We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,061)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveller rating
331
397
182
102
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
397
182
102
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view the general manager third floor bar menu private beach lovely old hotel seen better days limited parking night break short break fabulous views some tlc room was clean and comfortable sunday lunch car parking the cliff relaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2018

We had a special 2 night break here with our family, wonderful position with glorious views and walking distance of Swanage. The hotel is rather tired but they have been redecorating and upgrading. Staff were helpful and it was a very good breakfast .

Room Tip: Extra needed to get a sea view
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Madeleine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B, General Manager at Grand Hotel Swanage, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Thank you for your review and I am very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

We stayed here last week on one of their 'specials' - two nights B&B and one Dinner. The staff, from Reception to restaurant and cleaning staff were all nice, extremely polite and knowledgeable.

We had opted for an inland facing room that turned out to be Room 301 and it was comfortable(ish), the downside was the en-suite bathroom. It was very cold last week and upon going into the tiled bathroom (walls and floor) it was not even warm. The small towel rail was only partially heated to half its height - it obviously needed attention - bleeding? My wife then discovered a dirty towel on the bed! As we were going to explore Swanage that afternoon, we spoke with Reception about the lack of heat and handed in the towel. Hoping that all would be fine on our return.

Upon our return, Reception said that he had tried to bleed the radiator - without success and it would need a plumber to resolve it. The towel had been exchanged!
We had a lovely dinner, well cooked and well served that evening.

We were out for most of the following day and upon our return, found the towel rail functioning but really, the room needs a radiator as it was still cool. The water pressure was low and therefore showering was not a pleasant experience. I asked Reception if this was normal and he said it was - shame in 2018!

We decided to dine in that evening and reserved a table in the bar area. This was disappointing; we had to wait over 30 minutes for the main course to arrive (we opted not to have a starter). My wife's food was fine but, having selected the Trio of Fish and Chips; when presented the chips were cool and I had to request that they were replaced. The plate was duly returned and whilst the chips were hot, the fish was not. I really did not want to wait for potentially another half hour and ate the food. Not the best of experiences.

Would we go again? Yes probably but not stay on the third floor.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on Floors 1 & 2 could be okay. Parking is limited and unlikely to be increased.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wildy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

Good hotel in a quiet area of Swanage. Good service and good hearty breakfasts with a great view of the bay. Looks tired in places but it is an old uk seaside holiday location and does promote old Style grandeur. We had a non sea view room which had a great view of the ridge. An Enjoyable stay.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2018 via mobile

We had lunch at the Grand in Sunday and were pleased to see that the restaurant has been updated and that the traditional Carvery lunch remains as good as ever and at a very reasonable price. Good choice of meats/vegetarian and excellent vegetable selection, all cooked in a “home” style.
And of course the view out to Swanage Bay is superb.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank CXP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B, General Manager at Grand Hotel Swanage, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Excellent to have welcomed you back with us again and yes as you saw we have made a number of changes to our dining room. Our Sunday Carvery has proved to be very popular and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your Luncheon again with us we very much look forward to your return visit to us soon.. Thank you for your wonderful review which is very much appreciated by all of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

Booked and stayed on a Travelzoo deal for 2 nights which was brilliant value.
The hotel is in a fantastic location and the view from our room was everything you'd expect from a sea view. Loved falling asleep and waking to the sound of waves crashing on the beach.
The rooms decor is dated, new carpet but room needs redecorating and a good dust!
Saying that, the staff are a credit to the management team and I'd recommend a stay at the hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews