We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Budget Accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home Brighton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Home Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Budget Accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Journeys in Brighton is a good place to stay if you are on a budget.

The dorms, beds (bunks), bathrooms and communal areas are cleaned to a high standard. Staff are friendly and pleasant. There is securely storage for your valuable and each dorm comes with it's own coded entry. Did I mention the free wifi!?! Another bonus is it is within easy walking distance of the train station and town centre. All in all I can't fault Journeys; I needed somewhere cheap to sleep while I was working in Brighton and Journeys provided that. If you're expecting the Ritz simply don't stay there.

My only worry was the mixed dorms but I needn't have been. It was okay, the guys in our dorms were gentleman (apart from one who brought back some random girl) and by my final night the girls outnumbered the guys. However it would have been nice to have the choice of mixed or single sex dorms.

One negative; my dorm was right next to the communal lounge so I had loud music keeping me awake all night ... and I finished work a 1am!! It was great that they kept the lounge "opened" so late because it kept the parties away from the dorms but not so great if you're sleeping in room 1.

Room Tip: Don't opt for room 1, it's right next to the lounge which can get very noisey during the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwigirlabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    23
    15
    12
    42
See reviews for
4
8
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Dear Journeys

Many thanks, it was a great weekend had by all, sorry we missed breakfast

Will defo come back and recommend

Paul

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauly656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

I was recently travelling around England and ended up in Brighton. After I had spoken to some friends and made a few phone calls the same name kept popping up 'journeys' so I stopped by and went to book myself a bed. As soon as I entered I got a very warm welcome from the staff and other like minded travellers. They quickly sorted me a bed and I soon joined the group at the pool table!! After a few drinking games later I stumbled back to my bed and had a lovely nights sleep. In the morning I had a lovely cooked breakfast and made full advantage of the wifi. 
Altogether it was a fantastic place with great atmosphere and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting Brighton. (especially if you are arriving by train as its only a few minutes walk!!). 

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My friend and I stayed at Journeys Hostel in Brighton over Easter weekend. We had an awesome time and are definitely going to go back to visit again. The staff are great – they are fun, friendly and know all the good spots in Brighton to check out. The common area/bar part of the hostel made it easy to make friends with the other travellers and the drinks are super cheap! The free breakfast was great after a night out and the dorm rooms were generally pretty good (depending on the batch of other guests you get... which is always going to be the case).

It’s definitely a great place to stay and meet new people. We recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corinne90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Came to Brighton for a night out with some old friends a few weeks ago and needed a place to crash, Journeys was perfectally located (where the old pressure point was for any ex-brightonians) between the clubs, my friends place and the train station. Having stayed in my fair share of bad hostels around europe I was expecting the worst however everything about this place was great.. the friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere, cheapest drinks ive seen for a while at the reception bar and everything you would want from a continental breakfast. The rooms and showers were basic but functional and clean, nothing to complain about! What really made this place though was the people between the staff and the guests they had something going on which made the vibe there so good.

Thanks journeys! ill be returning soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paulmouse84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Believe me I have stayed in a few dives in Brighton, not to mention the worse hostel ever being the "saint of all travelers" - you know who you are!!

At the end of the day Journeys is a hostel/backpackers venue, so dont expect the Ritz. However, the USP is the staff, they make Brighton Journeys what it is - "The Daddy"

I stayed over the last weekend and discovered that most of the residents are long stayers (ie for longer than a weekend) some have been there for months. That surely says it all :)

My thanks go to the staff: Ricardo, Sean (AKA Dominic Monaghan), Sam and Toby, not to mention the dancing woman, Peter the Hungarian, Richard the mad Irishman and the gorgeous and so sexy David ;)

Thanks guys looking forward to coming back down in June as already booked

Room Tip: Book early to avoid dissapointment!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a bit of a late entry! However, a friend and I went to journeys Brighton last summer during pride weekend. Having never stayed in a hostel before i was a bit unsure what to expect. The dorm was large, with triple bunks ( i had a brilliant time trying to swing into them..before realizing there was in fact a ladder!)
The staff were so friendly, being new to Brighton they offered guidance on where to go when we asked, and were a brilliant help! The breakfast could have been a little bit better, but it does what it says on the tin! I think that the dorms may have benefited from a few more fans, because being during the summer, it was exceptionally warm!
I had no issues with Journey's brighton and i hopefully, will be staying again this year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynds1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 km away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.4 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.4 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
0.9 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.5 km away
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
#3 of 23 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Brighton

Property: Home Brighton
Address: 33 Richmond Place, Brighton BN2 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Home Brighton 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reception hours: Sun - Wed 8am - 2am Thu Fri Sat 24hrs Guests have 24-hour access to their rooms during their stay. We provide stylish backpacker’s accommodation that is centrally located just a short walk from Brighton Bus/Train Stations on the site of the old Richmond Pub which stood for over 150 years, and Pressure Point club, which was well known for hosting bands such as Radiohead, and DJs such as Carl Cox. Our vibrant social area is ideal for meeting like-minded travellers as we only accept genuine backpackers. The kitchen is well equipped and the lounge area is a relaxing chill-out space with a large TV and comfy sofas. Brighton is exciting and vibrant with lots to offer, the beach, Royal Pavilion, North Laines for shopping and the famous Brighton Pier all within walking distance. Also nearby there are a variety of bars and nightclubs, which our staff will be happy to recommend. Skydiving, bungee jumping, beach volleyball, Scuba diving, surfing and sea fishing trips are also readily available. Our dorm beds each come with their own power socket and linen included. We also have lockers and towels available for hire. For more comfort and intimacy, our private double rooms have a large, comfy double bed. Free high speed 200 meg WiFi is provided throughout the whole building Homebackpackers is the only British hostel group to offer free pancakes at breakfast. Breakfast buffet includes: A variety of cereals. Unlimited toast and jams, honey, Nutella Orange juice Pancakes Tea and coffee We only accept bona fide backpackers at Brighton and London Home Backpackers Home Brighton Policies & Conditions: Cancellation policy: Cancellations accepted by email up to 48 hours prior to start of stay. First night is payable if cancellation is within 48 hours of stay. In event of no-show then full payment will be charged for the booking. By booking the customer agrees to these conditions and the charges on the listed card given at the time of booking. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred. Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be charged in full within two days of booking. Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be non-refundable. Check In: New arrivals can check into their rooms between 2pm and 11pm each day. Guests may arrive earlier and leave their luggage in our free luggage storage. You do not have to be a member of any organization to stay at Home Backpackers however; we do require that a valid photo identification is presented upon check in, Passport, I.D. card or driving license along with a credit or debit card in the same name. We will require a cash deposit on arrival for the keycard, towel and locker hire. All guests are required to show a valid ID upon check-in, along with the credit card used when booking. Passports, driver's licenses, and national identity cards are accepted as ID. The property will not accept reservations where the credit card does not match or the guest does not have ID. Check Out: Check out is at 10am and guests must hand all security cards, locker keys and towels back to reception. Late checkout or lost items are subject to charges. Age restrictions: The property only accepts guests’ aged between 18 and 35 years. Exceptions made for a 16 and 17 year old traveling with a parent or legal guardian. Please note that this hostel is not recommended for elderly guests. Group bookings policies: For bookings of 6 people or more, different rates and conditions apply than advertised on the website. 50% of the total will be charged at any time after the booking and it will be non-refundable in case of cancellation. The remaining balance will be charged 2 weeks before arrival and will be non-refundable in case of cancellation or a no-show. A security deposit (cash/card) is required upon arrival for incidentals. This deposit is fully refundable upon check-out and subject to a damage inspection of the accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Home Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing