We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Granville Hotel
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A good stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had a good two night stay at the Granville, staying here ahead of the Brighton Half Marathon. Our room (Beardsley) was a good size, quiet and had a big comfy bed. The bathroom was fine - both a shower and a bath, which was useful.

There was a sofa bed in the room, though we didn't use it. The mattress of it appeared to be a bit marked, but not an issue for us.

Breakfast was great - prompt service, good range of options (all included in the price). On the Friday night we ate in the bar downstairs - decent pub food and helpful staff.

On the baby front, the Granville worked out well. A travel cot was provided, and there was enough room for the cot to be put in a darkened corner of the room. The bathroom had a bath (crucial these days!) and a high chair was provided at breakfast times. The only slight downside was the design of the (very old) building meant that whilst the lift went to the 4th floor, there were then another 8-10 twisty stairs to the room, which is tricky whilst carrying a buggy. In their defence, the staff did (a) assist my wife when she arrived on her own with buggy and (b) suggest we might like to leave the buggy folded up behind reception to avoid having to carry it up and down the stairs.

The staff were excellent - they ensured breakfast was available early on the day of the run, and they allowed us a later check-out after the run, enabling us to shower off and change before getting on the train home.

I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilgrimgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    227
    65
    38
    23
See reviews for
55
326
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here on Saturday evening, the booking was fairly last minute but was on a friend's recommendation. We arrived early and were able to book in as the room had been empty the night before. The lace room was a first floor seaview room which was lovely and light and spotlessly clean although was in desperate need of a refurb as it was very dated and old fashioned. The bathroom was also in need of re tiling and repainting. The room had very basic tea/coffee facilities again rather outdated and the toiletries supplied in the bathroom were limited and poor quality including the toilet paper which was the cheap stuff.
Breakfast the following morning was in the basement restaurant, which was also very clean and the staff were attentive. However again the quality of the breakfast was very average. Lukewarm coffee, cheap juice and overcooked and dry breakfast which was rather disappointing...ok if you were paying £50 a night! This hotel is definitely living on its location which was very central to the Lanes and shops/bars rather than the quality of its service!
Ok for one night but not for a romantic break or longer stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

booked a very last minute 2 night break here. room we had wanted wasnt available - the hotels online booking system doesnt update automatically, but we were offered a choice of 3 other rooms (2 in the same price band and 1 higher) and as it was only a small supplement we chose to upgrade to a superior sea view - Brighton Rock room.

On arrival - the hotel and nearest car parking was easy to find, checked in by friendly member of staff.
Room had a metal four poster bed, tv & DVD player, free wifi, tea/coffee & biscuits, bottle water & glasses and seating. the bathroom also had a huge jacuzzi bath! I personally found the toilet slightly odd and there is a monsoon type shower head over the bath, but seemed to spray out a bit. The door for the bathroom is also a bit see through.

We chose to have breakfast in our room both mornings, both times they were on time and brought by friendly members of staff.

You can borrow DVDs for free from the collection down at reception if you want a quiet night in.

The hotel is on the seafront and close to everything (there's a good chinese restaurant the hotel recommends round the corner!).

Would recommend and would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alders627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Very quirky hotel.
Ed - aka Jamie Oliver was fab at reception, most helpful, fun and smiley! Very on the ball.
Black rock room very sexy!! A little tired and a little noisy from the roadside but we knew that was to be the case so cannot really class this as a fault. Bathroom in Black rock room has been refurbished and is amazing! It has the biggest jacuzzi bath I have ever seen, possibly 3 people could fit in it easily!!!!!!
Great location.
Hotel could do with some modernisation however if this was to happen it may detract from the hotels funky atmosphere.
Service and individuality is enough on its own for us to return!
Happy Days - dont hesitate in booking if you want a fun stay in Brighton!
This hotel is what Brighton is all about! :-)

Room Tip: Black Rock Room - So quirky! You have to book this room, even if just for the double jacuzzi! Muchos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatB90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Very well run hotel, deserves to succeed, well maintained rooms and helpful friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cybourhood623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

On arrival, were checked in by a friendly member of staff to the Downs room. The peeling paint around the door key wasn't a good sign of what was to come..
The room had some faulty flickering lights, carpet stains, mould in the shower and a hazardous sharp step, as well as cracks in the ceiling. Definitely nothing like how the rooms look on booking websites. We requested a change but unfortunately we were told that all the other rooms were taken. We told the person at the desk (Manager?) that we were expecting a themed room, as advertised and pictured on various booking websites, but he facetiously commented that this wasn't the Pelirocco (a nearby hotel) and our room was actually 'themed' in Regency style. Well, more likely it probably hadn't been decorated or maintained since Regency times!
The TV was miniscule, the shower dial actually came off when pulled and oddly there was even an unset flashing alarm clock left on when we arrived. There was a continuous rattling noise through the night, which appeared to be boiler or heating pipes. We could also hear guests upstairs walking around and talking quite easily so it's not well soundproofed.

On the plus side, the bed was clean and very comfortable (this was the saving grace preventing the score being even lower), and the breakfast was good, other than that we are very unimpressed and can not believe it got such high ratings on Tripadvisor or even 3 stars....We felt hoodwinked and cheated by what we were given compared to what had been advertised. I will be doing more research before relying on advertised pictures and oddly 'glowing' Tripadvisor reviews in future.

Room Tip: Check the room before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BC20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here on a Saturday night - the hotel was extremely quiet but then it's a quiet time of year for hotels I suppose. The reception area is a bit gloomy and old-fashioned and could do with updating, but the staff are lovely and helpful. We booked the Mrs Fitzherbert room - we were initially concerned that it was right next to the lift, but actually we couldn't hear it at all. Top floor too, so no noise from above. However there was a fire door right next to the room that banged extremely loudly. The only other downside was that the window in the bedroom was very draughty and though the curtains blocked out most of the draught there was still a big gap between the curtain rail and the top of the window - it was very cold and windy that night though, so it may not usually be such a problem.

The room itself was fairly small but this wasn't a problem - the decor was nice and everything extremely clean. The bathroom was pretty big though the window didn't open which was a shame.

Breakfast the next morning was wonderful! Don't have a bad word to say about it!

I would be happy staying here again in future and it was worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,012 reviews
1.4 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.6 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granville Hotel

Property: The Granville Hotel
Address: 124 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Brighton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Granville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront opposite Brighton's historic West Pier, The Granville is a boutique hotel with 24 eclectic bespoke rooms, individually themed from Minimalist to Art Deco, Japanese and Gothic.The Granville Hotel is just a 5-minute walk from shops, restaurants and on the doorstep of many clubs. The rooms have a luxurious bathroom, some with a spa bath or corner bath. Many of the bedrooms have a superb view across the coastline.All of the rooms are furnished with a TV and DVD/CD player. Complimentary broadband wireless internet access is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing