We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a georgeous time...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hudsons Guest House
Ranked #57 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a georgeous time...”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Sadly only stopped for a couple of nights only with my daughter, had a fabulous time, made to feel welcome, pretty surroundings and definately will stop again. It was a busy time in Brighton and could we have booked for a longer stay we would have done. Hudsons was a five minute, f that walk from the sea front and not much longer to the Lanes, the Pier and the Pavillion - its was bliss to park up and not get in the car for 48 hours. We were luck to park almost outside the front door, you need a permit from the hosts as soon as you get there, but parking didn't seem to be a real issue although notably at a premium in most places around central Brighton. Oh and by the way breakfasts to die for, although of course we did not!

Room Tip: We overlooked the street, absolutely no issues, only the gulls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzyr_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    65
    23
    14
    13
See reviews for
12
105
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My family had planned to arrive at between 4 and 5pm. Due to an unexpected problem we were delayed by a couple of hours. On calling the hotel we were then subjected to an outburst of anger from the owner who then cancelled our booking, leaving us to have to find last minute accommodation. These people should be running a prison, not a hotel. It's the most horrific customer service I have ever experienced.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

v comfortable room, v welcoming hosts, close to everything and easy to find. A lovely place to stay in Brighton. Will very probably be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xmissjanex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Just wanted to post a simple review to recommend Hudsons after an enjoyable one night stay in Brighton in late July. Staff were friendly, helpful and polite, allowing us to use the bedroom before the cleaning had been fully done; the building has plenty of character with a unique dining area; bedroom and amenities v comfortable and clean. All in all, a very good value and obviously well looked after B&B. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyBananazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I was really pleased when we arrived. Booking online to an unknown hotel can be a bit hit or miss but very pleasantly surprized. We were greeted at the door and escorted to our room which although tiny was clean and had everything we needed for out 2 night stay. The location was central for most things in Brighton. Breakfast was also included and was reasonable, tiny dining room, luckily there weren't too many trying to eat at same time or would have been squashed. Only negative being the noise from other rooms as this is a converted house but as other guests weren't too noisey this wasn't a problem for us.
In all a pleasant B&B at excellent cost.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Arriving in the afternoon with my partner we easily found the guest house & was greeted immediately with a friendly face. As it was our first trip to Brighton. Stephen was kind enough to show us a map which was in the entrance & point out all the spots that will be of interest to us. Heading up to the room - the decor was amazing, I was impressed my girlfriend had picked this place. Beatles & Rolling stones memorabilia on our walls. The room was beautiful. I was also impressed there was a mini bar & fridge in the room. The breakfast was also cooked beautifully, with a good selection on offer - including a variation of soft drinks & tea. Checking out - she had booked a later train so we could have the day in Brighton, we was able to leave our rather large suitcase in the communal area and was given a front door key so we could have come and gone as we pleased. This was a big relief as we didn't have to worry about pulling the suitcase along.
This guest house is by far one of the best I have stayed in and I will definatly be making a return to the property, perfect location, perfect rooms. Don't know what more you can ask for! Thanks for making the stay welcoming & certainly enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovefastfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This is now our tenth time visiting Hudsons, and as per usual, we both had a wonderful time. We had room one (downstairs at the front of the house), which is spacious and quirkily decorated. The bed was very comfortable, and although the bathroom may be of a peculiar shape, it still satisfied every want. Minibar is reasonable, although no ice is slightly disappointing. Breakfast each morning was more than enough to get us ready for the day, with plenty of smiles and light chat from the staff. It was also nice to go down after breakfast to a freshly cleaned room.
I'd like to thank Alex et al for another refreshing and pleasant stay in Brighton, and we look forward to many more!

Room Tip: Avoid downstairs if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breadly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 km away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 94 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.3 km away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.2 km away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#40 of 94 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 94 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.4 km away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 94 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.1 km away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudsons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons Guest House

Property: Hudsons Guest House
Address: 22 Devonshire Place, Brighton BN2 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hudsons Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and friendly guest house in the heart of Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hudsons Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudsons Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing