We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The house on a hill with an amazing view”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 Salisbury Road

The house from Salisbury Road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from Salisbury Road
View from balcony Front door with viewing balcony above
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
The house from Salisbury Road
View from balcony
Front door with viewing balcony above
View from the front door
View from sitting room window
View from sitting room window
Main sitting room
Main sitting room
Back sitting room with sofa bed
Kitchen diner
Kitchen
Another view of the kitchen
Back patio with garden table, chairs and umbrella
Patio garden at the back of the house
View from front bedroom
Front bedroom with two three foot beds that can be together or apart
Back double bedroom overlooking patio garden
Back double bedroom with ensuite shower and basin
Bedroom with bunk beds
Bath and bidet
Walk in shower in bathroom
Another view of the house from Salisbury Road
A charming picture by Natasha!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Annette H
1 review
“The house on a hill with an amazing view”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We spent a week here with our grown up children plus one grandchild. The house was perfect for us even if the weather could have been a little kinder. It is well equiped and spacious and the view is spectacular. We took advantage of the games provided and the large tv. Swanage is a lovely unspoiled seaside town. The walk down from the house is fine the walk back is all uphill which takes a bit longer but good exercise. There are lots of nice walks and places to visit nearby. There is plenty of parking space in the vicinity but, although the road is quiet, not always immediately outside the house. We would definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan L
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We made a mistake!”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Before commenting on the property may I say that Swanage is a great place for a family holiday and I would thoroughly recommend it.

On the plus side, this property has a spacious lounge with lovely views and good Wi-Fi. However, be prepared for some serious issues.

Having looked at the very favourable reports, my wife and I booked 1 Salisbury Road for a one-week holiday for ourselves, our son and his wife, and our three grandchildren aged 5yrs, 3yrs and 6mnths. It was a mistake.

Parking was important to us and we were told when booking that there were plans to build two off-road parking bays for 2017. When checking in June I was told that these had not been built. I wondered why we had not been told earlier to give us time to re-book elsewhere but the owner was quite dismissive of my expectation of off-road parking. She offered to cancel the booking but it was too late to find anywhere else.

Parking did turn out to be a problem with competition for the spaces opposite the house. Drummond Road is an unmade road and presents a risk of grounding at the junction with Salisbury Road unless in an off-road vehicle. Parking, therefore, involves reversing the full length of Salisbury Road and care needs to be taken to avoid hitting other parked vehicles.

The property itself is not in the best of shape. The décor tired and the furniture shabby. Many of the fixtures and fittings are broken or do not work properly and the gutter above the front door is leaking.

The TV was important for the children. We found four TV/Video remote controllers but only one worked. One had no batteries and the batteries in another were leaking and corroded; quite dangerous for children. Many of the buttons on the remote for the lounge TV did not work.

The property seemed to have only been superficially cleaned. There was a thick layer of dust on the top of the wardrobe and dead flies between the windows and the secondary double glazing.

The en-suite does not have a toilet and the shower is in a sorry state. It leaks badly from around the shower head and there is evidence of mould on the shower curtain and tiles. In addition, the waste water, which is slow to drain, leaks into the lounge. Together, these made it unusable.

We found a sharp pin embedded in one of the children’s bedcovers which I removed. It could have been very dangerous. Seems to have been left when the cover was made.

The light switches in the hall look as though they’ve been there since the 1950/60s and it was difficult to get the electrical socket in the lounge to accept a plug.

The oven is quite slow so allow plenty of time. The Bar-B-Q was dirty and smelt of fish so we decided to use the George Foreman grill. It needed a thorough clean before we would risk cooking on it. Some of the crockery was chipped; not very hygienic.

Take your own milk. We were promised a pint of milk in the fridge on our arrival but there was none.

The trek up from the beach at the end of a long day was tougher than expected. Despite the parking issues we, occasionally, used the car to ferry the children and associated paraphernalia to the beach. I walked back twice but also took a taxi, which cost very little and was well worth it.

If some time and money was spent on this property to bring it up to a good standard and keep it clean, it could be a desirable holiday rental but as it stands I would not recommend it to any of my friends.

At no time did the owner call by to see how we were. Nevertheless, some might ask why we did not raise these issues at the time. There are two reasons. The first was the dismissive manner that my original complaint about the parking was received. The second was that there were so many issues, some of which could not be solved with a quick fix. The problems are endemic and need long-term solutions.

Hope this helps prospective holidaymakers and the owners.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
When the balance was due you contacted me and asked for a discount of £250. I suggested you cancel the week and I would refund your deposit. You refused.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“House with a View”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely views of Swanage Bay and ideal for a stay and plenty more of room for extended family of four generations

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah s
1 review
“Lovely house set in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The house was great, excellent location to explore Swanage and the surrounding Dorset coast. The views from the house were amazing and there was a lot of space for all of the family. Great holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location and fantastic views
Liked least: quite a steep walk back up from the town
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing