We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Granville Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$194
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Legends Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blanch House(Brighton)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$168
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Malmaison Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$138
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
254
255
69
41
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
255
69
41
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest pierjacuzzi bathbalcony roomblack rocknoel cowardbrighton rockprince regent roomsea viewfour poster bedrestaurant downstairssea frontold westquirky hotelthemed roomsmy partnerbrighton seafrontcomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here on Saturday evening, the booking was fairly last minute but was on a friend's recommendation. We arrived early and were able to book in as the room had been empty the night before. The lace room was a first floor seaview room which was lovely and light and spotlessly clean although was in desperate need of a refurb as it was very dated and old fashioned. The bathroom was also in need of re tiling and repainting. The room had very basic tea/coffee facilities again rather outdated and the toiletries supplied in the bathroom were limited and poor quality including the toilet paper which was the cheap stuff.
Breakfast the following morning was in the basement restaurant, which was also very clean and the staff were attentive. However again the quality of the breakfast was very average. Lukewarm coffee, cheap juice and overcooked and dry breakfast which was rather disappointing...ok if you were paying £50 a night! This hotel is definitely living on its location which was very central to the Lanes and shops/bars rather than the quality of its service!
Ok for one night but not for a romantic break or longer stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

booked a very last minute 2 night break here. room we had wanted wasnt available - the hotels online booking system doesnt update automatically, but we were offered a choice of 3 other rooms (2 in the same price band and 1 higher) and as it was only a small supplement we chose to upgrade to a superior sea view - Brighton Rock room.

On arrival - the hotel and nearest car parking was easy to find, checked in by friendly member of staff.
Room had a metal four poster bed, tv & DVD player, free wifi, tea/coffee & biscuits, bottle water & glasses and seating. the bathroom also had a huge jacuzzi bath! I personally found the toilet slightly odd and there is a monsoon type shower head over the bath, but seemed to spray out a bit. The door for the bathroom is also a bit see through.

We chose to have breakfast in our room both mornings, both times they were on time and brought by friendly members of staff.

You can borrow DVDs for free from the collection down at reception if you want a quiet night in.

The hotel is on the seafront and close to everything (there's a good chinese restaurant the hotel recommends round the corner!).

Would recommend and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alders627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Very quirky hotel.
Ed - aka Jamie Oliver was fab at reception, most helpful, fun and smiley! Very on the ball.
Black rock room very sexy!! A little tired and a little noisy from the roadside but we knew that was to be the case so cannot really class this as a fault. Bathroom in Black rock room has been refurbished and is amazing! It has the biggest jacuzzi bath I have ever seen, possibly 3 people could fit in it easily!!!!!!
Great location.
Hotel could do with some modernisation however if this was to happen it may detract from the hotels funky atmosphere.
Service and individuality is enough on its own for us to return!
Happy Days - dont hesitate in booking if you want a fun stay in Brighton!
This hotel is what Brighton is all about! :-)

Room Tip: Black Rock Room - So quirky! You have to book this room, even if just for the double jacuzzi! Muchos fun! Just expect some noise from the road at night...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatB90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Very well run hotel, deserves to succeed, well maintained rooms and helpful friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cybourhood623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

On arrival, were checked in by a friendly member of staff to the Downs room. The peeling paint around the door key wasn't a good sign of what was to come..
The room had some faulty flickering lights, carpet stains, mould in the shower and a hazardous sharp step, as well as cracks in the ceiling. Definitely nothing like how the rooms look on booking websites. We requested a change but unfortunately we were told that all the other rooms were taken. We told the person at the desk (Manager?) that we were expecting a themed room, as advertised and pictured on various booking websites, but he facetiously commented that this wasn't the Pelirocco (a nearby hotel) and our room was actually 'themed' in Regency style. Well, more likely it probably hadn't been decorated or maintained since Regency times!
The TV was miniscule, the shower dial actually came off when pulled and oddly there was even an unset flashing alarm clock left on when we arrived. There was a continuous rattling noise through the night, which appeared to be boiler or heating pipes. We could also hear guests upstairs walking around and talking quite easily so it's not well soundproofed.

On the plus side, the bed was clean and very comfortable (this was the saving grace preventing the score being even lower), and the breakfast was good, other than that we are very unimpressed and can not believe it got such high ratings on Tripadvisor or even 3 stars....We felt hoodwinked and cheated by what we were given compared to what had been advertised. I will be doing more research before relying on advertised pictures and oddly 'glowing' Tripadvisor reviews in future.

Room Tip: Check the room before accepting.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BC20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews