We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“These chaps can't be beaten!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Twenty One

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brighton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Twenty One
Ranked #1 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“These chaps can't be beaten!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Back in 2007 we stayed at The Twenty One, we were impressed then and vowed to return, it's a shame it took us this long to actually make a return visit.

Over the years we have stayed in loads of hotel and B&Bs both in the UK and overseas. We stayed in big places and little places. Paid loads of cash and very little. It's safe to say that Andy and Matt and The Twenty One cannot be beaten, in our experience at least. Everything is spot on: the room, the food, the attention to detail, their local knowledge and above all the welcome you receive. Andy and Matt are two of the nicest people you could meet and they care about what they offer and they care about their guests. Here's an example ...

This morning we discovered our car had vanished. We were unsure whether it had been stolen or towed away. It transpired it had towed off to the car pound after we inadvertently left it where we shouldn't have. Andy and Matt showed us kindness and generosity which meant that a potential nightmare was merely an annoying (and expensive!) interlude.

We will be back, and we won't wait 5 years next time! Thanks again chaps!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveR12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,965
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
172
1,335
128
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Just had a little holiday in Brighton and chose The Twenty One on the strength of its rating on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed!

Matt and Andy are excellent hosts and I feel they are genuinely interested in their guests as individuals.

You will not go hungry at The Twenty One - you start breakfast with a fantastic array of fresh fruit and go on - and on. Whenever I go to another hotel and see a little biscuit on the tea tray I'll think of Matt and Andy's generosity with the teacakes and other goodies.

Not forgetting a little pack of refreshers to slip in your pocket as you step out onto the sea front, just a step away from The Twenty One.

Comfy bed too. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Brighton. Six stars, guys!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My expectations were very high after reading all these excellent reviews. I'm glad to say they were all met and even exceeded. Matt and Andy run a stunning B&B. You will get a very warm welcome with brilliant local knowledge, a bright, well decorated and spotlessly clean room (which gets maintained every day) and an award winning breakfast (the award is completely deserved). I even had a sneaky look through the window to the kitchen; it was cleaner than my own. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Twenty One this past October and absolutely fell in love. Matt and Andy have put together an absolutely amazing B&B in every respect. The moment we walked in the door we were greeted by a gorgeous and warm environment. Our room was generous in size and was charming beyond belief. The tray of chocolates and cookies were to die for. Replenished daily I might add. We came home one afternoon to a plate of fresh baking. Every piece of advice by Matt and Andy was spot on! This place is a true delight. On our next visit to Brighton we would only ever stay one place and that's The Twenty One. Thanks Matt and Andy and keep up the great work!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvrjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is an outstanding B & B, Matt & Andy are the perfect hosts our room was spotless and so was the rest of the B&B the breakfast was cooked to perfection and plenty to choose from. There was plenty of snacks and drinks left in our room. The box of chocolates left in our room for birthday celebrations was a lovely touch. We would highly recommend anyone to stay here and will be going back again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Fantastic accommodation with a very warm welcome and excellent breakfast . Superb advice about places to visit in Brighton and restaurants to try. Extras like the range of complimentary drinks & snacks and DVD s to watch make "The Twenty One" stand out.
Thank you Andy & Matt we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. L & R

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is our 4th visit, and, as usual we thoroughly looked forward to staying here again, and to experience Andy and Matt's wonderful hospitality. Thanks guys for a superb stay. See you in December.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
1.4 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.2 km away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.9 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.0 km away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Property: The Twenty One
Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twenty One 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One. We are so happy to have been awarded a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award for 2016. We have been awarded a Travellers' Choice Award by TripAdvisor for the years, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 and now for 2016! - No other B&B has ever been awarded such an award in Brighton! We hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of oblique sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All double rooms have iPads and our king rooms benefit from internet-connected SmartTV's with movies on-demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton
The 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing