We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mostly fabulous, just beware of noisy neighbours!”
other travellers have booked this property
The White Cottage is just steps from the beach.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The White Cottage is just steps from the beach.
The main living room has velvet sofas and chairs, fur throws and lots of original art. The main bedroom has tons of storage, antique pieces and Egyptian cotton sheets.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The White Cottage is just steps from the beach.
The main living room has velvet sofas and chairs, fur throws and lots of original art.
The main bedroom has tons of storage, antique pieces and Egyptian cotton sheets.
Lots of vintage china sourced in Brighton's antique and flea markets.
The sea and beach are just steps from the house.
The cosy basement has more seating and a TV for young guests to enjoy.
A clean, modern bathroom has a power shower and plenty of hot water.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Brighton, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jmvevans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mostly fabulous, just beware of noisy neighbours!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Four of us stayed for a weekend in June. The cottage was lovely, quirky, spacious and well equipped. The location was perfect, walkable to everywhere we wanted to go. The only downsides for us were the fact that the street seemed to be popular with hen and stag do's, so we were kept awake most of the night by the extremely noisy neighbours. The downstairs room of the cottage was unuseable as it smelled really strongly of damp. There also seemed to be some strict rules for the cottage that we only found out about on arrival, for example, no music to be played in the cottage. (That seemed particularly harsh considering the noise from other properties in the street). Overall, we had a great stay, and the cottage itself was lovely. The owner, Ginetta was very helpful and friendly, even allowing us to check in early if we needed to. I would certainly stay again, but would make sure to have ear plugs to hand for the night.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage, Great Location”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed over for Brighton marathon weekend and couldn’t have asked for better accommodation! The location is great for access to the pier / lanes and all the sites, and the cottage is beautiful. In particular I loved the quirky decor and the bright and airy kitchen. The owner was very helpful and gave us good recommendations of places to visit / park etc in the area. Very good value for money and I would highly recommend a visit!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob-Sharo...
Mildenhall, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely accomodation in fantastic location”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed here in August this year and we had a great week. The cottage is beautiful inside with some very unique and interesting decor. It is absolutely perfectly located for Brighton, only a ten minute walk to the pier and also it has the amenities of Kemptown right on it's doorstep.
The owners were really helpful and reply incredibly quickly to any queries whether pre-stay or during your holiday.
I strongly recommend this for people visiting Brighton. Parking in Brighton is always a nightmare but there is reasonable parking (£5.50 per day) only a few minutes walk away, parking was a concern for us but it was absolutely fine.
The cottage is well furbished for your holiday requirements and we had everything we needed.
We have recommended to our friends if they plan to visit Brighton.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a perfect location and it had a quality feel to it.
Liked least: Parking but for Brighton it was really good as only 5 minutes away.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
So glad to hear that the house proved to be a great base for a family holiday. There's so much to do in Brighton yet you could just enjoy a relaxing beach holiday and our stretch of beach is never crowded. We've tried to make the interior of the house interesting rather than just a bland rented place so it's great when guests appreciate this. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenButt...
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic property in an excellent location.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A fantastic property, really spacious and brilliantly decorated. A great location, right on the seafront and in a great area of Brighton where there are some nice pubs and places to eat. Only a short walk to the main pier also. I would definitely recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and decor of the property.
Liked least: There was nothing I did not like!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
So nice to hear that you enjoyed the great location. Kemptown is packed with interesting pubs and restaurants yet you can be at the main pier and in the heart of Brighton within a few minutes walk.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful spacious kitchen
Liked least: Lack of outside space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jun 2013
We were so glad that The White Cottage proved to be an ideal base for three generations. The house has a separate basement room which children and teenagers love so that they can escape their parents! The beach is also so close that young and old can easily manage the few steps it takes to get there and there is so much to do for everyone within a very short distance. Try crazy golf or beach volleyball nearby or have a ride on the Victorian Volks railway which takes you up and down the coast. Walk to the marina where you can try a fishing trip. Ask us for suggestions and we will be very happy to help with your trip to Brighton.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and design of the house
Liked least: Nothing to note
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 May 2013
It was a pleasure hosting Aaron and Salli at The White Cottage. All guests report that it's a great spot for a special trip such as a birthday or anniversary. We're always happy to help with suggestions as to what to do and where to go as Brighton has so much to offer throughout the seasons but it's nice to have a comfortable, cosy and well stocked base to return to which is what we strive for at The White Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really lovely, unique property....felt like a home from home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Mar 2013
This was our first ever hosting and we were really glad to hear our guests loved the house, street and seaside location. Brighton can be a real pain for parking but we have a nearby street where parking is easily available and cheap for Brighton. Our street is also peaceful, a rare find in Brighton, especially in mid summer, yet it's also easy to walk to the station, the laines for shopping and even to the marina making it the perfect base. Kemp Town is a great neighbourhood (recently recommended in The Times' list of best neighbourhoods)so if you want to stay really local you'll find some cool bars, great restaurants and tons of quirky pubs and shops. Happy to help with suggestions for all and have left lots of information in the house along with guide books, city maps and historical and photographic books on Brighton so that you can really get to know the city on your visit.
Whether you're a history buff, a vintage clothes shopper, a foodie or a beach bum, Brighton has something for you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$276
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing