We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Topaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Topaz Hotel
Ranked #98 of 145 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is a great small hotel /guest house situated minutes away from the sea (although as it is on Westcliff, there is a steepish hill down to the beach itself). It would be hard to fault the hotel at this price point - friendly and helpful, clean & comfortable room, great breakfast. We will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    55
    21
    5
    21
See reviews for
26
146
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Great B&B, friendly reception on arrival. The room was small but well equipped. Breakfast great too. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Excellent location if going to BIC -literally 5mins walk, central to all-beach town etc. Jamie was very friendly and welcoming-well run and hard working. Room was fine-clean and pleasing on the eye. Breakfast was also very good-plenty, fresh and hot. Would definately stay there again when going to BIC.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Lovely hotel, the room was great and comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic. Great location, 5 minutes brisk walk to the town centre or sea front. Nice honest hotel and the management were very helpfull and friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Mashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subic, Zambales, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

3 nights pre Xmas 2011 @ TOPAZ Hotel

This is a really fantastic place to stay in Bournemouth / Poole

.. Its been refurbished to the highest standards, its quality in every room, I can recommended it 100%.. Breakfast was excellent , the Management and team are as good as any 5 Star Hotel i have stayed at EVER !! Congratulation JAMIE ( the owner ) its a GEM

I had been going to the TAPAZ by mistake, so make sure you go to right HOTEL its TOPAZ

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSCHOON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

I stayed 2 nights in a single room with washbasin, teamaking and sky TV. £24 a night with breakfast at an extra £5 was really good value. Breakfast was excellent and the proprietor was really helpful and freindly. Car parking as well.
The room was small, but very well appointed and very clean. It was serviced when I was having breakfast. Bathroom in the corridor was used only by me and spotless.
The hotel is in a prime situation and I have no hesitation in recommening it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike99Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed at the hotel in November 2011 for my graduation with my parents. I don't know where to start from the place and the service were the best you can get. I've stayed in other hotels of this ranking in Bournemouth and also lived in the town for couple of years and studies Tourism Management and from the point of both customer and professional I think they have done a great job with the facilities and resources available. The price we paid was reasonable.

The hotel has an amazing homely,warm and welcoming atmosphere. The owner/manager of the place was so ever very friendly, pleasant to talk to as well as helpful. There was free parking and wifi which many places don't offer or make you pay for. To access the parking you have to drive through a very narrow archway but we managed to get a Toyota Avensis in there without much of a problem so I'm pretty sure that most cars would be fine going in . There was also a van parked there so if that can get in then pretty much anything can get in, you just have to be more careful.

We had two rooms. Both were excellent. Really clean, linens were so clean and white,beds were really comfy both rooms had nice flat TV. Both rooms were en-suite, one with shower and one with bath. Rooms were differently themed, decorated in variable colouers. You can feel the very personal touch to every single detail in the room. Both rooms had a nice sized mirror. Any information you might find yourself in need of, you can find in their in-room information book which was very detailed and well presented. For first time visitors there is a large variety of booklets and promotional fliers regarding different activities and places you might be interested in visiting and can be found at the entrance foyer.

Different from most hotels the dining room was located at the front of the hotel looking towards the street rather the back, which was nice for a change. Very welcoming and light room with a wide choice of breakfast all nice and fresh. A large variety of drinks so freshly looking jars of juices and milk.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. It is located in the heart of Bournemouth yet on a very peaceful and quite road so you don't have to worry which way your room window is facing. It is only a short walk to the beach and the pier also it is few minutes walk from the shops,bars and restaurants. I would recommend this place to anyone and I would love to stay here again.

I know I have written quite a lot, but I really feel like I need to praise the effort of the people that make the Topaz Hotel so nice and make us guest feel good. There are many places that charge the same price or even higher and offer terrible facilities and services in return so I believe that the very few like the Topaz Hotel that put effort in their job,certainly need to be praised. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 km away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#52 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.1 km away
The Newark Hotel
The Newark Hotel
#46 of 145 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#83 of 145 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#93 of 145 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 km away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#35 of 145 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Property: Topaz Hotel
Address: 79 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England (Formerly The Redlands)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on Bournemouth's Westcliff, we are within a 5 minute walk of the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) & the award winning beaches. The Topaz has recently undergone a full refurbishment, bedrooms are modern "un-chintzy", clean, bright and decorated to a high standard, most rooms have en-suite facilities, all with LCD televisions, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and Free wireless Internet. We offer a high standard of bed & breakfast accommodation with delicious continental, full English and other breakfast options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing