We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great breakfast and excellent value for money”
Review of Ingledene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ingledene House
Ranked #103 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night break at Ingledene House travelling as a family with 1 child.
We found the hotel easily and made use of the free parking directly outside the hotel. Although we were very early for our check in, Charles the hotel owner very kindly checked and informed us that our room was ready for us and we could unpack which was a nice touch. He also gave us some very good tips and recommendations on trips that he thought might interest us. We took his advice and drove to Sandbanks and took the car ferry over to Swanage. We then drove to Corfe Castle and had a wonderful time in the picturesque village and a trip on the delightful steam train that runs to Swanage and back. It was an extremely enjoyable trip and I'm so glad that Charles recommended us doing it.
Our room was adequate for the three of us with a double bed and a single bed. To be fair the room was a bit tatty with some wallpaper peeling off and it could have done with a lick of paint in a nice neutral colour instead of livid lime green but these are minor niggles as the room was very clean as were the towels and bedding. The en suite shower room had recently been refurbished and the shower was a good size although the water pressure wasn't great.
The hotel is in a good location a 10 minute walk to the beach at Eastcliff and 10 minutes to the bars and restaurants although the pier and main beach are a good 20 minute walk and longer if you have small children.
Atfer a comfortable nights sleep, we had a very enjoyable breakfast in the pretty dining room. There was a great choice of a full english cooked breakfast, made to order and a plentiful continental selection. It was one of the nicest breakfasts I've ever had and more than set us up for the day. A big thankyou to the friendly girls serving at breakfast. It was busy and they were rushed off their feet but they gave service with a smile at all times.
Ingeldene House offers excellent value for money and ok its not the 'Hilton' but remember you're not paying expensive hotel rates.
A big thankyou to Charles and his team for a very enjoyable stay at Ingledene House.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Ingledene House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

The staff was very smily and friendly.we spent a great week end in a nice room. the breakfast was varied and we appreciated the full breakfast. The hotel is near the beach and the park. Bournemouth is a nice city with a big park. It is easy to move without car.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciouciou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Because of all the staff we could spend a really great holiday in Bournemouth! It's not a luxury hotel but the kindness staff is enough, although the breakfast was very good and the rooms clean. I recommend this guest house not too expensive of acceptable quality. we are thinking to go back as soon as possible

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwendoshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We booked two nights at this "hotel" as we were attending a close friends wedding on 30th July. Firstly, the website stated that it would be pay on arrival, to which we then found our card had been charged the day after we booked, secondly the website stated that it had off-street parking which was the main reason we booked it. When we arrived, there was no off-street parking and when staff were questioned about this they simply shrugged. So having been charged £135 prior to arrival, we were hoping that our room at least would be reasonable, but no, sadly this was not the case. Upon entering our room we found it to be unbelievably dated and tired, with a small tv stuck up in the corner behind the wall making it impossible to watch and having incredibly bad reception we were unable to watch it anyway. The bed... without a doubt the most uncomfortable bed we have ever had to sleep in, it was hard and lumpy throughout which meant that we had no sleep for the two nights that we were there. The en-suite was an absolute joke, basically a toilet and tiny shower shoved behind two slatted doors, peeling, dirty wallpaper and no privacy. To top it off, when going downstairs for "breakfast" I ordered a simple egg on toast and waited... 45 minutes whilst other diners who had entered after us, were served up full english breakfasts. In the end I gave up waiting and left. When checking out the manager was simply not bothered about the appalling stay we had had, no refund was offered, no discount and no apology. Do not stay here if you value a good nights sleep, good manners or good food, this place is an absolute disgrace.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesnMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgbutton, Owner at Ingledene House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

1. All our booking confirmations state the following: " ....The hotel reserves the right to process the full amount any time after the booking was made and at least 14 days prior to arrival...."

2. Almost all our guests comment on what a brilliant breakfast we provide. There are at least three waitress's to hand and if you neded an egg all it requires is for you to ask! Waiting 45 minutes and saying nothing is clearly a very silly thing to do.

3. Most people who stay with us do not come to watch the TV. Good TV reception is not our priority.

4. As a rated two star guest house we provide en-suite bed space and minimal bathroom amenities. Whereas we are the first to admit its not luxury, it does however meets the amenity standards judged by Visit Britain professional inspectors and as such we totally reject this guests opinion.

5. Refunds are only offered to people who have a genuine compaint that is expressed at the time it occurred and not after they had finished their stay. Particularly when its as trivial as not been given an egg!

Clearly, 2 star officially rated budget accomodation for two nights for two people during one of the busiest weekends in the year was clearly not for these people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The BEST I've gone through... :) superb meals... excellent service and friendly crews. What else??? So satisfied with the great and wonderful accomodation. :) THANKS...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaleah4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Lovely hotel, nice clean rooms and staff are very hospitable. Excellent customer service!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loui_ela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

An excellent location a short walk to beaches. Ideal for children.Charles and Grace are first class hosts with good knowledge and advice on the surrounding areas. Just perfect in every way: Lovely hosts, location very close to the beach, clean, quiet and well equiped rooms. The real English breakfast is just great. In my eyes it is simply the place to stay in Bournemouth....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anastasia088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
3.4 km away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.0 km away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,232 reviews
0.1 km away
Mayfield Hotel
Mayfield Hotel
#96 of 133 in Bournemouth
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kantara Guest House
Kantara Guest House
#66 of 133 in Bournemouth
43 reviews
0.3 km away
Lea Hurst Hotel
Lea Hurst Hotel
#21 of 133 in Bournemouth
169 reviews
1.1 km away
Ocean Breeze Guest House
Ocean Breeze Guest House
#44 of 133 in Bournemouth
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingledene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingledene House

Address: 18-20 Gardens View | Derby Road, Bournemouth BH1 3QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $85 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ingledene House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ingledene House is a 14-bedroom Hotel that overlooks Knyveton Gardens Bowling greens and the adjoining Tennis Courts. Also located opposite the guesthouse is a Cafe and private licensed bar that is open to Ingledene residents. Ingledene Hotel is conveniently situated 2 minutes walk from Bournemouth Central Station, 500 metres from the nearest beach and about a 10-minute walk to the centre and nightlife. Guesthouse facilities include 8 En-suite Bedrooms plus 6 standard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ingledene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing