We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay - why did we ever move away from brighton?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House
Ranked #17 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another great stay - why did we ever move away from brighton?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Had a great stay in Brighton last weekend, this is the second time have stayed at the white house since moving from Brighton - its a great place to stay as its like staying at a friends house, you get your keys and come and go as you like without worrying about what the receptionist will say when you roll back after a late night enjoying the bars and clubs in Brighton. We checked in late on Friday, busy day at work, and as agreed when we rang the doorbell we were buzzed in and the room keys were left on a shelf for us, perfect for what we needed as didn't have to worry about arriving by 8pm. Saw Sean on saturday morning and he had a new recommendation for us to try, The Coal Shed, which was brilliant. Will be back again later in the year to catch up with Brighton friends and will book this b&b again without hesitation

Room Tip: top floor rooms are up a few flights of stairs but very quiet so worth it for a longer lay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2guyzvisiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    40
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
40
158
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We had a lovely night's stay at this cute little hotel. Sean was really helpful from the day we booked onwards and while the room was small it was perfect for us. Well decorated and light and bright we couldn't have asked for more. Thank you so much guys!

Olivia

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I was upgraded when I arrived at no extra charge, the host was lovely, very helpful and friendly.
Clean room, White Company products, reasonable rates and good breakfast. Simple and just what I wanted for a brief stop solo trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avenelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rego Park, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Was met on time and given a warm welcome. Stayed in a very nice small double which was incredibly clean, warm and well presented and appointed.
Great nights sleep on a very comfy, high quality bed.
Superb breakfast which was offered at an earlier time to suit me. Great quality breakfast with lovely service. Breakfast room was immaculate as is the entrance and public spaces.HIghly reccomend this high standard boutique hotel. Well done, the owners obviously care about this place and it shows.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMcCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

A small prettily decorated hotel close to sea front and the eclectic charms of Kemp Town Village.. A warm and welcoming atmosphere run by a very pleasant
husband & wife team. Cosy rooms and a superlative breakfast. Perfect for a weekend seaside break.. even in Winter. TVs, free Internet access and lovely crisp white sheets. I will definitely
be going back.

Room Tip: Double room 2 on ground floor.. easy access as I had a leg injury... very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Had high expectations after reading previous reviews, but to be honest we felt quite disappointed with our weekend break in December. We were anticpating a 'boutique' style B&B with a friendly attentive service. In fact, what we experienced was a very 'hand off' approach to hosptitality - no communication with the owners (was it the cook in the kitchen?) apart from a phone call to see what time we were arriving. When we checked out we couldn t be bothered to trapse around looking for someone (there is no central reception area) and just left (they had our credit car details so we knew the bill was covered)There is no one present in the building at night which seemed odd for the price we were paying - hardly hostel rates!. To be honest if the price had been more reasonable we wouldn t have minded this remote type of service, but in our experience when you pay top rate for a B&B, one thing they can excel at over a hotel is a more personal, friendly service. This set up felt purely like a money making exercise for the owners rather than a genuine interest in hospitality.

Good points - generally clean and tidy, good shower, breakfast was lovely
Downside - felt very impersonal which to me which rather defeats the point of a more pricey B&B, room was tiny- really only suitbale as a single - cheap bed, only one bedside cabinet (lack of space for more) and a cupboard rather than wardrobe. Very basic room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed for 11 nights at the White House while visiting my daughter in Brighton. Our room, #5, was comfortable and spacious, with a large sunny window and view of the water. The staff was very friendly and each went out of their way to make us feel at home. As two women traveling in a foreign land, we felt safe and well cared for.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 62Sev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.7 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
1.5 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
1.7 km away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.1 km away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 6 Bedford Street, Brighton BN2 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a small elegant Regency residence 100 metres from the seafront. There are sea views from the south facing rooms and a courtyard garden where guests may sit and relax. Just a short walk from the centre of Brighton, The White House is perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests. All rooms have been uniquely decorated and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing