We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
219
223
89
29
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
219
223
89
29
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building no lift interesting features old house lovely hotel high street sea view large conservatory room was spacious bit dated hotel is situated traditional hotel cooked breakfast kippers few minutes walk seaside town one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 592 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

This hotel looked delightful, and probably was a few years ago. It has great bones , mosaic floors, statues in the gardens , but is in need of tender loving care. We stayed in the lodge , it was clean and quiet, bed old and room very outdated. This hotel could be stunning with some time and effort

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dianne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2018

The car park is quite a walk from the hotel and very narrow access from the main street. Patience is needed by other car drivers! There is another access at the back but for the first time you visit is a tad tricky to find. Needless to say we never used the front access again!
Booked 2 rooms - 1 a single with seaview and the other a double with garden view.
Both rooms were comfortable and well decorated. After lugging our luggage up at least 3 flights of stairs to the second floor the view was worth it
The bathrooms actually had baths and a shower but the wash basin had very silly spray taps. I think more went over the floor than in the sink. My room did not have any tissues, no glasses,one window would not stay open and I required a bath mat. I went to reception and within minutes, my requests had been dealt with. The bed was very comfortable and clean. Shame about the empty fag packet in the drawer and the empty box of tissues under the wardrobe! The staff are all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was OK. Only a choice of 2 fruit juices. Wonderful toaster that they must have purchased from Spain. You know the one where the bread disappears for an hour and eventually comes out only cooked 1 side!! Freshly cooked food could be ordered, otherwise it was a help yourself buffet. Unfortunately not kept very hot.We had glorious weather, but if it had been cooler I think it would all have been cold. One particular waiter was rather rude and made unnecessary remarks which rather spoilt our last morning. Bar prices were on par with local pubs and had quite a good selection of wines and spirits. The grounds are lovely if a bit neglected in places. The walk down the path with lavender each side was blissful. The hotel is situated so close to the town centre/beach and pier which makes it a great location. It has a very interesting interior and is quite quirky. It also must be quite hard to maintain, but think they are doing quite a good job. The only trivial thing that spoilt it for me was the guide in the hotel bedroom. The spelling errors were dreadful. Surely if you are going to put a lovely article about the history of the hotel you can spell check it or at least get someone to proof read it. As I said it is trivial, but sometimes says a lot about the quality overall

Room Tip: Single room 12 was spacious with a good view. Room 15 - a roomy double with a view over the garden. Noisy people on the terrace at night
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Devoninvestigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018

A lovely short break at this classic hotel. We stayed in the old building in a large ensuite room, with sea view. Breakfast buffet was very good and you could order eggs freshly cooked. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Obviously with an old hotel comes a few quirks. Beds were a bit on soft side and few cobwebs! My only comment would be that with such lovely Windows and views it would have been great if the windows were clean. But all in all a lovely stay, thank you.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank KarenR1468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

We booked a double room with a sea view. The images on the website were very different to the 3rd floor garret we were given. There was no room for a chair in the room and we had to put our heads right out the window and twist around to see the sea. The bathroom was so tiny there wasn’t even a towel rail. Breakfast was nothing special and the hotel grounds are very run down. At £130 a night it was very poor value.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Damien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2018

Just back from 3 nights B&B. The place is ideally situated and it is a 5 minute walk down hill to the centre of Swanage. Stayed in the Louisa lodge part which is MUCH much newer than the old original building and nicely decorated with good bathroom, tea making equipment, hair dryer, TV etc. BED NOT comfy. Breakfast excellent. Staff are friendly but not too efficient. Ordered a paper but none delivered on second day. Put towels in bath as requested if change required but on return to room the dirty damp same towels had been folded and placed on the bed!!! Unbelievable! AND no toilet roll!! Much running around by the duty porter to sort out and find us towels. Big car park and plenty of spaces. Nice grounds and bar prices on a par with the nearby pubs.

Room Tip: Ask for the lodge rooms
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank eventhorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews