We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family run hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
Ranked #43 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here (sadly only for one night) whilst in the area for a short break. We have stayed in many hotels in this area and this is by far the most perfect for what we want!
We are a young(ish) couple who like peace and quiet and have preference to small friendly places. This did it all for us. Beautifully clean and a lovely comfy bed. Breakfast was excellent and certainly set us up for the day, more than adequate for what we paid.
Shops, restaurant's and sea front all a short pleasant stroll away and where the hotel is situated meant compared to the usual noisy Bournemouth hotels the only sound you hear in the day is passers by and traffic and in the evening sea gulls!
Great place to stay we shall be back soon!!

Thanks.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ncane83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thanks for your kind comments.

You have mentioned all those 'little things' which we hope will make your stay with us enjoyable and memorable.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for East Cliff Cottage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2017

I stayed here with my boyfriend and have to say it is one of the best b&b's we'e stayed in! The owner is very friendly. The superior room we stayed in had a roll top bath, lovely big bed. The breakfast was a full English along with fruit juice, fruit. The only negative i would say is that the quality of the produce could be better ie cheap sausages.
The reception room has a lovely open fire and we were made refreshments on arrival. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra to get a superior room
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ellie191929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thanks for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Be interested in which type of sausage you had, as the 'normal' ones we serve are made by our local butcher and the majority of guests comment on how tasty they are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here with our 2 young children aged 8 & 2 and we had a fabulous time.
Fantastic location near to beach, restaurants & pretty much anything you need.
Room was excellent really spacious and cosy! We had a family room and we all loved it. Rooms all equipped with en suite (ours was beautiful) tv, mini fridge, hair dryer and towels.
Breakfast was great! Delicious full breakfast if you wanted it but plenty of choice if you didn't. It's all freshly prepared and delivered to a well set table, on the second morning the high chair was already in place for our youngest. The owners were very welcoming and helpful.
We will definitely be returning to this hidden gem!
Thank you east cliff cottage!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank NorthamptonTbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thanks for your kind comments.

You mention many of the 'little extras' which we try to provide to help make your stay a pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We stayed because East Cliff Cottage is pet friendly and had two large dogs that wanted to also enjoy a holiday!
We booked a superior room which was a lovely large, airy room. Modern bathroom with roll top bath and separate shower. King size bed which was so incredibly comfortable, and very quiet location too. Breakfast was superb, with full english on offer along with cereal and fruit, fruit juices etc. Hosts were lovely and friendly, it felt like home from home.
Great place to stay for those who are looking for a lovely place to stay with their fur babies.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Spiritdanceruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you for your kind comments.

We are pleased that you and your dogs enjoyed their stay.
We strive to provide a 'home from home ' experience, so glad that we managed that for you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We stayed for 2 nights recently, having stayed here last year. The room we had was spacious, and had a superbly comforable bed. The decor in the room and bathroom exceeded what was on offer at nearby more expensive hotels. The breakfast, one of which was gluten free, was excellent.
One suggestion ... The exterior and exterior signage could do with reflecting the hotel's interior character.

Room Tip: Book early especially if youre going in summer
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sixtynewforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thanks for your kind comments.

We are aware the exterior now needs to reflect the changes we have made on the inside.
It is 'in hand' and we hope to have it completed as soon as funds allow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Stayed here for one night whilst we attended a friends wedding in a nearby hotel. Everything about this hotel is all you need and more. Lovely friendly family run establishment, where the owners can't do enough to help make you feel comfortable, the owner even helped us get our bikes out the back of our car.
Would recommend this hotel to anybody, just perfect. Definitely book again next time I'm Bournemouth way.
Many thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do try to help in any way we can.
We hope you are back Bournemouth way soon. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Let's get one thing straight this is not your Posh modern day hotel and does not claim to be and is reflected in the tariff. But this is a pet friendly hotel with a friendly and approachable owner, check in time is 3 pm we arrived just after 11am and because our room had been vacant the previous night he allowed us to check in straight away at no extra cost. It is worth paying that bit extra for the larger room we had a large double bed, a table and 2 arm chairs a flat screen TV on the wall, the en suite bathroom had a roll top bath and a excellent walk in shower. Breakfast was served between 8 and 10 and was very good.
There are a minuses however as there usually are wherever you go , it is advertised as having a bar this is misleading as it isn't a bar which is manned with draught beers I can only presume you ring the bell and it's cans or bottles didn't affect us though there are plenty bars round and about. And the morning I checked out after breakfast I made a point of paying the bill upon leaving I handed the key to the young girl and told her I had paid she said are you sure I said yes but still had to check with the owner I did feel a bit of mistrust there as people in the breakfast bar could hear. And I do appreciate the owner saying there is parking for all 6 rooms but it is a very small car park and I wouldn't like to think I were leaving my car there had it been full. Would love to see this building restored internally and externally to its natural beauty.

Room Tip: Pay a small extra charge for larger room
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phil1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thanks for your comments.

You are correct regarding the bar, we stock a selection of cans and bottles. Not sure what is misleading about that though ? We say we have a bar, not that we have a manned bar selling draught beers.

The reason the young girl checked with me that you had paid, is because we get a lot of people who have booked (normally through an OTA) and because they inputted their card details, think they have paid, when actually they haven't. How was she supposed to know this didn't apply to you ? She was always polite and there is no harm in checking details.

Not sure why you wouldn't feel happy leaving your car in the car park just because it was full ?? In the summer we regularly get 6 cars in, and I always manage to fit them in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.3 km away
The Yenton
The Yenton
#12 of 133 in Bournemouth
451 reviews
0.1 km away
Tudor Grange
Tudor Grange
#45 of 133 in Bournemouth
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#16 of 133 in Bournemouth
329 reviews
1.7 km away
Ocean Breeze Guest House
Ocean Breeze Guest House
#44 of 133 in Bournemouth
83 reviews
1.5 km away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#5 of 133 in Bournemouth
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Cliff Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Cliff Cottage Hotel

Address: 57 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $113 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — East Cliff Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Cliff Cottage Hotel is situated on the scenic East Cliff of Bournemouth just minutes from the beautiful beaches and vibrant town centre. Our combination of superior and standard rooms have been styled and characterised to provide you with every comfort possible with en-suite facilities complemented by hostess trays and flat screen TVs and wi-fi access. Our licensed restaurant offers quality home cooked food with an extensive menu to meet all tastes. The food is served by friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. The bar is fully stocked with a selection of lagers, ales, spirits and minerals. Our regularly maintained garden is the perfect place to relax when the sun is out and can also be used for receptions, BBQs and family gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your East Cliff Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing