We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most comfortable bed of my life!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westwood House Guest House
Ranked #1 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Most comfortable bed of my life!”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Top notch all round. Spotlessly clean, great location, great service from the owner. Loved the breakfast - all options and tastes covered from cereals, to vegetarian, to black pudding lovers.
The bed in the room has to be tried to be believed - I took a photo of the manufacturers label, and will be buying one of these for myself ASAP - like sleeping on a cloud!
There is simply nothing lacking in this place - its great to see British hospitality done so well. Many thanks to the owners for a great experience.

Room Tip: room 1 is at the back, on the 1st floor, and was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boff_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    48
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
142
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed here the night before a football tournament in Dorchester. There were two adults and 3 children and we stayed in the family room which was perfect. We had a early start the next morning and a earlier than normal breakfast was provided which was very nice.

The carpark was only a couple of minute walk away and was no problem at all.
The room was excellent and so was the comfort of the beds.

The free Wi-Fi was good.
Would certainly recommend this hotel and would visit again if we are in the area.

The hotel is in the high street but heard no noise at all during the night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula3897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

There is not a huge choice of hotels in Dorchester so we didn't really have much choice where to stay, do our expectations were not great..However we were extremely happy to end up here and it's almost impossible to fault them in any way.

Fantasticly friendly welcome when we arrived, lovely big clean room, excellent choice of cooked breakfasts, and all for a competitive price. If I ever needed to stay in Dorchester again I would book here without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbotwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

A friend and I stayed at Westwood for 3 nights and we found our room very comfortable, clean and quiet (although it was facing the street). We had a shower (not a bath) and this worked really well as it was quite powerful. The milk in the room's mini-fridge was fresh and we had the use of a hairdryer, which was much appreciated. The breakfasts were excellent - I tried 3 different hot dishes and they were 5-star!- the best cooked breakfasts I've ever had. Tom and Demelsa were very helpful and friendly and I felt very comfortable throughout my stay. Dorchester is quite interesting and from there you can visit quite a few attractions. Although there is no parking on-site, I applied for a 4-day parking permit on-line, which was quite economical as the permit was valid in all the areas we visited, e.g. Bridport and Lyme Regis, so we saved ourselves a lot of hassle. Lots of places to eat - try the Thai restaurant (Thai Nakorn) which is just a short walk from the guesthouse. I would definitely go back to Westwood House again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I cannot find one single thing to fault Westwood House Guest House on!

We had a lovely warm welcome with Tom carrying up our case. The rooms were beautifully decorated and furnished and the bathroom with separate shower cubicle AND bath and big fluffy towels was lovely. Lots of nice little touches like the chilled milk in the fridge and the fact that there was a hairdryer as well as the to die for breakfasts make me convinced that the owners really value their guests and want them to have the best stay possible.

One point about location - it's town centre so it's unsurprising that that there isn't a car park but street parking or the local NCP are so near that you'd have to be incredibly lazy to find this an issue.

Room Tip: We had the family suite at the top of the house - well worth the additional flights of steps for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairemackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Westwood house was a lovely, clean, comfortable hotel for 2 nights. Our room was very quiet considering the hotel is on the high street (though we were at the back of the house) and was a good size with big bathroom-great powerful shower! Huge, comfy bed. Own set of keys for room and front door (needed as we were back late on the 2nd night)

Hosts were both very friendly, and very helpful with local knowledge - walks/eating out/parking. Breakfast was enjoyed by us both, plenty to choose from and a good start to the day, all in a lovely sunny conservatory. We even met the hotel cat :-)
Excellent location - walking distance to attractions such as dinosaur museum, Tutankhamen exhibition and Kingston Maurward farm park.
Free Wi-fi was appreciated as was the mini-fridge in the room.

Only one little thing to consider - lack of parking, but this is no reflection on Westwood house, just something to be aware of.

We would definitely return/recommend!

Room Tip: Room 1 is quiet as at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

An absolute gem. Tried hard to find a fault, but couldn't. Room was great, the guest house is run by Tom & Demelsa who are absoultely fantastic, making sure guests are made welcome. Food is a major issue for me, as it is for the owners here! They don't offer anything but breakfast, but have a host of restaurants within a few minutes walk, and seem to have reviewed them all! Attention to detail is brillant, no UHT milk with the in-room tea and coffee, a little jug in the fridge filled with the real fresh thing. They only serve breakfast, but that is a cut above the usual, even providing XO marmite (OK I admit, I love it!).

Being in the centre of Dorchester parking is a bit of a problem, but 24 hour parking is available about 100 yards up the road.

We didn't test this out, but the guide in the room says if you fancy a take away in your room, just let them know and you can borrrow crockery, cutlery and glasses for wine. Civilised or what!

Room Tip: Ones at the back would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dem98_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
0.0 km away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.5 km away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 km away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.0 km away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#7 of 45 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Guest House

Property: Westwood House Guest House
Address: Guest House 29 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the historic county town of Dorchester, Westwood House is an attractive Georgian property built in 1815 by Lord Ilchester we believe for his coachmen. Converted to a town house guest house and personally run by resident owners Tom & Demelza Stevens, the accommodation offers a comfortable, informal non-smoking environment for the business or leisure visitor during their stay in Dorchester. The guest accommodation comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms all are well equipped with modern facilities, including LCD television with over 30 channels, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi.A variety of restaurants, pubs and cafes are only a short stroll away from the house. Alternatively bring in a take-away and relax in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Westwood House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Dorchester
Westwood House Guest House Dorchester, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing