We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and value for money”
Review of Glendevon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glendevon Hotel
Ranked #124 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and value for money”
Reviewed 5 September 2009

All staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location, walking distance to beach and shops. Enjoyed a great English breakfast. Room was clean and comfortable. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    13
    29
    20
    63
See reviews for
29
40
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Thank goodness we were only staying one night or we would have booked out.
The room was small and shabby. The tea tray had not been refilled after the departure of the previous guests. The bed linen was clean although the pillow cases on both beds were stained. Luckily there were spare ones in the wardrobe.

However the reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

We would not go back there even though the location is good, five minute walk to beach and town centre.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HobbitLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Stayed with wife during May bank holiday weekend, we were part of a club coach tour staying half board.
Welcome - excellent, no problems, straight up to room although we arrived early. Sandwiches avaialble. Bags sent up to room. Staff available for help. Common areas clean and tidy.
Bedroom - clean, tidy, big enough for weekend stay, let down by decorating standard. Tea and coffeee as expected.
Bathroom ok, our shower worked fine. No hairdrier.
Dining room - efficient service, pleasant staff but slight language barrier, good food , plenty of tea/coffee/toast and good breakfast selection.
Bar - excellent service, limited choice of bitter/lager, ran out of diet coke very quickly. prices reasonable.
Entertainment was very good 2 nights out of 3 especially as artists extended their acts for us. We were happy to stay in hotel instead of hopping around bars in Bournemouth.
Hotel - situated in a residential area, convenient for shops and access to centre.
Thanks to weekend weather and good entertainemnt program we had a better than expected holiday.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

I was looking for a budget hotel for a short stay in Bournemouth last weekend, and the happened upon the Glendevon.

I found the welcome there to be pleasant, and check-in and check-out fast and free of problems. The location of the hotel is on a hill, close to the main shopping area and about a 5 minute walk from the seafront.

The room was basic, but comfortable and bigger than in other hotels I've stayed in for the same or higher price. The shower was however not very good - low power.

I didn't dine in the hotel so I can't really comment on the food (the kipper for breakfast was OK!); nor did I use the basement bar, though it was open.

  • Liked — Check-in
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank IJGrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

Couple - stayed August 2007

Our room was large and bright, but very basic, with old shabby furniture and a grubby carpet. Very little tea/coffee/milk in room.
Shower fitment was broken, and when first used fell off the wall mounting, user narrowly escaping injury. Room was at the front of the Hotel, and the street was very noisey at night.
Dinning Room was draughty, when we requested another table away from the draught, this was refused.
Food was generally o.k. veg a bit bland, probably frozen / packet and with small portions.
Bar in the basement was poorly stocked, and smelt very stale.
In our opinion, not worth the money.

Helpful?
1 Thank DanaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 km away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#33 of 66 in Bournemouth
401 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#31 of 66 in Bournemouth
269 reviews
0.3 km away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
864 reviews
0.2 km away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#12 of 132 in Bournemouth
306 reviews
3.4 km away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#34 of 132 in Bournemouth
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendevon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendevon Hotel

Property: Glendevon Hotel
Address: 85-89 West Hill Road, Bournemouth BH2 5PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendevon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glendevon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing