We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't stay but ate in the restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Didn't stay but ate in the restaurant.”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Food below average for money namely veg overcooked, soggy and saturated in water, turkey seemed to be reconstituted compressed meat, plate swimming in gravy. Stuffing like something the dog chucked. Coffee instant and served in pots. Little or no ambience.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    134
    68
    16
    14
See reviews for
57
166
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed here for two weeks on business. Great location in the centre of Dorchester, Staff were lovely and made me feel very welcome. The rooms were clean and the free wifi was great. Breakfast was great but perhaps finished a little early. There were however a few things which let the room down. Firstly was the bed, i really don't understand the hotels objection to duvet's sleeping under the three layers of blankets was not the most comfortable experience and i do question the ability to launder the blankets the same way you could duvet covers. The second issue for me was the showers. Although they give warning on your bathroom wall it really isn't on for the water to wildly fluctuate in temperature, you have two choices you could have it changing between ice cold and lukewarm or warm and burning hot, I in the end just chose to have baths, not something you really want to have to do if you leave the hotel at 6 in the morning.

If it sorted out the beds and the plumbing i'd happily stay again but until then i think i'll stay away

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lurcherlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Received a very warm welcome upon arrival and breakfast the next morning was good. But this place could really do with a refresh - the decor dates back to the 80s, which is unfortunate. The bed in my room was really creaky although fortunately this didn't keep me awake during my night's stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The Wessex Royale is a 3 star hotel, so our expectations were based on that level of rating.

On a wet Tuesday in November we'd been asked to pay an extortionate 130 GBP by the Best Western Kings Arms down the road, which we hastily refused and set off in search of something more in line with our expected budget for a 3 star property in Dorchester for one night.

We arrived at the Wessex Royale and asked about availability at reception. The receptionist was really helpful, showing us 3 rooms of various types and costs. We settled on the middle option, a nice Double Room with a view of the High Street for a much better value-for-money cost of 90 GBP, which included Breakfast, Complementary Bottled Water and a Newspaper.

The hotel is old, dating from 1756, so it was inevitably a bit quaint in places, with creaky and not particularly level floors. The lavatory cistern in our bathroom overflowed into the toilet bowl unless you pressed the flush correctly – we soon learned the secret.

The cooked breakfast in the morning was very good, the local bacon being especially outstanding.

The hotel met our expectations of a realistically priced 3 star hotel. Average, in this case, is not a bad thing. We were well rested, looked after and fed.

Room Tip: If you're taking pot luck, like us, try and get there early for a better choice of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobWrinkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night earlier this week. We booked through a well known late rooms booking site so did get a reduced price (good, as room not worth £109). The double room was rather small, the bed was definitely not a full sized double (and we are both small people). Furnishings very dated and bed not comfortable. Awful pillows too. In fact my family were also staying for longer and ended up getting their own pillows in the end. Apparently the hotel are in the middle of updating the furnishings, no good for us though! Room and bathroom were cold but very clean. We had a room overlooking the car park (no room for our car though) and it was quite but family complained about the noise of their rooms. Uncle had a single room, tiny single bed and half sized bath too! Good breakfast though, lots of choice!

Room Tip: Car park rooms are quite. First floor rooms are cold but ones on 2nd and 3rd floor are warm apparent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

One night B&B.
The Hotel carpets don’t quite stop the creaks of age coming through to remind the guest that this is a very old building indeed, a bit like an OAP in a Yukka coat. The staff are nice and helpful and the room although not exceptional, was more than adequate for a short stay. We suffered the usual problem getting the shower to stay a bearable temperature and the breakfast was a bit too manufactured. The poached egg was probably the only item not cooked before we sat down. The lack of parking is the biggest problem, we had to park on the road, getting up at 8.00am to put a ticket on the car and moving it by 9.00am because of a ‘1 hour no return policy’. This was a real and unwanted pain. Overall, the Hotel did not make our value for money expectation.

Room Tip: Book parking or do not bring the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welovesunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham U.K.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I say that because the car parking is very limited (about 10 to 12 cars). We found the people there were nice and helpful. But (and there is always a but) it is a city centre hotel, single glazed so the traffic noise is pretty abysmal all through the night.
We ate at the bar - food was mediocre and in the restaurant - food was very good. Breakfast was below what we would expect with everything except the eggs having been cooked before and kept hot (and drying out). Overall, I would not stay again as the hotel is grossly overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norman_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
0.5 km away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
10.7 km away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.4 km away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
8.8 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel

Property: Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Address: 32 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England (Formerly Wessex Royale Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wessex Royale Hotel is a delightful Georgian era hotel located in the centre of Dorchester. With classically designed rooms and an excellent central location, The Wessex Royale is ideal for a relaxing break.The Hotel was built in 1756 and features all of the elegance and classic features you would expect from such a property, including fireplaces, panelling and a magnificent grand staircase.Bedrooms display a charming and traditional character with supremely comfortable furnishings to help you feel well rested.All rooms have modern en-suite bathrooms with a bath and power shower, premium digital channels and Wireless Internet connections to help you wind down with “home away from home” comforts and little touches that truly make you feel welcome. The á la carte restaurant is open each evening and offers a variety of traditional and exciting new dishes. The meals on offer are of a consistently excellent standard, making the restaurant popular with guests and locals alike. Fully refurbished with air conditioning, offering a wide range of traditional and new world wines to compliment your meal, you are assured a meal of the highest quality.The Wessex Royale Hotel is a family friendly option near the many activities and attractions in the area, including Maiden Castle, Roman Townhouse, Thomas Hardy’s cottage, the Tutankhamun Exhibition, and Dinosaur Museum.Food and wine aficionados will appreciate the in house restaurant, which offers specialty cuisine, homemade desserts, and an impressive wine list. There is also a locally popular bar and lounge, perfect for afternoon tea or a quick glass of beer. This hotel is a popular venue for weddings and other intimate occasions. Limited free parking is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Wessex Royale Hotel Dorchester
Minotel Hotel Wessex Royale
Minotel Dorchester
Dorchester Minotel
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel Dorchester, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing