We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,888)
Filter reviews
2,888 results
Traveller rating
802
1,064
635
233
154
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
802
1,064
635
233
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view sea front lovely hotel car park box of chocolates noisy at night public areas third floor short break superior room brighton seafront two night stay enjoyable stay lovely room breakfast was excellent comfy bed stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 2,888 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. Room was very comfortable. We had a sea view room on the 2nd floor, and even although it was a busy Saturday evening, the room was quiet enough despite what other reviewers had said. The view was lovely and we would definitely stay again if in Brighton. Breakfast very good, and staff friendly and helpful. Much more charm than a modern chain hotel.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fannefortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Thank you for your great review.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2018

Stayed with my family of five, we had 3 twin rooms at a good affordable price. The rooms were comfortable and traditionally styled. We all liked the laid back comfortable feel to the hotel which was in a fantastic location close to everything! The only drawback to our stay was the terrible noise from people outside during the night which woke us all up several times, followed by various lorries collecting rubbish/laundry early in the morning. Not the fault of the hotel but I do wonder if steps could be taken to provide better insulation/double glazing, the windows were drafty and not the best insulators against noise. A real shame as I would choose to stay here again if it were not for this issue

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that despite us having double glazing you were disturb from outside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2018

Very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. Room spotlessly clean. Bedding fresh and clean. Rooms really good size. Unfortunately the corridors were a bit tatty in places but it's a very old building so expected.
Location was ideal for me as my daughters wedding reception was just across the road at OhSo.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Thank you for your fabulous review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

Popped in for a drink Saturday afternoon about 2pm to find live entertainment from a fantastic singer. Don't know of any other hotels that do that in the area. Well done to the management we will be back.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank Stennr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSHGuestRelations, Phil. Duty Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Dear Stennr,
thank you so much for your review. we do hope you join us again soon. during the more sunny days we have in Brighton our singers will be on the terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2018 via mobile

Been always staying at the hotel next door but fortunately this time it was fully booked so decided to stay at the Old Ship Hotel Brighton. checked in by Lithuanian lady (forgot her name) with friendly approach and great selling skills as after explanation about breakfast we decided to have one and we are not breakfast people and we didnt regret it. Breakfast staff were friendly and fast. No doubts we will be coming back again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jack4501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Dear Jack4501,

Thank you for this fantastic review to read.
You met our new Front of House Manager, Julia and your wonderful comments will be shared with her. We are also very pleased, that you enjoyed our unlimited Breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews