant and breakfast was great - in fact much better than we have had in many 4* hotels in my opinion - freshly cooked to order, delicious fresh berries and yoghurts and local preserves and marmalades. There is a comfortable guest lounge with honesty bar. We really liked it here and would definitely stay again. The only thing I would consider is possibly staying in a larger lower room. It was very hot in our room (the weather was hot) and being in the eaves, the light wasn't great which didn't make it easy for applying makeup! But that is a small point rather than a criticism - maybe a brighter light in the room might help.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ciboney2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017

Very nice B&B, Steph was very helpful, the place was very clean and the breakfasts were very nice indeed, lovely fresh fruits and the cooked breakfasts were perfect (not greasy at all). Our room was very nice, bathroom a bit compact, but this is a Victorian Townhouse that has been converted to be a B&B so that is to be expected. Water pressure in shower a little weak, but overall, a very nice place to stay for a few nights, great location and I would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank achatter53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here just one night for a barbershop convention. Steph was very welcoming, showed us to a small but immaculate room on the third floor. The lilies on the staircase were fresh and gave a beautiful ambience to the communal areas. Breakfast was delicious. The coffee was a bit weak for our taste but Steph cheerfully fixed that. The fresh fruit was divine and I enjoyed my bacon and eggs. The location is great, convenient to the beach, BIC, restaurants and high street shops. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2017 via mobile

A group of me and my girlfriends decided to stay here for a hen do however we found although we'd paid 400 pounds the owner treated us like we were getting in her away. From shouting at the first girl who arrived you can't check in yet to demanding we clean up bottles from are own room otherwise there would be a charge. The breakfast finished at 9:30am which although we thought was early we went down happy to have it only to find that I a student could have made a better breakfast myself the coffee was bad and the bacon wasn't fully cooked. After we finished breakfast we went to enjoy our day out. Every Time we would see her we got a grunt or a nod. We found as well that in a room of four we had one toilet roll for the weekend which we had to share it went quickly meaning that we had to share with our girls in the room next door. Finally we found a broken glass on the floor when we got to the room which could have caused damage to anyone of us and potentially ruined the weekend.
However on a more positive note the beach was close and the room was pretty, however I will not be staying again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lynsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steph C, Owner at The Hedley Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

What a shame.
Mostly the guests are delightful and happy with their stay.
We have hosted many wonderful hen parties, birthday parties, anniversary parties, etc. We do however limit these bookings to an ‘exclusive hire’ basis and these have to be arranged directly with us. Our terms & web site details make clear that we do not allow hen or stag party bookings otherwise. At very least this is unfair on other guests staying at the house. It’s difficult to spot these unsuited bookings when made through online agencies. We do our best to contact people if we suspect it is a hen or stag party. We rely on guests contacting us to check group booking terms.

Our B&B room rates don’t allow for cleaning up after drinks parties in the rooms and we do reserve the right to charge a corkage fee for alcohol drunk on the premises not purchased from us. We rarely do this when guests are kind enough to clear away bottles and glasses.


Thankfully most guests are respectful and delightful and are warmly welcomed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2017

Had a glorious weekend staying at The Hedley Townhouse with 3 friends. A warm welcome from Steph. The bed was so comfy, slept like a log. A tasty Veggie brekkie, endless coffee, with fruit and cereal set us up for a glorious beach walk to Sandbanks and back through Mediterranean-esque woodland with blue skies and sea and tweeting birds - a great rejuvenating weekend, easy direct train from Oxford too. Went to the #GinFestival, #Conker Gin, the local #Dorset brew was a fav. Can't wait to head down again to the Hedley...

Room Tip: we stayed in family room on road side with window open, slept didn't notice much noise.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews