We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of The Beach Pad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beach Pad
Ranked #49 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Woking
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

A very comfortable stay at the Beach Pad. Welcomed by Carol a nice lady who was taking care of things - I think she said the owners lived on site so she may not be one of the owners but was helpful. Room no 3 was clean, tidy and well-appointed. Loved the motion sensor lighting in the bathroom and the star lights on the bathroom mirror - nice touches. The bed was comfortable and with good white linen and towels. The breakfast in the local cafe was good, although the staff offered us the 'smaller' menu after giving us the normal menu when we said that we were staying at the Beach Pad - which didnt make us feel overly welcome or that we were getting the full service. The only very minor negative points about the B&B were, as people have mentioned, the kettle didn't reach boiling point unless you held the button down and the freeview needed re-tuning. We weren't in Brighton to watch telly anyway so it was no big deal!! The room may have needed a lick of paint but so what.. it was clean and great value for money and we would recommend and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    26
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
52
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Stayed here recently and I cannot recommend this place enough. It is an ideal place to stay for a trip to Brighton. I have stayed in a few places in Brighton and all of them were either a lot grottier or a hell of a lot more expensive. It is centrally located, literally a stone’s throw from the beach. Shops, bars and restaurants are all walking distance. Rooms are really nice, with a modern décor and decent furnishings. The beds and bedding are really comfortable and the towels and bathrooms are nice and clean. Fantastic breakfast included at a local café at the top of the road – one of the best fry-ups I’ve had in Brighton. In short, stay there – you won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruceleeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Stayed the weekend for my brothers wedding and found the rooms to be excellent. The double rooms have great on-suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs. Good sized beds and extremely quiet. Great location, very central and very close to the sea and pier. Great service and friendly staff. Really recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonorous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Great central location close to the lanes and also only a couple of minutes walk to the beach front, reasonably clean and modern decor. The room had a decent sized TV with free view, tea and coffee making facilities and on-suite shower the owner was helpful. The bed was comfy and the linen was clean - pretty good all round really.

On the downside the shower was not at all powerful just adequate, the kettle didn't work properly, you had to hold down the switch to get it to boil. What is going on with the floor?! (room 5) there is some cheap wooden style flooring that seems to have risen and bowed up from the actual floorboards, its kind of bouncy in some places and makes a lot of noise when you walk on it - its really annoying and I feel sorry for the people in the rooms below, there were a few grubby marks on the white walls and some places could have done with a god dusting.

Breakfast is served at a little cafe 2 mins walk away, the staff are friendly and the food is good. You feel just a little bit more effort put into this place and it could be great instead of being just ok or average - shame.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanoo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Great B&B!! Our room (No.5) was lovely (and MUCH better than others I had seen in Brighton for the price range). It had a large bed which was very comfortable - down feather pillows & duvet & nice white linen. The room had a TV with Freeview, all other expected appliances (tea/coffee, full length mirror, hairdryer) & was well ventilated (big bay window). The ensuite was perfect, modern, big shower, constant hot water & white fluffy towels!

Location was amazing-a 1 minute walk to the seafront & a 2 minute walk to the Pier! 5 minute walk to the Centre inc. the Lanes, Pubs/Bars & Cafes/Restaurants. It's on a lovely quite road (some B&Bs were right next to the clubs, which were noisy until 2am) and the exterior & interior of the Beach Pad is very attractive & modern.

The Breakfast is served at a cafe, but it is literally 4 doors down so no problem & had great service, good choice (full English included) & ample servings. There are shops/newsagents right next door so great for any necessities & you get a nice view of the sea from both the Cafe & B&B.

The only flaws were that the water pressure in the shower wasn't great but as the ensuite was so nice & had hot water running constantly, it didn't matter at all. Also, in the bedroom the floor was slightly uneven which was a bit annoying & slightly noisy but really not a problem.

All round a perfect weekend break stay...I would definitely recommend the Beach Pad!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteJayneGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I stayed at the Beach Pad with 2 friends mid-week and the place was brilliant. The decor is really understated but elegant. The natural light and bay windows were lovely and the view to the pier was fab too. The owners are really accommodating and the breakfast in the local coffee shop was really nice and ample - and it's a great place to people watch too. The location is ideal too. The triple rooms are really good value, as you'd pay only a few quid less in a hostel. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whoha2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I stayed in room one for 2 nights in June 2010 and it was perfect for my requirements.

It was handy to the pier and shopping areas and it was clean and pretty quiet . I paid £130 for the double room as the owner discounted the price a bit because I was a solo traveller. I appreciated that.

The Breakfast in 'Strength' is at the corner of the street and you could not fault the food or service. The staff were lovely!

I definitely would return and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m1378203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
Court Craven Guest House
Court Craven Guest House
#42 of 93 in Brighton
71 reviews
0.3 km away
Coward's Guesthouse
Coward's Guesthouse
#26 of 93 in Brighton
113 reviews
0.0 km away
Kempfield House
Kempfield House
#32 of 93 in Brighton
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#15 of 93 in Brighton
325 reviews
0.2 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#24 of 93 in Brighton
367 reviews
0.1 km away
Beach Pad Escape B&B
Beach Pad Escape B&B
#8 of 25 in Brighton
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Pad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Pad

Property: The Beach Pad
Address: 18 Broad Street, Brighton BN2 1TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Pad 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Beach Pad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing