We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely detached holiday cottage”

Review of Gable Cottage

Gable Cottage with Traditional Shepherd's Hut
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gable Cottage with Traditional Shepherd's Hut
Well Equipped Country Kitchen Sitting Room with Wood Burner, Flat Screen T.V. and DVD Player and HiFi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Gable Cottage with Traditional Shepherd's Hut
Well Equipped Country Kitchen
Sitting Room with Wood Burner, Flat Screen T.V. and DVD Player and HiFi
Principal Bedroom Double Aspect
Principal Bedroom Double Aspect
Second Double Bedroom
Character Bedroom, day bed, can sleep two, ideal for children
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Great Views and award winning roses
Outside Terrace in Private Garden with stunning views over local countryside
Private driveway with secure parking
Adjacent Shepherd's Hut, sleeps two included in price
Inside the traditionally restored Shepherd's Hut
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Shaftesbury, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
shinyrain...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely detached holiday cottage”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Set in a pretty location, this is a clean, comfortable and very well equipped cottage. Had a relaxing stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
369jackie...
Aveley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 days and we loved the cottage and it's location it is so peaceful and relaxing only hearing natures noises as in birds sheep etc. We all slept well in comfortable beds with clean fresh linen and there was a welcome hamper with a lovely selection of food for us to use and wine x
Fresh flowers were throughout the cottage. Selection of books games to use and a lot of places to sit in the garden. It truly is a lovely place to stay we will go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet A
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet and very comfortable and pretty”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Gable Cottage is a very sweet cottage, beautifully decorated and very comfortable and well equipped. We were celebrating my 60th birthday and also Easter and Louise had decorated the house with a pretty Easter tree and lots of tulips as well as making me a birthday cake and buying special 60 candles and birthday banner and napkins, a really incredible amount of delicious Easter treats as well. We had a lovely few days in this quiet village and enjoyed some great walks. Hoping to return to this beautiful area. The shepherd's hut is so charming and very comfortable too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelott...
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Let me start by saying I have never stayed in a cottage (and we have stayed in a few!) where such an amazing welcome pack is provided and there are fresh flowers in most of the rooms. Such a lovely surprise.

The cottage is very comfortable and everything you need and more is provided. Nice quiet village about 10 mins from Shaftesbury and 40 mins from Salisbury. We enjoyed some great days out to longleat, Salisbury, Clarks village... Local pub with good food. Highly recommended if you are staying in the area :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21445trav...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay in this very sweet cottage and shepherds' hut!”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were made to feel so welcome - thank you for a wonderful few days! We would certainly recommend Gable Cottage to anyone wanting to enjoy the beautiful Dorset countryside.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discover6...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I can't recommend Gable Cottage highly enough, after returning from a weekend break whilst attending a wedding locally in Tisbury I am keen to book to go again straight away.
If you are looking for postcard perfect, idyllic location and high quality accommodation you need look no further.

Louise was always at the end of a phone throughout booking and during our stay.
The welcome pack was unexpected and very much welcome and we couldn't have wanted for anything during our stay. Thoughtful touches such as they "honesty box" enabling guests to use the phone as signal was poor was very thoughtful.

All in all one of the best cottages I have stayed in, and there has been many.

Do not hesitate to book!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage, beautifully decorated and equipped.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing